Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/)
-   -   FX 8350 + GA 990fxa ud5 unable to OC (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/1721818-fx-8350-ga-990fxa-ud5-unable-oc.html)

kiyu84 03-03-2019 08:32 PM

FX 8350 + GA 990fxa ud5 unable to OC
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hi guys,

I am new in this oc world.

Configuration FX 8350
Gigabyte GA-990FXA - UD5 (rev.1x)

Memory 1333 mhz ( I was able to oc to 1600mhz) with my previous 1090t but now doesn't seem to be working.

The revision of the mother is quite old, so I think the options are only a few.

I tried to play around with Vcore and ddr voltage, also with the multiplier but nothing seems to be working..

Change the cpu frequency.
the faster speed I could get was 4350, after 40 second of prime95 blue screen...

I never increase the voltage more than 1.4375 ( as I read that more than 1.45 could be dangerous)
but I read a lot of comments mentioning that FX 8350 is super easy to get 4400 / 4500 without any problem.

Could you please guys help me out a bit, which options do you believe I should modify.

here a couple of screenshots of my bios.

Thanks!
to be honest, I am a bit frustrating I thought it was going to be easier.., but well I saw a couple of videos on youtube, they are some options that I don't see on my bios

kiyu84 03-03-2019 08:34 PM

I forgot, every time I tried to put the memory in Manual, multiplier x8 to reach 1600, the system didn't boot, and automatically rollback to 1333...

kiyu84 03-03-2019 08:44 PM

2 Attachment(s)
another problem,
if I leave everything auto

speed is 4126 (no 4200) ..

other options from bios, that not sure if I should disable it or not.

kiyu84 03-04-2019 07:49 AM

hmm anyone?

kiyu84 03-05-2019 09:36 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I was able to reach 4529 but not stable, after 5 min got some errors
no I reduced the multiplier reached 4328 stable, been playing Pubg for hours and all good
but temps are not as good as I expected reached 57C

so not sure if would be safe to go beyond 4400mhz..

bmgjet 03-05-2019 09:43 PM

The UD3 and UD5 1.0 was really trash mobos since they got massive vdrop.
Well both mine did.

With a sabertooth 2.0 mine did 4.8ghz on 1.55v and 5ghz on 1.64v.

You really need a better cooler, On 5ghz I was hitting 58C on custom water loop. 1.45v really is nothing for a FX chip when factory the higher clocked ones come stock at 1.55v

herericc 03-06-2019 11:17 AM

I had a UD3 and the issue it had was the VRMs would overheat - it could barely supply the power my 8320 required at stock settings, nevermind OCed to 4.9GHz.

The board is garbage. The VRMs are overheating which causes your CPU to throttle back. There's nothing you can do except put a fan right on the VRMs or get a new board (at that point upgrade to ryzen though, the FX series is getting very long in the tooth.)

ltpdttcdft 03-06-2019 11:55 AM

Can you post a pic of your motherboard/cooling setup? As others have said, cooling the VRM is important. Put a 70mm fan (such as the fan from the stock cooler) or two on it.

Does the BIOS give you LLC options? Usually Gigabyte does best with Medium LLC. Actually I think you should make sure you have the latest BIOS first. BIOS update download page for UD5 rev. 1.x:
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...upport-dl-bios

cssorkinman 03-06-2019 02:09 PM

My 990 UD5 is a brutish board ( rev 5 I believe) hardware wise but has a pretty awful bios. Gigabytes software OC utility is about the worst I've seen.


Be sure to be running the latest bios as it will give the best Vishera support.

Board shouldn't hold the chip below 4.7 ghz , cooling , power or settings will.

I made the 24/7 5 ghz club with mine pushing a FX 9370 @ 1.6 volts.

kiyu84 03-07-2019 09:49 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by ltpdttcdft (Post 27880788)
Can you post a pic of your motherboard/cooling setup? As others have said, cooling the VRM is important. Put a 70mm fan (such as the fan from the stock cooler) or two on it.

Does the BIOS give you LLC options? Usually Gigabyte does best with Medium LLC. Actually I think you should make sure you have the latest BIOS first. BIOS update download page for UD5 rev. 1.x:
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...upport-dl-bios

Hi
no there is no LLC option at rev. 1.x unfortunately

I was able to reach 4350 mhz, but on bios the Vcore 1.52 , then for some reason on windows that's 1.44v , but according to CPU z most of the time is just 1.40v from time to time reached 1.44 but not more than that.

Yes I agreed that this mobo is not the best.

Cooling system for the CPU is ThermalRight TRUE 120+ 120 cooler (70 cfm air flow)... as I only have 2 (90 mm) coolers inside the case I removed the left door


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.