Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD (https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-amd/)
-   -   RX 580 Mining Cards Worth? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-amd/1722078-rx-580-mining-cards-worth.html)

YumBlin 03-07-2019 10:12 AM

RX 580 Mining Cards Worth?

I'm making my first build using parts from my uncle kind of special. The motherboard is an ASUS M5A97 R2.0 and it has some nice blue accents, including the heat sinks. I really want a Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 SE to go along with the blue, but I think $260-290 is a bit much. I've seen used mining cards for $150-190 that at least at first glance look to be in good condition. However, I am not experienced in how cryptocurrency mining affects a GPU, so could someone tell me why or why not it would be a good idea to get one of these?

TheHorse 03-07-2019 10:14 AM

Mining is never worth it, you're also being a dick by ruining video card supply.

tl;dr don't do it.

YumBlin 03-07-2019 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheHorse (Post 27882134)
Mining is never worth it, you're also being a dick by ruining video card supply.

tl;dr don't do it.

Sorry not sure if you read my post fully. I’m wondering if a card previously used for mining is worth getting for the reduced price. I will not be doing any mining myself, I will be gaming on it.

TheHorse 03-07-2019 11:03 AM

I mean I read your post but it never clarified that you weren't going to use it for mining.

Some people will tell you video cards used for mining are perfectly fine and I disagree completely.