Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   NVIDIA Drivers and Overclocking Software (https://www.overclock.net/forum/71-nvidia-drivers-overclocking-software/)
-   -   Gigabyte 980Ti - red lines on the screen/failing (https://www.overclock.net/forum/71-nvidia-drivers-overclocking-software/1716542-gigabyte-980ti-red-lines-screen-failing.html)

viragon 12-22-2018 04:22 PM

Gigabyte 980Ti - red lines on the screen/failing
 
I have a Gigabyte Geforce 980 Ti, today while I was playing with, it began to show red lines across the screen, if I reboot my PC same thing occurs. From what I searched on the web the card might be dead, if I boot my PC into safe mode for example (without nvidia drivers) the display works. Anything I might try to do to fix/save the card? I already tried reseating the card in the slot and reinstalling most updated geforce drivers. I am only able to use the card without nvdia drivers.

Laithan 12-23-2018 03:01 PM

Just to be clear, have you let the GPU cool down? Have you check overclocking settings? The most likely issue is due to memory overclocking. Make sure your memory is running @ stock speeds (sometimes your memory speeds can get stuck, verify them with GPU-z). Turn off "Apply overclock @ startup" and test. The next most likely cause is overheating. If the issues goes away when the GPU cools down you'll know but it sort of doesn't sound like heat. Lastly, sometimes the thermal paste applied from the factory gets dry and needs to be replaced. Easy fix, but it can be intimidating to anyone that hasn't cracked open a GPU before. Just be sure to use something like Kryonaut that isn't electrically conductive.

Good luck!

viragon 01-02-2019 01:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Laithan (Post 27773178)
Just to be clear, have you let the GPU cool down? Have you check overclocking settings? The most likely issue is due to memory overclocking. Make sure your memory is running @ stock speeds (sometimes your memory speeds can get stuck, verify them with GPU-z). Turn off "Apply overclock @ startup" and test. The next most likely cause is overheating. If the issues goes away when the GPU cools down you'll know but it sort of doesn't sound like heat. Lastly, sometimes the thermal paste applied from the factory gets dry and needs to be replaced. Easy fix, but it can be intimidating to anyone that hasn't cracked open a GPU before. Just be sure to use something like Kryonaut that isn't electrically conductive.

Good luck!

Thanks for the reply, I did not have thermal paste, but I did end up buying TG Kryonaut. I replaced the thermal paste and also a damaged thermal pad due to cooler removal. I also tried switching between PCI-E slots without success. I noticed that when I turn on the PC from a cold state the screen appears quickly, but when I try to reboot the PC, the video card LEDs and the screen takes longer to switch on. I have a photo of how the screen appears after NVIDIA drivers are loaded up on Windows or even when I boot up from Linux Mint.

Laithan 01-02-2019 08:09 PM

Oh wow, that's far worse than I had pictured in my head.

You mentioned the GPU works as long as the driver isn't loaded. I have seen some strange things happen. There is still a possibility this is a just a software issue. I have seen GPU overclocking profiles/conflicting apps that both manage the GPU loading @ startup that kill the display as soon as it boots. Can you boot into safe mode and remove all GPU overclocking apps. If they ask if you want to remove all settings make sure you remove them, that's the main fix right there. Use MSCONFIG to control what is starting up and clean house.

If it still doesn't work then you may just have a corrupt driver. At this point you should probably give DDU a try. Download the latest display driver uninstaller and I would recommend running it in safe mode.

After that process is done you should be able to just download and install the latest NVIDIA driver again.

If all that fails then you might indeed have a bad GPU however the very last check is to install the GPU in another computer as a test. It is easy and quick enough to try.

Good luck!

bmgjet 01-02-2019 08:33 PM

If as above doesnt work and temps are showing fine in gpu-z.
RMA it if it still has warranty.
Other wise you can try so different bios on it or underclocking.
Back when I had my 980ti's they would show same red dots when memory was unstable.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.