Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Linux, Unix (https://www.overclock.net/forum/131-linux-unix/)
-   -   [Solved] Wireless suddenly stopped working in Ubuntu 14.04 (https://www.overclock.net/forum/131-linux-unix/1518258-solved-wireless-suddenly-stopped-working-ubuntu-14-04-a.html)

vaatibal 10-11-2014 10:58 AM

Hello everyone.
Today i booted up my laptop like usual, only to discover that the wireless suddenly didn't work anymore in Ubuntu. So i booted into Windows to see if the wireless on my laptop even functioned at all. On Windows it worked just fine however, so that immediately tells me Ubuntu itself was the problem. Tried multiple things like reinstalling the driver, etc. Nothing worked.

Anyway, i was hoping someone more experienced with Linux would be able to help me. So any suggestions are welcome!

DzillaXx 10-11-2014 11:00 AM

Try FN + f2, or whatever key you laptop uses to turn on and off wifi.

vaatibal 10-11-2014 11:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DzillaXx View Post

Try FN + f2, or whatever key you laptop uses to turn on and off wifi.

I just tried. No luck...

Oh, and i also would like to add that the Bluetooth connectivity works. So that means there is atleast something functioning of the card in Ubuntu.

cones 10-11-2014 11:26 AM

Run "ifconfig" to make sure Ubuntu is actually seeing the card.

vpex 10-11-2014 11:31 AM

Could you try:
Code:
lspci -v | grep -i network -A 6

This will show what driver is loaded and also what card you have. If the correct driver is loaded could you try to connect to an AP and then give us the output of dmesg? Could you also post what iwconfig has to say?

Could you also tell us what router you have and whether its 5GHz or 2.4GHz?

vaatibal 10-11-2014 11:42 AM

.

vaatibal 10-11-2014 11:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cones View Post

Run "ifconfig" to make sure Ubuntu is actually seeing the card.

I just did. This is the output:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:16:37:62:3b
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:22

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:146 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:146 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:23672 (23.6 KB) TX bytes:23672 (23.6 KB)
(I don´t know exactly what the second section is supposed to mean.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpex View Post

Could you try:
Code:
lspci -v | grep -i network -A 6

This will show what driver is loaded and also what card you have. If the correct driver is loaded could you try to connect to an AP and then give us the output of dmesg? Could you also post what iwconfig has to say?

Could you also tell us what router you have and whether its 5GHz or 2.4GHz?
This is the output:
07:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
Subsystem: Broadcom Corporation Device 04b5
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
Memory at c2100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities:
From what i can tell it works... But some access is denied.

I have a TP-LINK TL-WR841N, it's 2.4 GHz i believe.
Please keep in mind that Ubuntu sees no network connection at all. So i can't connect to an AP at all..

cones 10-11-2014 11:53 AM

"eth0" would mean you first ethernet card. You should have a "wlan0" in there also, since you do no that means it is not detecting you wireless card (the networking services). "lo" is you loopback device, it is used for stuff to communicate on your system. Say you are running a webserver and you open an internet browser on that computer you can type "127.0.0.1" to access that webserver directly without going through you LAN but another computer on your LAN would not be able to use that address. Anyways it looks like that second command is saying that the system detects the wifi card but not the networking services. You could try the command "ifconfig wlan0 up" but i do not think that is it in this case.

vaatibal 10-11-2014 11:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cones View Post

"eth0" would mean you first ethernet card. You should have a "wlan0" in there also, since you do no that means it is not detecting you wireless card (the networking services). "lo" is you loopback device, it is used for stuff to communicate on your system. Say you are running a webserver and you open an internet browser on that computer you can type "127.0.0.1" to access that webserver directly without going through you LAN but another computer on your LAN would not be able to use that address. Anyways it looks like that second command is saying that the system detects the wifi card but not the networking services. You could try the command "ifconfig wlan0 up" but i do not think that is it in this case.

I see. Thanks for clearing that up! And i tried the command. It just says there is no such device...

cones 10-11-2014 12:04 PM

Not surprised that returned nothing. Try "sudo /usr/sbin/rfkill unblock wifi" otherwise are you sure there is no hard key if it is a laptop?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.