Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   My experience with the Asus PRIME X370-Pro (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1626011-my-experience-asus-prime-x370-pro.html)

FinnishOC 03-20-2017 04:32 AM

Hey guys,

Decided to finally upgrade from my old faithful i7-2600K and since I'm an oldschool PC enthusiast I like to pick up some new and perhaps even a little bit untested hardware and I don't mind a little bit of tinkering......so long story short I picked up some brand new hardware last week:
-AMD Ryzen 7 1700X
-16gb RAM (Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16, recommended in the AMD blog here)
-Asys PRIME X370-Pro

Built the system and fired it up...had a long(ish) black screen until the system finally booted up and I got to installing Windows. Fiddled around a little bit and found out my RAM was running at 2133mhz. So I went back to the BIOS and fooled around with the RAM settings. In the end I set the AI Tuner to DOCP mode and DRAM Frequency to 2666mhz and thats the highest it would go for me.

My board was supplied with the BIOS version 0502, also tried flashing to 0504 but theres seems to be some temperature display bug in the version 0504 and it shows 20 degrees too much (?) as the offset value appears to be set incorrectly in that particular BIOS version...I couldnt go any higher than 2666mhz on the RAM anyway. Anything higher and it just kept beeping at POST and wouldnt boot up...so I flashed BIOS back to 0502 and I'm running that now.

There is one other issue I've had randomly on this motherboard, and its that it for whatever reason sometimes doesn't recognize all my SATA drives at bootup, I was wondering at times why seemingly nothing happens when I fire up the PC but then yesterday I noticed that sometimes it seems to just randomly not recognize my O/S drive and sometimes one of the other SATA drives I have. I dont know if this is an issue from my RAM tinkering or is it another bug in the platform...

Performancewise I'm quite happy with it. I do some video encoding and it seems quite a bit faster than on my old Sandy Bridge CPU. In gaming I have not really noticed that much of a difference, but I wasn't really expecting much.

So whats the point of this post? Maybe just to give some user experience from this motherboard and hopefully give some tips to some people.

Bottomline: The AM4 platform seems to be somewhat buggy/unfinished right now, and especially the ASUS boards seem to have quite a bit of issues. Also there hasnt been an official ASUS BIOS update for this board for nearly a month which is really weird...I read somewhere that there's gonna be one "soon", but whenever that is...I dont know.

Anyway, feel free to ask anything about this motherboard/setup and I'll try to answer as much as I can smile.gif.

Darkstalker420 03-21-2017 06:54 AM

Thanks for this "heads up". This is the MoBo i will probably be purchasing later this year for my RyZen 1700 build. How often does it "forget" your SATA drives? (this is slightly bothersome imho). Also any other BIOS quirks? Have tried to clock the 1700X? if so was it "easy" or did you have to fight the MoBo (settings wise) for the OC?

Any other day to day probs you could share would be great. Also can you adjust the REFClock or is it just multiplier only? and also when you look at CPU-Z (or similar) is the REFClock 100Mhz or something silly like 99.8Mhz. Thanks for the thread will help me out for sure. As i keep my rigs for years (look at sig! biggrin.gif ) and don't want to buy a cranky/fussy MoBo i will be fighting all the way.

Thanx.

10e 03-21-2017 07:16 AM

I'm pretty sure the temperature bug is a Ryzen 1700x/1800x issue, where they display +20 celsius (I can't remember, but I've read that a few times).

I have the same board with a 1700 and temperatures seem to be realistic. I'm only using the built-in Wraith Spire cooler and so far I've reached 3.8 stable on all cores for over an hour on Prime 95 at just over 1.3 volts.

My RAM, a Trident Z 32GB kit (ddr-3000) is clocking up to 2666mhz using DOCP 2666mhz at proper CAS 15. This is the model number of the kit I have:

F4-3000C15D-32GTZ

I haven't done any power tests to see how much it's pulling from the wall. I'm slowly messing with voltage to see what my lowest stable vCore is.

But so far so good. Updated to BIOS 0504 without issue, cleared CMOS, set optimized defaults with F5 in advanced BIOS, and good to go as of now!

