Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   Newegg Hero VI combo has Corsair ram (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1630244-newegg-hero-vi-combo-has-corsair-ram.html)

Thick8 05-13-2017 11:48 AM

So I pulled the trigger on the Hero VI, 1700, and ram combo from the Egg. After reading every Ryzen review I could find, it didn't make sense to go with the 1800x. It didn't occur to me to double check the memory QVL list (that is on my desktop) for this specific memory. Has anyone bought the Newegg combo with the Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 modules yet? If so are you having any issues? I just ordered it so I can cancel if necessary.
Thanks.
John

Auxillary Field 05-13-2017 03:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thick8 View Post

So I pulled the trigger on the Hero VI, 1700, and ram combo from the Egg. After reading every Ryzen review I could find, it didn't make sense to go with the 1800x. It didn't occur to me to double check the memory QVL list (that is on my desktop) for this specific memory. Has anyone bought the Newegg combo with the Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 modules yet? If so are you having any issues? I just ordered it so I can cancel if necessary.
Thanks.
John

Not sure if that ram is on the QVL, but I've been using exactly this combo (not through newegg though) since march and it works great for me. My ram runs at 2933MHz and I've also been able to OC it to 3200MHz with the newer BIOSes.

Thick8 05-13-2017 05:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auxillary Field View Post

Not sure if that ram is on the QVL, but I've been using exactly this combo (not through newegg though) since march and it works great for me. My ram runs at 2933MHz and I've also been able to OC it to 3200MHz with the newer BIOSes.
What clock speed are you running the Ryzen at?

Thick8 05-27-2017 05:23 AM

This thing is easy to OC. running the CPU @ 4.0Ghz and the Memory @ 2933 with just a few changes in the BIOS. I need to exchange the board though as the CPU temperature reading is below ambient temperature which is impossible.

The Stilt 05-27-2017 07:43 AM

You can (and should) wipe your ass with the QVL list.
Most of the DRAM manufacturers change the ICs used in the modules between the batches (i.e. use whatever meets the specs and is the cheapest / most convinient at the time), which renders the QVL useless anyway.

Corsair 3000C15 is usually Hynix AFR, which is not exactly the best option for Ryzen.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.