Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Power Supplies (https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-power-supplies/)
-   -   PSU with single-multi rail switch: what happens if toggled while PC running (on max load)? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-power-supplies/1719468-psu-single-multi-rail-switch-what-happens-if-toggled-while-pc-running-max-load.html)

pulverizor 01-29-2019 05:05 PM

PSU with single-multi rail switch: what happens if toggled while PC running (on max load)?
 
all in the question

I'm like REALLY curious cause I've got that switch on my Corsair which been set to single rail (I know multi is safer but w/e) and I wanna know, what happens if that switch is accidentally pressed while PC is running?

(say while tinkering inside the PC while it's on)

more so if PC is running at heavy load say Prime95+Furmark?

what's the worse that can happen? physically damage to PSU and/or PC components?
or just software symptoms (BSOD)?

no one on the web asked that question before yet it seems important so here it is

The Pook 01-29-2019 05:16 PM

if the PSU is any good it'll shut off.

white owl 01-29-2019 05:18 PM

Multi rail isn't safer...good PSUs are safer than bad ones.

Try it and see then let us know.

pulverizor 01-29-2019 05:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by white owl (Post 27830724)
Try it and see then let us know.

lol

so you saying it's dangerous? +_+ (question is what can happen?)

white owl 01-29-2019 05:30 PM

No I'm saying it's perfectly safe and you should try it.
I switch my PSU from 110 to 220 all the time, works great. 9/10, will try again.

pulverizor 01-29-2019 05:45 PM

lol hey how can I know I'm no PSU techie especially complex stuff like "rails" & what not it's just that when I opened the case to tinker a bit with the case fans (had to keep pc running to test change of airflow under different setups) and by less then an inch I nearly hit that switch

so what's the worse that could've happened?


edit> also now that you mention it same question with the 110V/220V switch (though mine doesn't have one) what can happen if its accidentally pressed while running


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.