I am temporarily using an old Seagate SSHD ST1000LM24 drive without issue. Not the fastest, but so far so good. All OC done in BIOS, not Ryzen Master.

insonator 03-21-2017 11:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FinnishOC View Post

There is one other issue I've had randomly on this motherboard, and its that it for whatever reason sometimes doesn't recognize all my SATA drives at bootup, I was wondering at times why seemingly nothing happens when I fire up the PC but then yesterday I noticed that sometimes it seems to just randomly not recognize my O/S drive and sometimes one of the other SATA drives I have. I dont know if this is an issue from my RAM tinkering or is it another bug in the platform...

I had this exact same behavior on my Prime. Have a Samsung 840 EVO on SATA0, two identical WD Black 2.0TB on SATA1 and SATA2, and BD-RW on SATA3; SATA0 is not recognized more than half the time. I had to plug it in SATA4 and it is now always detected..

I had read somewhere that it may be related to how the SATA specs do it things on detecting SATA0 and 1.

I'm using AHCI and software RAID for SATA1 and SATA2, CPU-Z hanged when using Firmware RAID + AMD RAID Driver; it was hanging with HDD Guardian too.

- inso

LazarusIV 03-21-2017 11:19 AM

Prime X370-PRO owner here as well! I've got my Ryzen 7 1700 running stock with Wraith Spire cooler, waiting on the AM4 bracket for my MasterLiquid Pro 280. Seems like that will be mid-April at the soonest.

I got a fresh install of Win7 put on my Crucial SSD, I also set up a software RAID 0 with my 2 2TB Toshiba drives, works flawlessly so far. After a rough ride getting everything going, it's all now up and running smoothly. All I've done so far is download and install software and games, getting all my stuff set back up, but it's been ultra smooth. I'm really impressed with this processor so far, the desktop feels very snappy and smooth.

I haven't touched the RAM yet, but I've got a good Samsung B-die single side set of RAM to use, so I'm hoping to get up to about 3000MHz. To be honest, I don't need blazing RAM so whatever I get with the least amount of fuss and instability is what I'll use!

I'll leave everything at stock until my bracket arrives, then I'll start pushing the system. Until then I'll game and use it stock. Hopefully tonight I'll be able to game on it and get a feel. Finally!

thumb.gif

Edit: Those with issues, are you using clean installs of your OS or not?

FinnishOC 03-21-2017 03:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkstalker420 View Post

Thanks for this "heads up". This is the MoBo i will probably be purchasing later this year for my RyZen 1700 build. How often does it "forget" your SATA drives? (this is slightly bothersome imho). Also any other BIOS quirks? Have tried to clock the 1700X? if so was it "easy" or did you have to fight the MoBo (settings wise) for the OC?

Any other day to day probs you could share would be great. Also can you adjust the REFClock or is it just multiplier only? and also when you look at CPU-Z (or similar) is the REFClock 100Mhz or something silly like 99.8Mhz. Thanks for the thread will help me out for sure. As i keep my rigs for years (look at sig! biggrin.gif ) and don't want to buy a cranky/fussy MoBo i will be fighting all the way.

Thanx.
Hey, it appears to remember my SATA drives when I have not tinkered with anything in the BIOS. At least now that I've just left my RAM at the 2666mhz and not even tried to touch it the PC has booted up reliably every time (with all drives found). I'm not 100% sure, but it seemed to lose the drives at times when I was trying to fiddle with the RAM settings or settings in the BIOS in general.

I'm not 100% sure on this one either but I think the REFClock is limited to the Crosshair-board. I have not yet tried overclocking the CPU much because I seem to get simply WILD variance on temperature measurements in different software. My Ryzen Master is saying my CPU idles at 60 degrees celsius and it seems to jump insanely much just in idle, between 55-70 degrees. Then again the ASUS AI Suite says my CPU idles at 43C so go figure rolleyes.gif

So right now I've got a stable system with the RAM running at 2666mhz, no disappearing SATA drives and my BIOS version is 0502. Some people seem to have better luck with RAM on the 0504 BIOS but that BIOS has the bugged temperature offset for my 1700X....if you have a 1700 it won't matter because the offset is only for 1700X or 1800X.

