Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   Overclocking Brick Wall... Need help. (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1606769-overclocking-brick-wall-need-help.html)

evilthx 07-24-2016 09:50 AM

Ok, so I built my computer and I built it so it can be overclocked. I am going to go ahead and list exactly what I have and hopefully one or more of you can tell me how I am messing up here...


Case: Corsair 750D
MB: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
CPU: AMD FX8320E (0 stepping and unlocked)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H115i (idle temp is constant at 28*c)
Mem: Crucial Part number (BLS8G3D18ADS3.16FE) 8GB x 2 (16GB total) Memory modules are in the lighter blue slots.
GPU: ASUS R7 250X 2GB mem,
OS HD: Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (Storage drives are WD Blue 1TB Sata 6GB, WD Blue 1TB Sata 6GB, WD Blue 500GB Sata 6GB)
PSU: Generic 750w unit

I am literally looking to overclock to 4GHZ. ASUS Ai will let it overclock to 3.4GHZ with auto tuning but anything above that and it shuts off and restarts. Annoying. I am running Windows 7 Pro 64bit. My question is how do I overclock this machine? 8 Cores, 16GB of memory, liquid cooling, good graphics... what's going on here???? The only two conclusions I can come up with is I need a new and 80+ certified PSU or my gear is crap.





miklkit 07-24-2016 11:06 AM

Hi!

Yes about that PSU.......how old is it? It appears to be designed to work with the old cases where it is mounted on the top. Power supplies decrease in power over time and need to be replaced after a few years. I use a Seasonic 850 watt unit meself.

Don't use software to overclock as it is buggy and unreliable. Your motherboard has a good bios and you will be getting to know it well.

evilthx 07-24-2016 11:23 AM

The PSU is 4+ years old... Hmmm, I did notice when I was in the BIOS attempting to overclock per some internet instructions for this motherboard that the "Vcore" voltage was fluctuating greatly... going from close to 1.3v to 0.9v

miklkit 07-24-2016 11:33 AM

Ok here is a link to a good stress test. https://www.overclock.net/attachments/13202

Then you want to download HWINFO64. It's free and is the best monitoring software for FX.

There is a good overclocking guide around here somewhere that I can not find. Maybe someone else knows where it is.

Yes your voltage will fluctuate depending on use as that is the power saving feature in action. You will want to disable that and a few other things when you actually start to OC.

rx7racer 07-24-2016 11:39 AM

Hello and Welcome to OCN!! wheee.gif


Sounds like you are only using the Auto settings in bios/uefi. You may want to read up on and get to know what and how to do.

Decent overview of your UEFI if you aren't familiar with manual overclocking it can give you a brief glimpse to know what is what.

Here is some decent info about FX 8320E overclocking. http://www.anandtech.com/show/8864/amd-fx-8320e-cpu-review-the-other-95w-vishera/2

Hope some of that helps and you get your 4GHz. thumb.gif

miklkit 07-24-2016 11:45 AM

Finally found it. This thread is full of helpfull info about the ASUS motherboards. https://www.overclock.net/t/1348623/amd-bulldozer-and-piledriver-overclocking-guide-asus-motherboard

evilthx 07-24-2016 11:46 AM

Thanks guys, I will look things over and get back to you all.

cssorkinman 07-24-2016 11:55 AM

PSU isn't the best design nor quality , I wouldn't push it too hard.

Here's what the resident psu expert had to say about it
https://www.overclock.net/t/1389482/kentek-750-w-psu-fire-hazard#post_19926148

evilthx 07-25-2016 06:25 PM

Ok, replaced the fire hazard with a Corsair AX860 PSU. Looks much nicer with modular cables. Ok, so who can give me a list of exactly what to adjust/turn off/turn on in the bios to overclock this beast?

evilthx 07-25-2016 10:03 PM

Got it to 3.6Ghz with 10 min on Prime 95 and it would not go over 46*c. This appears to be a dance between voltage and frequency of the processor. Anyone know what the voltage needs to be for 4.0Ghz on this board with this CPU?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.