Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Coding and Programming (https://www.overclock.net/forum/142-coding-programming/)
-   -   Jaded with work not sure what to do. (https://www.overclock.net/forum/142-coding-programming/1647713-jaded-work-not-sure-what-do.html)

Mrzev 01-24-2018 07:51 AM

Jaded with work not sure what to do.

I've been a developer for almost 10 years now, projects in 15 or so different languages... but nothing feels like a challenge anymore. I'm not an expert by any means, I am a very quick learner, and can always get things done quick. The only way i really feel challenged is when I have a 24 hour deadline and challenge myself on how much i can get done before the presentation or whatever. Everything is just time consuming and tedious. It's all just the same thing over and over. Even with new things like, I've never programatically sent an email using azure Active Directory for the credentials... 20 minutes of googling and tada there is the answer. There are rare exceptions like creating some prototypes for the HoloLens or building a tracking system from the ground up... but those dont happen often.

I am at a loss for what to do. I am very successful, but I am bored... not at the point of unhappy, but... i just dont know. Every year I debate on quitting my job and developing a videogame, but i fear i would get bored of that too...

Sorry for the rant, any advice or insight would be cool.

Quantum Reality 01-24-2018 07:58 AM

Honestly, I wish I had your repertoire of skills. Talking to people who work miracles with their webdev skills makes me feel like such a chump for majoring in Chemistry instead. :p (especially as I'm now confronted with the need to try and transfer my soft skills outside of just my field.)

All that said, I wish you the best of luck in your future! :specool:

specialedge 01-24-2018 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mrzev (Post 26575209)