Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Discussion (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1625822-gigabyte-ga-ax370-gaming-k7-discussion.html)

THUMPer1 07-14-2019 06:39 AM

F41c fixed the m.2 issue for me. yay!

MacAdder 07-14-2019 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THUMPer1 (Post 28042312)
F41c fixed the m.2 issue for me. yay!

How are your CPU voltages?

jojolapin102 07-14-2019 11:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlphaC (Post 27985582)
Even on paper you're capped at 40A x 6 powerstages at 1.2V = 288W, realistically to remain in 90% powerstage efficiency you want 25A each or less which is ~180W. If you buy a 16 core or 12 core you're going to be limited , as if it's like Ryzen+ the cores can use up to 22W each when overclocked not including IO die. It's decent for any 8 core though runs hot due to heatsink size/area and lack of a heatpipe. I don't think they anticipated a 12 core when the X370 boards were made, even the top end X370 boards from Asus/Asrock/MSI have this same issue.


See datasheet https://www.infineon.com/dgdl/ir3553...5355cd94ee1767




150W-160W it'll start to get hot but nothing worrying, at 180W (per hwinfo64 package power) or so it's easily 85°C as been tested by myself and hwcooling
https://www.hwcooling.net/en/which-x...e-gaming-5-en/

^ in their review 85°C with 209W at wall (Seasonic Titanium PSU) suggests around 180W CPU power , their stock CPU consumed 163W

https://www.hwcooling.net/en/test-of...ly-minus-pads/
^ board is X370 Gaming 5 which is same PCB as K7 , they tested the change of thermal pad which suggests it's mainly a heatsink issue.

It's mediocre for RAM OC, you'll be able to do 3400C16 /3533C16/ 3200C14 though. It's due to the t-topology that was present on X370, which is better for 4 sticks (but Ryzen doesn't like 4 sticks). On X570 AMD is pushing for daisy chain on all boards which is better for 2 sticks.


edit: found my old screenshots

170W CPU power, 185W CPU+SOC running Prime95 with 1300RPM TY-147 fan speed
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26187058-post496.html

Hi, I'm a bit late, but how do you know the AX370 GAMING K7 is T-topology ?
Thanks in advance :)

iNeri 07-14-2019 11:50 AM

Hi guys.

My friend have issue with Bios f41 from support.

This multiplier never reach 44x. Max is 43.8x.

This with a 3700x. Someone with this cpu can confirm this behavior?

Thanks.

Enviado desde mi ONEPLUS A6000 mediante Tapatalk

AlphaC 07-14-2019 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jojolapin102 (Post 28042724)
Hi, I'm a bit late, but how do you know the AX370 GAMING K7 is T-topology ?
Thanks in advance :)

Even high end Asus and Asrock boards were T-topology on X370.


Pretty much every X370 board is T-topology unless it's 2 DIMMs.

THUMPer1 07-14-2019 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MacAdder (Post 28042390)
How are your CPU voltages?

Ok I guess. Does a negative voltage offset have any effect? There are some redundant BIOS settings for voltage, I don't know which ones to use.

akama 07-15-2019 09:04 AM

Now they list F41c on their site for download.

VeritronX 07-15-2019 10:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by inserf1 (Post 28041276)
Dont have a 3xxx but had problems with F40 with the 2700, before I couldn't set the multiplier without getting a boot/post loop, with the F41c, can set multiplier, but now cant set the vcore (either static or offset) - oy

Also with voltage, as others mentioned, auto overvolts, normal was stock (at least on a 2700)

As I posted earlier in this thread, changing the multi the normal way isn't working with F40 but leaving the normal multi and core voltage options on auto and changing them using the pstate settings still works fine.

Quote:

Originally Posted by iNeri (Post 28042728)
Hi guys.

My friend have issue with Bios f41 from support.

This multiplier never reach 44x. Max is 43.8x.

This with a 3700x. Someone with this cpu can confirm this behavior?

Thanks.

Enviado desde mi ONEPLUS A6000 mediante Tapatalk

This is how Ryzen 3000 chips are supposed to work, the listed boost clock is the maximum limit but the chips don't hit it for long enough for you to see it in reporting software if at all. They really should have defined it as being the upper limit and not the actual average single core boost clock like people are expecting.

These chips run into the voltage limiters before they reach the clock or power limits, how high you boost depends more on your luck with the silicon lottery of that particular chip then just about anything else.

iNeri 07-15-2019 10:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VeritronX (Post 28045010)
As I posted earlier in this thread, changing the multi the normal way isn't working with F40 but leaving the normal multi and core voltage options on auto and changing them using the pstate settings still works fine.



This is how Ryzen 3000 chips are supposed to work, the listed boost clock is the maximum limit but the chips don't hit it for long enough for you to see it in reporting software if at all. They really should have defined it as being the upper limit and not the actual average single core boost clock like people are expecting.

These chips run into the voltage limiters before they reach the clock or power limits, how high you boost depends more on your luck with the silicon lottery of that particular chip then just about anything else.

I ask because on x370 taichi my 3700x its boosting all the way to 44x on normal desktop usage but my friends only boost to 43.8x.

https://i.imgur.com/nKdZmHM.png

VeritronX 07-15-2019 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by iNeri (Post 28045026)
I ask because on x370 taichi my 3700x its boosting all the way to 44x on normal desktop usage but my friends only boost to 43.8x.

https://i.imgur.com/nKdZmHM.png

Just means his chip hits the voltage limiter at a lower speed than yours does, your chip is better than his. It's luck of the draw. Congrats on getting a good chip.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.