But if you ask me, ASUS won't get very high marks for this board! I'm hoping most of the issue would be fixed with a proper BIOS though - so I guess we'll see. I read AMD released new AGESA code today onto board manufacturers so perhaps we'll finally get a BIOS update for this board too....

FinnishOC 03-21-2017 03:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazarusIV View Post

Edit: Those with issues, are you using clean installs of your OS or not?
Yeah, clean O/S install of course - was coming from an Intel system so it was a given smile.gif

And I do clean O/S installs for much smaller changes too.

But to recap my issues on this board:
-RAM doesn't want to run above 2666mhz even with the AMD recommended Corsair kit (2666mhz seems decent still, compared to some issues others are having).
-If I change something in BIOS and reboot the board/BIOS randomly loses some of my SATA drives. If I don't touch my BIOS settings, it seems to reliably find them.
-The temperature values reported by Ryzen Master / Asus AI Suite / BIOS vary wildly. This apparently is a bug in the BIOS versions 0504 and the beta BIOS 0505 that affects the 1700X and 1800X because those BIOS versions dont count the offset correctly.

Lets hope the new BIOS versions will come soon and fix many of these issues smile.gif

AlphaC 03-21-2017 05:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkstalker420 View Post

Thanks for this "heads up". This is the MoBo i will probably be purchasing later this year for my RyZen 1700 build. How often does it "forget" your SATA drives? (this is slightly bothersome imho). Also any other BIOS quirks? Have tried to clock the 1700X? if so was it "easy" or did you have to fight the MoBo (settings wise) for the OC?

Any other day to day probs you could share would be great. Also can you adjust the REFClock or is it just multiplier only? and also when you look at CPU-Z (or similar) is the REFClock 100Mhz or something silly like 99.8Mhz. Thanks for the thread will help me out for sure. As i keep my rigs for years (look at sig! biggrin.gif ) and don't want to buy a cranky/fussy MoBo i will be fighting all the way.

Thanx.

X370 Prime Pro doesn't have a bclk modifier

Also as per the QVL (http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/SocketAM4/PRIME_X370-PRO/PRIME_X370-PRO_Memory_QVL.pdf) the only kit running > 2666MHz is the CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 16GB(2*8GB) and that's with 18-19-19-39 timings

There's another kit from Galaxy HOF4CALCS3600K17LD162C but I don't think it's readily available.

insonator 03-22-2017 06:47 AM

I took a chance with the F4-3200C16D-16GVKB, was able to run at 2933MHz out of the rated 3200MHz

Much cheaper than the Trident equivalent (wish I had the C14D though)

- inso

Malogeek 03-22-2017 11:49 AM

Figured I'd join here to discuss the motherboard and the issues with it as well.

Immediately flashed it to 0504 when I got in and I had bought Corsair LPX 3000 like many did, which of course doesn't like going over 2400, barely that at decent times. I just swapped out that for TridentZ F4-3200C16D-16GTZB which I'm running fine at 2933 16-18-18-38. It would not post at 3200 but very few seem to be able to achieve over 2933 yet on any board.

Having an issue as well with my primary RD400 NVMe drive no detected on basically every reboot. It requires a cold start to detect, however reading above maybe it's to do with my 2nd SATA SSD on SATA0? I might move it to SATA 2 or SATA4 to see if it helps.

I'm managing 3.8Ghz @1.325v with an old Arctic Freezer 13, the stock Wraith was just crap for overclocking. However, the AM4 mounting that came with it directs the setup vertical instead of horizontal so it's blowing half into my case, half into my PSU (which does have a fan thankfully). So I'll likely get a Noctua or something soon for better cooling as higher voltage just generates too much heat in Handbrake for my liking.

For those if you with Battlefield 1, this motherboard, CH6 or any other brand really (trying to see who is affected), can you check out my thread over at AT regarding audio cutouts when overclocked? Either with AI Suite or Ryzen Master, when overclocked in windows the audio is cutting out in BF1. This was tested with onboard audio or an ASUS sound card as well. It doesn't seem to have an issue when it is overclocked by the BIOS however, and it's fine when CPU is at stock. Read through my thread for details, video and testing we've done, would like to compare notes.

Checking multiple times a day for BIOS update... smile.gif


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.