Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/)
-   -   2700x Crosshair VII Hero Overclocking (https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-amd-motherboards/1720088-2700x-crosshair-vii-hero-overclocking.html)

theocurtis 02-07-2019 02:39 PM

2700x Crosshair VII Hero Overclocking
 
Hi everyone, just made the move from my FX8350 to a R2700x, finally, and wow...
PC specs:
ASUS Crosshair VII hero [1201BIOS]
Ryzen 2700x Custom WC
16GB Hyperx Predator @[email protected] 18 18 39 85
EVGA GTX 980ti Kraken g12 WC

I have been doing some tweeking, watching videos, and reading forums, and am finally @3.7ghz that boosts to 4.2ghz, i think...
when i am not gaming it seems to idle at 4.14ghz, i think.. so not the 3.7 it says in task manager
See i would like the same as with my FX that on idle it was low core and voltage, and on demand power. Still scratching my head.
Also i knew the HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit wouldnt work at the stated 4000mhz but can't go any higher then 3600.
Any tips are welcome as i am new to ryzen.

nick name 02-07-2019 03:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by theocurtis (Post 27843376)
Hi everyone, just made the move from my FX8350 to a R2700x, finally, and wow...
PC specs:
ASUS Crosshair VII hero [1201BIOS]
Ryzen 2700x Custom WC
16GB Hyperx Predator @[email protected] 18 18 39 85
EVGA GTX 980ti Kraken g12 WC

I have been doing some tweeking, watching videos, and reading forums, and am finally @3.7ghz that boosts to 4.2ghz, i think...
when i am not gaming it seems to idle at 4.14ghz, i think.. so not the 3.7 it says in task manager
See i would like the same as with my FX that on idle it was low core and voltage, and on demand power. Still scratching my head.
Also i knew the HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit wouldnt work at the stated 4000mhz but can't go any higher then 3600.
Any tips are welcome as i am new to ryzen.

- In Windows power plan you'll need to make certain Minimum Processor State is set to a value below 50%. If you don't then the CPU can't go through all its p-states. You can use whichever Windows power plan you'd like.
- Set Performance Bias in BIOS to anything. It optimizes CPU cache and anything is better than nothing.
- Performance Enhancer Level 3 and Level 4 will lock the multiplier and it will not downclock. It's a PBO overclock. Performance Enhancer Level 1 or Level 2 is regular PBO. Any of these will allow the CPU to reach all it's speeds as long as you have Minimum Processor State in Windows power plan to below 50%.
- If you set a manual VCORE voltage then the CPU will behaved as overclocked and will not reach all its speeds. You have to use an offset positive or negative.
- Find the 1usmus DRAM Calculator for Ryzen. Some folks can do 3600MHz with 14-14-14-14 timings while many more have to use 3600MHz 14-15-14-14. Some can get 3666MHz stable with reasonable voltages and very few 3733MHz.
- Get into the Crosshair VII forum.

theocurtis 02-21-2019 04:15 AM

6 Attachment(s)
Hi, thank you for replying so quick, and sorry i hadn't replyied. I have Been trying to get this thing stable it a nightmare, sometimes i can play for hours, and then sometimes it crashes on desktop. thought it might have been my 5y old PSU so i replaced it. but nope.... I have up to date drivers, bios, windows...
Windows is on a custom power plan with minimum @ 5%
and apart from the changes on the images all the rest is on auto..

theocurtis 02-21-2019 08:16 AM

See could it be my RAM? I have been trying to run it @ 3600 at stock voltage 1.35v, now that might be low compared to the 1.44v that 1usmus 3600 settings for my stick, but i was under the impression that HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit was [email protected] so @3600 should be the same maybe less no?

theocurtis 02-21-2019 08:25 AM

https://imgur.com/a/NoenVpj

rdr09 02-21-2019 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by theocurtis (Post 27862604)
See could it be my RAM? I have been trying to run it @ 3600 at stock voltage 1.35v, now that might be low compared to the 1.44v that 1usmus 3600 settings for my stick, but i was under the impression that HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit was [email protected] so @3600 should be the same maybe less no?

Looking at those BIOS settings, i noticed you set TPUII and then made more changes after. Never tried that way. To my understanding TPU allows for auto oc'ing, so all other settings for the cpu should be left alone. Now, the ram i guess can be adjusted either DOCP or using the calculator. I'd recommend the latter for 3600 MHz up. Try DOCP for 3200-3466 @ 1.35V.

specialedge 02-22-2019 09:20 AM

I have f4-3600c16d-16gtzr b-die kit and I have to reduce my memory frequency to 3533 from the docp 3600 to run stable at 16-16-16-16-36 docp timings.

I have the 4266cl19 trident royal b-die kit and it is unable to run the above timings at 3600. Best I was able to run it on my imc was 3400 with cl14 timings.

CPU is 2700x/c7h with soc at 1.125v, vdram at 1.425v. I will be trying out nick name's tightened timings from above this weekend. I am more hopeful about the 3600 kit on my ryzen than the 4266 kit, looking to build a 9900k to try and maximize the faster kit freqs.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

theocurtis 02-24-2019 01:19 PM

1 Attachment(s)
So i put everything at stock, xmp profile for 3600, and i get these errors, could this be the culprit?

majestynl 02-25-2019 01:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by theocurtis (Post 27867338)
So i put everything at stock, xmp profile for 3600, and i get these errors, could this be the culprit?

I bet your main problem for not being fully stable is your RAM OC! Running 3600 needs a lot of fiddle and then still it isn't 100% stable! Believe me, i have weeks/months of test-results with more then 6 ramkits.
I can run several Ramtest with +10K% success stability test and still getting random issues.
For daily use i recommend not going above 3466/3533mhz on RAM OC. If you want zero issues, then just select 3466 + 14 14 14 14 28 42 (1.4v) and leave your sub timings till you know you are 100% stable with base RAM OC.

theocurtis 02-27-2019 02:39 AM

Small but big question, my RAM is rated [email protected] i should never go above that when underclocking? No?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.