Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Intel - General (https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-intel-general/)
-   -   When overclocking I'm having to set voltage high but temps are still low... (https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-intel-general/1718146-when-overclocking-im-having-set-voltage-high-but-temps-still-low.html)

phalkore 01-12-2019 04:26 PM

When overclocking I'm having to set voltage high but temps are still low...

First time posting so I hope I'm doing this right...

So I'm new to overclocking and just playing around with a few basic settings at the moment (basically multiplier and vcore).
So my issue is, lets say I set my Vcore at 1.35v and my clock at 5ghz then run either Prime95 or Aida64 my temps stay below 70c but I BSOD. Then I up the Vcore to 1.375 and keep the 5ghz. When I stress again it goes longer and my temps hover around 70c to 73c and again BSOD.
So what I'm confused about is I was under the impression that more Vcore means higher temps and from everything I've seen high temps are always the problem before voltage.
So because my temps are so low I thought I would have some more OC headroom, but voltage is definitely winning the race.
Am I missing something?
Thanks in advance, any info is appreciated!!

My build just in case:
Aorus Z390 Ultra
Noctura D-15
Corsair DDR4 3200
MSI 1070ti gaming
EVGA 750 psu

bmgjet 01-12-2019 04:43 PM

Iv always stopped because of voltage before temps. But I run custom loop.

ThrashZone 01-12-2019 05:07 PM

Hi,
If you're BSOD'ing what's the difference you're not stable might be able to use 1.3v :)
Probably avx offset needs some if you didn't disable avx in prime95
Using avx offset drops the clock from 5.0 to which ever offset is used to maybe stabilize with a clock drop 1-2-3-..

shilka 01-13-2019 12:08 AM

Please name the model of your EVGA PSU and not just the brand and wattage

jfriend00 01-14-2019 09:01 PM

Quote: