Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Mice (https://www.overclock.net/forum/375-mice/)
-   -   sourceGL: RInput launcher + more for CS:GO/TF2 (https://www.overclock.net/forum/375-mice/1538109-sourcegl-rinput-launcher-more-cs-go-tf2.html)

VolsAndJezuz 01-26-2015 06:01 PM

EDIT: All new versions will now be released at the official site - http://sourcegl.sourceforge.net

button.png

What is RInput?
RInput is a program made by a programmer that goes by abort, that reads the raw input data from your mouse and feeds it directly to the cursor/crosshair position in game. It serves as an alternative to in-game raw input or allows for raw input in games that lack it. For games that have a raw input option, it should be turned off for RInput to work (m_rawinput 0 for Source games).

Why use RInput?
I believe the main issue with Source's m_rawinput 1, even though it collects true raw input data, is how it is buffered by the game. I've read somewhere before where someone who knew a lot more about it than me was talking about how it was related to m_rawinput 1 having poor time-stamping of the raw input data in relation to the framerate, so the buffering can be quite variable in comparison to the way frame-rendering is buffered. At sufficiently high refresh rates and FPS, this tends to make mouse movement feel 'disconnected' in a strange way with what you are seeing on screen. Many players including myself find using RInput (without an fps_max cap) to be better performing than Source's raw input implementation.

What is digital vibrance?
Digital vibrance is an NVIDIA option that is subtly different from a straight saturation adjustment. It can be best explained as something like, digital vibrance is the intelligent saturation (when increased) or desaturation (when decreased) of the display image on a pixel-by-pixel basis, based on a given pixel's original saturation value.

Why change digital vibrance?
Digital vibrance can be more useful for certain gaming situations than a plain scaled saturation adjustment because it will decrease the dynamic range of saturation for a given image, which can help make certain colors and shades more noticeable relative to their environment when compared to the unaltered image. As an example, for DV @ 100%, both Ts and CTs stand out much more to my eyes against the brown/yellow backgrounds and floor on Dust 2.

Is it VAC safe?
In a word, yes. But see the README for a longer discussion on VAC.

TK421 01-26-2015 06:37 PM

Can you add insurgency into the launcher?

ranseed 01-26-2015 06:40 PM

Really handy thanks. Are we supposed to manually create the folder C:\CSGO\rinput\Rinput ? I get a windows error that it can't find it

VolsAndJezuz 01-26-2015 06:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

Can you add insurgency into the launcher?

After the initial beta testing, I will look at other games to add.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranseed View Post

Really handy thanks. Are we supposed to manually create the folder C:\CSGO\rinput\Rinput ? I get a windows error that it can't find it

Oops, I forgot to edit the batch files it creates. That was my original testing directory. I'll update the files and reupload momentarily. But if you copy RInput.exe and RInput.dll to that directory, it will run til I fix it. Sorry about that.

Fixed zipped installer now in OP. If reinstalling, run the uninstaller then the new installer. Thanks!

SmashTV 01-26-2015 06:57 PM

InB4 this causes clown cursor.

But seriously this is great. Just hope Valve doesn't blacklist the input injector in the future for VAC.

VolsAndJezuz 01-26-2015 07:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmashTV View Post

InB4 this causes clown cursor.

But seriously this is great. Just hope Valve doesn't blacklist the input injector in the future for VAC.

I thought about making this the icon:



But RInput injector has been around since like CS:Source, so I see no reason they would decide to suddenly change their mind about it.

SmashTV 01-26-2015 09:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by VolsAndJezuz View Post

I thought about making this the icon:



But RInput injector has been around since like CS:Source, so I see no reason they would decide to suddenly change their mind about it.

Classy icon.

As for my fear, it reminds me of open plug in. That was a lot more sketch (exploiting a loophole to play insecure) but I wouldn't put it past Valve to blacklist rinput. Not saying not to use it, just hope Valve doesn't mess it up.

popups 01-26-2015 11:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmashTV View Post

Classy icon.

As for my fear, it reminds me of open plug in. That was a lot more sketch (exploiting a loophole to play insecure) but I wouldn't put it past Valve to blacklist rinput. Not saying not to use it, just hope Valve doesn't mess it up.

I have been using rinput injector for years. I have been using it for GO since the game came out. I have a batch script that sets affinity, launch options and starts rinput v1.31 for GO. The downside, it brings me out of the game when rinput v1.31 launches, the problem with that is it seems alt tabbing decreases FPS in GO.

VolsAndJezuz 01-26-2015 11:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

Can you add insurgency into the launcher?

Updated to allow launching other programs. Uninstall the previous version and delete the settings.txt file in the install directory (the uninstaller doesn't delete this). See OP for example of using other program.
Quote:
Originally Posted by popups View Post

I have been using rinput injector for years. I have been using it for GO since the game came out. I have a batch script that sets affinity, launch options and starts rinput v1.31 for GO. The downside, it brings me out of the game when rinput v1.31 launches, the problem with that is it seems alt tabbing decreases FPS in GO.

My program launches the game and inserts RInput silently in the backgrond (i.e., doesn't take you to the desktop). You can just set your launch options in Properties of CS:GO in Steam, using the -high launch option to set to run as high priority. Then launching through sourceGL should take care of everything you were accomplishing with your batch file and alleviate the alt-tab problem.

TK421 01-27-2015 01:03 AM

You need to turn off in game raw mouse input? (sorry, noob at tweaking these kinda games)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.