Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   NVIDIA (https://www.overclock.net/forum/69-nvidia/)
-   -   GTX 1080 Ti, Windows wont load on Display port. Will go past BIOS/load with HDMI only (https://www.overclock.net/forum/69-nvidia/1721220-gtx-1080-ti-windows-wont-load-display-port-will-go-past-bios-load-hdmi-only.html)

junglechocolate 02-23-2019 03:37 PM

GTX 1080 Ti, Windows wont load on Display port. Will go past BIOS/load with HDMI only
 
Weird issue and it seems I am not the only one. I am using the 417 driver but this is not the issue. THis issue has been around since the 35X drivers.

Basically at boot my screen will post BIOS if connected to DP but after that it won't get me to the Windows loading screen

I have no issues if I plug my monitor directly into the HDMI port.

I have two screens and the second screen is a TV which only has HDMI. I'd rather not have to reach around my computer everytime I need to restart it

mark_thaddeus 02-23-2019 05:02 PM

2 things to think about.

1. Defective DP port - Did you buy your card new? Why didn't you do an RMA when this issue first came up?
2. Re-flash a bios to the card - This happened to an old Nvidia card I had and I flashed it (from techpowerup) and it solved the problem.

The old card that had the DP problem for me was a HOF 780 Ti card, same issue with the DP port. It would work in some instances and wouldn't work in some cases when booting. I flashed a new BIOS and it solved my issue.

My 1080 ti currently doesn't have this issue. What I do notice that happens, once in a blue moon, is my PC will not wake from sleep properly and I have to plug and unplug the monitor for my monitor to wake up. It hasn't happened in the last 4 months, but it has happened.

junglechocolate 02-23-2019 05:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mark_thaddeus (Post 27866184)
2 things to think about.

1. Defective DP port - Did you buy your card new? Why didn't you do an RMA when this issue first came up?
2. Re-flash a bios to the card - This happened to an old Nvidia card I had and I flashed a stock bios (from techpowerup) and it solved the porblem.

Nah. So every port works once I am booted into windows. However before the windows loads, Only HDMI. THis is not a prblem exclusive to me. Many people have this issue. It would appear that this is something to do with Nvidia boot priority and the fact that I have a legacy bios not UEFI.

mark_thaddeus 02-23-2019 05:11 PM

So the issue is the legacy bios, have you tried contacting your mobo manufacturer for an updated bios? I haven't had this issue with Asus since they have UEFI bios. I thought most manufacturer's had already pushed out UEFI to all their boards.

mark_thaddeus 02-23-2019 05:15 PM

Can you set your board to disable CSM (Compatibility Support Module)? In the EVGA forums, this helped a lot of users. Not sure if legacy bios has this option on your board though.

The Pook 02-23-2019 05:24 PM

My computer often switches the default monitor when I boot, sometimes it's on my 1440p main, sometimes it switches without reason to my 1080p - but once I get to Windows login it goes to my 1440p 100% of the time.

No idea on a fix, though. I played with the default BIOS and XOC BIOS and it had the same issues. Maybe it's just a 1080 Ti quirk?

Good luck figuring something out, I'd be sad if I had to fiddle with cables to fix my issues :laughings

junglechocolate 02-23-2019 05:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mark_thaddeus (Post 27866208)
Can you set your board to disable CSM (Compatibility Support Module)? In the EVGA forums, this helped a lot of users. Not sure if legacy bios has this option on your board though.

Yeah I checked and there is no such option. It would appear that option is only available to systems with UEFI bios. My Asrock Extreme 3 X58 is not a mainstay like EVGA or ASUS. I didn;t see anything about UEFI for it

What I am now considering is if I should run MBR2GPT to change my Windows to UEFI mode but I feel like that would either not work since I am in legacy BIOS or it would work but it wouldn';t matter since my BIOS won't have the option for CSM support

I just DDU'd my card. Even in safe mode, Windows won't boot through the DP port. It had to go through HDMI. And even with DDU and removing all Nvidia drivers, it still would only load into WIndows via HDMI. Its seems an architecure thing as once agian I can see my bios via DP but nothing past that once Windows is involved

junglechocolate 02-23-2019 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pook (Post 27866216)
My computer often switches the default monitor when I boot, sometimes it's on my 1440p main, sometimes it switches without reason to my 1080p - but once I get to Windows login it goes to my 1440p 100% of the time.

No idea on a fix, though. I played with the default BIOS and XOC BIOS and it had the same issues. Maybe it's just a 1080 Ti quirk?

Good luck figuring something out, I'd be sad if I had to fiddle with cables to fix my issues :laughings

Only other solution is getting a DP to HDMI or DP to DVI cable but the later from what I can see has a 1080p limit. I do have an older Korean IPS I can use but its not ideal since it only has one DVI input

junglechocolate 02-23-2019 05:59 PM

And sure enough, despite not being the main display, my Korean DVI monitor was the one that loaded into Windows. Seeems everybody wants me to move on from X58

rluker5 02-23-2019 06:30 PM

That's not too bad. My Aorus Waterforce 1080tis don't even put out a display signal under legacy bios. Which my Z97 mobo defaults to with a fresh bios flash or bios reset. It's the main reason I have my old gt730 sitting in there as a PhysX card. And yes, the 1080tis have a stock vbios (but not the 730 :) )
My nvme pcie optane os drive also doesn't work under legacy bios. The pcie soundcard out of a mpcie/msata to pcie adapter is fine with it though.

You could set your displays to duplicate in windows display settings, try that, then change the primary (1) display. Not the best chance of working, but is free to try and has worked for me.

Maybe you are lucky and have a different hdmi input in your tv that stays real dead unless it is on and you could switch to that and turn on the hdmi after login? Or maybe you have one of those hdmi switches that you could put somewhere convenient and disconnect the signal? I'm assuming that the problem is solved if the hdmi is unplugged from the tv here.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.