Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Monitors and Displays (https://www.overclock.net/forum/44-monitors-displays/)
-   -   Gaming at 1366x768? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/44-monitors-displays/1715698-gaming-1366x768.html)

trivium91 12-11-2018 10:01 AM

Gaming at 1366x768?
 
Hi Guys

I usually game at 1080P on a 24" monitor with a GTX 1070, trying to setup moonlight to stream games to my laptop which is an older A10-4600M with a 15.6" screen... im wondering how it will look on the screen. Theoretically the pixels per inch are about the same from 1080P at 24", so it should look similiar or am i missing something else? I haven't really gamed much since i got married as i dont want to be absent from the wife...even if she is just reading in bed. At least this way i would be next to her.

paulerxx 12-11-2018 10:11 AM

If it's running at least the screen's native resolution it should look fine. I wouldn't worry about it too much.

trivium91 12-11-2018 01:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulerxx (Post 27755464)
If it's running at least the screen's native resolution it should look fine. I wouldn't worry about it too much.

so just got it configured, it looks decent but for some reason when moonlight is selected to run at the native res, when i manually select the game to tun at 1080P..it looks noticeably better...actually to the point where you would not notice the difference between that and running 24" 1080P. Maybe its basically supersampling? or similiar to AA?

The Pook 12-11-2018 01:11 PM

That's nothing new. Higher resolutions don't need as much AA as lower ones. Running above native res is essentially DSR ... both of these final images are at 1080p, but the one rendered with DSR at the higher res doesn't need AA.

https://www.gamersnexus.net/images/m.../980-dsr-1.jpg

I wasn't happy at 1080p without at least 4x AA in most games, but at 1440p 2x or even FXAA (depending on the game) is plenty.

trivium91 12-12-2018 07:22 AM

Not sure far cry 4 will allow DSR the only reason its allowing me to play 1080P is because its my desktop native resolution, so i would have to likely enable it in the nvidia control panel.. Never really played around with it though usually i just used AA on the desktop.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.