Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Monitors and Displays (https://www.overclock.net/forum/44-monitors-displays/)
-   -   Playing with my Seiki se39uy04. Got it to do 1440p at 60hz. Playing with other custom stuff. (https://www.overclock.net/forum/44-monitors-displays/1442986-playing-my-seiki-se39uy04-got-do-1440p-60hz-playing-other-custom-stuff.html)

Koogiking 11-22-2013 10:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by salamachaa View Post

I had to use EDID overriding. CCC did not recognize 1440p before this, even though the panel has a 1440p mode. You also have to unlock the pixel clock.

Can you post a step by step instruction on how to do this? I'm probably going to buy this today or tomorrow and it would be great to use 1440p on Windows 8

Also does this monitor still have overscan issues at 60hz non native resolutions?

salamachaa 11-22-2013 12:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koogiking View Post

Can you post a step by step instruction on how to do this? I'm probably going to buy this today or tomorrow and it would be great to use 1440p on Windows 8

Also does this monitor still have overscan issues at 60hz non native resolutions?

I am assuming you mean overscanning too much when at other 16:9 aspect ratio resolutions. In that case, no. As far as a guide:

Go to: http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU?page=1
Download the AMD pixel patcher
run it
restart
download toasty's custom resolution utility.
run toasty's custom resolution utility.
Edit the top profile to be 2560x1440 60hz.
Restart
Change the resolution in CCC

Koogiking 11-22-2013 02:13 PM

Thanks man. I just order the monitor too. Should be coming on Wednesday

miked79 11-27-2013 02:41 PM

I just went to Nvidia control panel and hit custom resolution and typed in 2560x1440 and 60hz... The same thing no?
Or is this just what u had to do to get it working at the res with AMD...Thanks

salamachaa 11-27-2013 04:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by miked79 View Post

I just went to Nvidia control panel and hit custom resolution and typed in 2560x1440 and 60hz... The same thing no?
Or is this just what u had to do to get it working at the res with AMD...Thanks

Not the same thing. You have to unlock the pixel shader clock using the nvidia one on the site. Then you should be able to override it via nvidia control panel.

Koogiking 11-27-2013 04:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by salamachaa View Post

I am assuming you mean overscanning too much when at other 16:9 aspect ratio resolutions. In that case, no. As far as a guide:

Go to: http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU?page=1
Download the AMD pixel patcher
run it
restart
download toasty's custom resolution utility.
run toasty's custom resolution utility.
Edit the top profile to be 2560x1440 60hz.
Restart
Change the resolution in CCC

Just got the TV and followed these instructions. I have 1920 x 1080 @ 120Hz working on the 39 inch. I tested it and with the Hz tester and I don't get any dropped frames either. True 1920 x 1080 @ 120hz. I guess they fixed the issue with a firemware update and my new TV has it applied out the box

I was also able to get 2560 x 1440 @ 60z, BUT it is really really blurry. At 30Hz it isn't blurry. Does this happen on your end or no?

salamachaa 11-27-2013 05:06 PM

I have not. There was another user reporting the issue though. Not sure what causes it.

cnvrtble98 11-28-2013 07:44 AM

Hey guys I have been following this thread and was thinking about getting this monitor(tv). I am coming from a 6 year old 28" Hanns-G monitor so I would think that any of the new technology would look better to me than that did. I had 2 questions really. 1. Will I be able to do the 2560x1440 60hz with and AMD 6970 card? 2. Most of what I use the computer for is web browsing/online shopping/forum reading and a few games mostly of the MMO variety. Which resolutions would best serve those purposes? Is gaming on this set at either 1080p or 1440p fluid and visually appealing?

Thanks!

salamachaa 11-29-2013 08:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koogiking View Post

Just got the TV and followed these instructions. I have 1920 x 1080 @ 120Hz working on the 39 inch. I tested it and with the Hz tester and I don't get any dropped frames either. True 1920 x 1080 @ 120hz. I guess they fixed the issue with a firemware update and my new TV has it applied out the box

I was also able to get 2560 x 1440 @ 60z, BUT it is really really blurry. At 30Hz it isn't blurry. Does this happen on your end or no?

I do not have this issue. Another user in the thread reported it but blamed the TV and didn't want to try different things. Let me know if you figure it out.

salamachaa 11-29-2013 08:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cnvrtble98 View Post

Hey guys I have been following this thread and was thinking about getting this monitor(tv). I am coming from a 6 year old 28" Hanns-G monitor so I would think that any of the new technology would look better to me than that did. I had 2 questions really. 1. Will I be able to do the 2560x1440 60hz with and AMD 6970 card? 2. Most of what I use the computer for is web browsing/online shopping/forum reading and a few games mostly of the MMO variety. Which resolutions would best serve those purposes? Is gaming on this set at either 1080p or 1440p fluid and visually appealing?

Thanks!

What resolution is the Hanns-G monitor? I am using 2560x1440 on my 7950s. I don't see why it wouldn't work on a 6970. You should be able to do those games at 3820x2160. If you have input lag issues let me know. I have been able to play 3rd person games no problems with some tweaks in radeon pro. The desktop looks amazing at 4k and reading is definitely best at that resolution.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.