Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Windows (https://www.overclock.net/forum/132-windows/)
-   -   My mouse cursor is showing up as dotted line? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/132-windows/1425155-my-mouse-cursor-showing-up-dotted-line.html)

Andypandy 09-07-2013 10:30 PM

I installed Windows 7 64bit and updated everything. Then I plugged in my external HDD and my mouse cursor changed to dotted lines. I never had this happen before. What caused this? Is it AMDs new driver? Is it corrupt Windows OS? Or is it faulty hardware? When I restarted my PC, the cursor was back to normal.

This is my PC spec

Intel 3770K 3.5Ghz
16GB XMS 3 Corsair Ram
Sapphire AMD HD 7950 3GB
ASUS P8Z77-V motherboard
Samsung SSD 128GB
2TB Seagate HDD
Samsung Blu Ray drive



Silvos00 09-08-2013 02:25 AM

I've seen this on all of my GPUs, from the 8800 to the 7950 I have now. It happens after I opened certain programs. No clue as to a solution, however. I just restarted and it fixed it.

PR-Imagery 09-08-2013 09:19 AM

Most likely, GPU/driver related, possibly software.

 

I have a 7970 and 5770 installed currently, and when it happens, it only appears as a dotted line on the monitor connected to the 7970, when I move it to the other monitors connected to the 5770, it appears normal. Did the same thing when I had a 6670 installed along with the 7970.

For me, it was caused primarily by the flimsiness of the Gigabyte pcb/weight of the heatsink bending the board and mostly only happened when the card started artifacting - tying the card to the case to remove the bend improved the artifacting greatly. The other thing that caused it for me, was hardware acceleration in Firefox, disabling that eliminated it completely for the most part; it has only happened once in the past ~4 months.


djnsty 04-16-2014 11:28 AM

Shake it! Shake, Shake it! Shake it like a polaroid picture!

Just try it.

Macnemarion 04-21-2014 05:44 AM

I have this issue all the time. I used to just reboot to fix it, but on my machine I found that if I hover over the show desktop square in the far right of the task bar it returns to normal.
Don't know why it happens but it does.

Brulf 04-21-2014 05:48 AM

i usually get it on my eyefinity setup when the mouse cursor goes from 1 screen to the other.... just shake it till it goes away biggrin.gif

98uk 04-22-2014 04:31 AM

I always get that, seems to go away after a few minutes though,

mrawesome421 04-22-2014 04:33 AM

Thought I was the only one that had this issue from time to time. Guess not. And yes, moving the mouse back and forth very quickly does make it change back to normal.

linkin93 04-22-2014 04:34 AM

From my experience it's either a bad driver, or faulty hardware. It's a graphical artefact after all.

98uk 04-22-2014 04:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by linkin93 View Post

From my experience it's either a bad driver, or faulty hardware. It's a graphical artefact after all.

Nah, had it on all my cards through all the drivers.

No idea what it is, but it's harmless.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.