Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Intel CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/)
-   -   How To : Overclocking Dual Xeon Dell Precision T7500 (https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/1643221-how-overclocking-dual-xeon-dell-precision-t7500.html)

chris89 12-01-2017 02:22 PM






Finally managed to break 5,000 points Time Spy using SetFSB... It's that PCIe Frequency that yields higher CPU Physics & Frames Per Second.
Onboard SATA cuts out so I am using 2x PCIe SATA Adapters to bypass BSOD, but if you use Onboard SATA it will BSOD. Need PCIe SATA.





chris89 12-10-2017 12:55 AM

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfjHkc1HNf5lkzzfUaD6-Uw?view_as=subscriber

chris89 12-10-2017 01:39 AM


Retrorockit 12-15-2017 07:01 PM

I'm into overclocking old Dells. I've got a couple workstations but I haven't run them yet.
T3400 QX9650, and t3500 W3690. I want to do a T7400 also. I'm gathering parts for it now. 2x X5470s. i couldn't find any support for the PLL chip on that one.
I really like what you're doing. I assume that OC is on stock voltage? My preferred technique is unlocked CPUs with Throttlestop software to control multiplier and Voltage. Although the T7400 will be BSEL and VID pinmods. The2006 Dell Dimension E520 in my sig. shows what this method can do. I sent a link from here to a guy at Tomshardware who is trying to get a W3690 to work in a T7500.
Keep up the good work.thumb.gif

Retrorockit 12-16-2017 06:49 PM

Do you have any BIOS issues with the R390? From R9-3xx/285 on up VESA mode 103 won't display and keeps you out of the BIOS screen. Did you have that? Did you find a fix? 1 guy said MSI afterburner fixed it. I know the T3400 have it. I think the 3500 too.

chris89 12-17-2017 07:51 PM



Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post

I'm into overclocking old Dells. I've got a couple workstations but I haven't run them yet.
T3400 QX9650, and t3500 W3690. I want to do a T7400 also. I'm gathering parts for it now. 2x X5470s. i couldn't find any support for the PLL chip on that one.
I really like what you're doing. I assume that OC is on stock voltage? My preferred technique is unlocked CPUs with Throttlestop software to control multiplier and Voltage. Although the T7400 will be BSEL and VID pinmods. The2006 Dell Dimension E520 in my sig. shows what this method can do. I sent a link from here to a guy at Tomshardware who is trying to get a W3690 to work in a T7500.
Keep up the good work.thumb.gif

Nice. I would look for ICS chip on the board if you can find it? Yeah it cut out the Integrated SATA so I use PCIe SATA cards for all my drives while overclocked & everything works fine... So keep that in mind the Onboard SATA cuts out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post

Do you have any BIOS issues with the R390? From R9-3xx/285 on up VESA mode 103 won't display and keeps you out of the BIOS screen. Did you have that? Did you find a fix? 1 guy said MSI afterburner fixed it. I know the T3400 have it. I think the 3500 too.

VESA mode 103? I'm not sure what that is... The AMD R9 390X won't support BIOS Post over Displayport 1.2 to hdmi 2.0 for 4k 60hz but works over HDMI alone so that's strange...

BIOS Modding the 390x is a breeze using Hawaii Bios Reader & ATIWinFlash v277

Post pictures of your build thumb.gif

Retrorockit 12-17-2017 08:36 PM

The PLL on the T3400 is known and shared with some Optiplexes, SetFSB support is good but QX9650 runs anyway.. The T7400 (MB is all I have) has a PLL that starts with 8. There are none listed like that. Maybe one will read correctly by trial and error. I have another option there anyway, The 7400 supports 400fsb so
tape modded X5470(s) should go 4GHz.. The PLL isn't needed on the T3500 because it's an unlocked CPU, so multiplier overclocking is the method there too.

The VESA 103 issue aka Code 43 occurs because the Dell BIOS requires that resolution 800x600 16 bit color I think. AMD cards GCN3 and up don't provide it. T3400/7400 has it. Just about all other Dells too. It sure would be nice if the T3500 didn't. I have 2x R9-285s that I would like to run together. But your T7500 can display the BIOS screen with an R9-3xx card? That's great. If you go to userbenchmark.com and look up just about any Optiplex you will see only Nvidia cards because of this. You definitely dodged a bullet there. Maybe a different BIOS vendor.

chris89 12-17-2017 09:48 PM

It looks like your ICS is I can't quite tell but if you can take a nice focus picture with your phone? would help

On the Bottom Line it says I think is the same one as the T7500 ICS 932S421BGLF I think.. I know it says 932S421BGLF

setfsb_2_2_134_98.zip 218k .zip file



Retrorockit 12-18-2017 07:18 PM

OK I wasn't focusing on the PLL before. I wanted an adjustable voltage regulation mod. I was loooking at the VRM controller.The PLL number is
932S421BGLF
No trouble finding the datasheet either, not that it does ME much good.
This is the T7400. i wasn't sure which of the 3 workstations you were asking for until I saw the photo.

Retrorockit 12-20-2017 11:19 AM

I see it's the same PLL as your T7500.
FWIW the problem I ran into spoofing the VRM was the resistor that's supposed to be measured at pin 4 of the VRM controller was in a parallel circuit with some other components and I was getting M Ohm readings that didn't make sense for the mod I wanted. I've never done the VRM mod before so I'm going to try it on a Dimension E520 where it seems more straight forward. There I got consistent reading in the .925 Ohm range that I could work with. Both VRM chips had the same number but one suffix letter added on the T7400. I'm a retired truck mechanic so electronics is strictly learn as you go for me.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.