Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1625822-gigabyte-ga-ax370-gaming-k7-discussion.html)

AlphaC 03-18-2017 12:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Praetorr View Post

I was fortunate to snag one of the Newegg ones that got flown in. Put the system together yesterday with an 1800X.

Going very well so far. No major issues, the system was left running overnight and it's still running now. thumb.gif

Biggest issue thus far: At least for me, I cannot alter memory speeds with the stock bios. Setting XMP makes it look like it's running my memory at 3200mhz, but according to benchmarking and CPUZ, it doesn't.

I haven't tried any other bios yet.

Any fidgeting with the BCLK yet? tongue.gif
It would be interesting to compare a conservative 3.8GHZ Ryzen 7 with DDR4 2666MHz vs 4.06GHz Ryzen 7 DDR4 2852MHz that was overclocked via ~107MHz BCLK

Per the Stilt:
Quote:
Originally Posted by https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/ryzen-strictly-technical.2500572/ 
The base-clock (BCLK)

Overclocking the base clock (BCLK) on AM4 platform is possible, however generally not recommended. This is due to its frequency relations with other interfaces, such as the PCIe. Unlike with Intel's more recent CPUs, there is no asynchronous mode (straps / gears) available, which would allow stepping down the PCIe frequency at certain intervals. The PCIe frequency relation is fixed and therefore it increases at the same rate with the BCLK. Gen. 3 operation can generally be sustained up to ~107MHz frequency and higher speeds will usually require forcing the links to either Gen. 2 or to Gen. 1 modes.

Praetorr 03-18-2017 12:05 PM

Maybe I'm just missing it, but I haven't seen any ability to actually adjust it in-bios yet.

The stock (F2) bios seems severely limited so far.

Sev501 03-18-2017 03:50 PM

I also have this board, although haven't put it up all together yet. Still waiting for the noctua am4 mounts to come in via post.

I went with 1700x and a 16 gb G. Skill Trident Z kit..

(I've tried for days to find a review for this board but none so far due to availability maybe, all I've seen is the gaming 5 and gaming 3).

Sub'd!

Cheers!

GalaxyDrifter 03-18-2017 03:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev501 View Post

I also have this board, although haven't put it up all together yet. Still waiting for the noctua am4 mounts to come in via post.

I went with 1700x and a 16 gb G. Skill Trident Z kit..

(I've tried for days to find a review for this board but none so far due to availability maybe, all I've seen is the gaming 5 and gaming 3).

Sub'd!

Cheers!
You cannot find reviews because you are one of the first people to own one. It was just released this week.

Sev501 03-18-2017 03:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxyDrifter View Post

You cannot find reviews because you are one of the first people to own one. It was just released this week.

Makes sense! Although I've seen articles from feb featuring the board, never thought that it was just recently released!
Time to get some pictures up for then!

One thing I noticed it comes with 2 thermometers or thermosistors that can be connected to the board.
(Sorta noobish, but yeah this is sort of my first high end board) biggrin.gif

EDIT: @Praetorr: how did you set up or attach the thermosistors are they near the cpu or somewhere in the case?

Praetorr 03-18-2017 05:03 PM

I didn't bother with them personally.

drksilenc 03-20-2017 07:27 AM

I do want to warn you do not install the creative sound pack if you play dota 2. It is causing massive fps loss. Without it i get around 110 fps with it i get only 30. Im gonna put a call in to them today to see if they can figure it out.

Praetorr 03-20-2017 07:27 PM

Anybody else have the debug LED constantly display code "56"? Manual says it's "invalid CPU type or speed," but my system has been running 24/7 for a few days now without a single hiccup.

I'm thinking it's just a normal part of using the stock F2 bios, but I'd love if anyone else could confirm/deny. thumb.gif

Edit: Those in the CPU megathread confirmed that this is happening with their Gigabyte Gaming 5's & K7's too.

muffins 03-20-2017 11:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Praetorr View Post

Anybody else have the debug LED constantly display code "56"? Manual says it's "invalid CPU type or speed," but my system has been running 24/7 for a few days now without a single hiccup.

I'm thinking it's just a normal part of using the stock F2 bios, but I'd love if anyone else could confirm/deny. thumb.gif

Edit: Those in the CPU megathread confirmed that this is happening with their Gigabyte Gaming 5's & K7's too.
no issues here.... though i've only had my gaming 5 for two days now. mine shipped with f4 by default but i flashed f5d on my first post. mine shows 24. though i have noticed if i have the gigabyte siv software installed, my q code shows A0. it goes back to 24 once i uninstall the software. though the manual doesn't state what 24 is. my crosshair hero too showed 24.

Sev501 03-21-2017 07:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Praetorr View Post

Anybody else have the debug LED constantly display code "56"? Manual says it's "invalid CPU type or speed," but my system has been running 24/7 for a few days now without a single hiccup.

I'm thinking it's just a normal part of using the stock F2 bios, but I'd love if anyone else could confirm/deny. thumb.gif

Edit: Those in the CPU megathread confirmed that this is happening with their Gigabyte Gaming 5's & K7's too.

Have you tried with the latest bios f3b? http://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-AX370-Gaming-K7-rev-10#support-dl


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.