Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   GA-990FXA-UD3 Rev 4 and Samsung SM951 128GB NVMe M.2 MZHPV128HDGM Issue (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1606083-ga-990fxa-ud3-rev-4-samsung-sm951-128gb-nvme-m-2-mzhpv128hdgm-issue.html)

Alien Head 07-16-2016 04:06 PM

I plugged the SM951 into a 4x PCIe slot. BIOS does not see it F2 or F3.
Windows 10 sees it but won't install to it (not bookable device).

If I install windows 10 on another drive and then clone to SM951 the bios sees it but won't boot off it even if I set as hard disk and first device in boot sequence (No boot device) when booting. When the BIOS first sees the device it thinks it is a floppy drive. This might corrupt the boot sector.

Clonezilla sees the drive and will clone it, but corrupts something on original windows 10 install and 10 will no longer boot. Also SM951 disappears from BIOS after cloning.

I did have a raid setup with 2 SSD's and when I first initialized SM951 in windows I got a Windows 10 boot device in the BIOS. (Don't know where that came from) Also UAFI device showed up in BIOS and when booting to it you can execute certain commands. Still learning.

If there was a way of forcing Windows 10 to install on the SM951 I think the BIOS would see it and could set it as first boot device. That's if it does not set it to floppy and corrupt the boot sector.

MBR vs GPT?

Trying to load some linux distros to the SM951. Is a different flavor of this board more compatible with NVMe?

Any Ideas

Otherwise I'm sort of stuck. Might have to get a AHCI SSD but most slower. (OCZ) back ordered.

Thanks

Alien Head 07-17-2016 12:50 AM

After 3 days, I found out this board not compatible with booting NVMe. At least I tried everything and scoured the internet but nothing works.

So it's get a Samsung AHCI M.2 SSD ($99) or get the GA-990FX Gaming MB $139
I'm out about the same either way, I can sell my motherboard though, so think I will order the gaming board.

Hope this might help others.

Undervolter 07-17-2016 02:38 AM

I am not really into nvme, but i 've never read of anyone being able to boot from it. Not in AM3+ at least. So before giving money for new motherboard, first make sure that you can use the nvme as bootable. Cause i don't think you can.

Alien Head 07-17-2016 07:09 PM

Went to a friends house that has a ASRock 970A-G/3.1 AM3/AM3+ motherboard booted windows right up from Samsung NVME in it's M.2 slot. I had a windows 10 clone on the drive also and it just worked. Sold him SSD

So I think the Gigabyte Gamer board with M.2 slot would also work. But don't quote me on that. Gigabyte's website says it's NVME compatible.

Gigabyte makes a awesome board hardware-wise, hope they update the BIOS to boot from NVME.
I ordered AHCI version of same Samsung M.2 SSD, hopefully that will work.

Alien Head 07-21-2016 04:34 PM

AHCI does not work either, Windows 10 see's it but does not show up in BIOS F2 or F3
I'm going to sell on EBay, if your interested let me know have controller card also.

Going back to raiding 2 SSD's, Will put them on a raid controller (if it works) or they saturate the SB 950 bus otherwise, have 2 512GB drive will raid them and USB 3 Dock.

countet 03-06-2019 05:22 PM

upgrade bios
 
https://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php?topic=16870.75

Update your bios with that, and let me now if you can use NVMe M.2, if you can ill upgrade too

Overkill 03-30-2019 10:59 PM

If you have multiple disks or drives hooked up to your motherboard, your operating system (OS), such as windows, can erroneously "save" the Master Boot Record (MBR) to a different drive than the one in which you've told it to install the OS to. This can lead to problems such as not being able to boot into your software installation because of having one of many different drives disconnected, or connected, containing or not containing MBRs that either are missing or conflicting with each other. So be aware of what drives you have hooked up or not especially when initially setting up your RAID array and OS installations. Linux uses a slightly different type of format, usually, to save operating system installation information into the hard disk's controller so that when it interfaces with the motherboard it can sometimes save over an older different format (such as the MBR windows uses) when installing an OS. They (windows and linux) can work together and be installed on the same single disk but it takes utilizing the proper format, partitioning balance, and file system type (ex; NTFS/FAT etc) that works for both OSes to get the best performance and usability balance out of a drive. Sometimes it can be hard to diagnose whats actually going on while trying to play musical hardware when setting up a new hardware configuration in a machine.

Goodluck!

Steve Reid 04-18-2019 07:23 PM

I flashed it and can boot NVME now perfectly fine. It works awesome!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.