Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Intel - General (https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-intel-general/)
-   -   New Build for Day Trading / Gaming (https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-intel-general/1722718-new-build-day-trading-gaming.html)

jmoney05txst 03-17-2019 05:24 AM

New Build for Day Trading / Gaming
 
After about 6 years, its time for a new build. My last one really turned out great with everyone's input so I'm looking forward to the next build.

Last time's goal was 3d gaming which was great (but the novelty wore off pretty fast), but now I have a little different needs.

Build Purpose:

The primary purpose for this machine will be day trading, and running multi monitors. Specifically, the main monitor will be a ROG PG348q, and there will be 5 additional dell 27 inch 1440p monitors on this system (3 above, one to left and right). Secondary purpose will still be games, but only the center monitor will be used for gaming.

Proposed Parts:
CPU: Corei9 9900k
Motherboard: ROG Maximus XI hero
Memory, Vengeance LPX 32gb 4x8gb ddr4-4266
Storage: 860 evo 1tb (main), WD caviar black 2tb (long term)
Graphics: 2x EVGA RTX1080 SLI 11gb XC Hybrid Gaming
Power Supply: AX1000 Titanium

I have not tried SLI before, but if everyone thinks it would be more of a hindrance than a plus given the design purposes that would be good to know. I still would like to have insane gaming performance for quite some time again.

shilka 03-17-2019 05:37 AM

There is no RTX 1080 so you must have made a typo
As for SLI is not worth the money effort and trouble so dont bother you are much better off with a single GPU and you can pick a smaller PSU with a single GPU

white owl 03-17-2019 06:26 AM

Even if SLI was decent in most games you'd still be on a Intel-special desktop chipset starved for lanes so SLI would suffer for not having x16 per card.

Instead of buying more GPUs you'd be better off trading up every generation. I'm not really sure how to plug 6 panels into one card, it may require a smaller GPU for display only but I'm really not sure.
32gb of ram is wasted if the most demanding thing you do is game and the speed of the ram is almost pointless in anything but ram bench marking. 3200Mhz is the sweetspot and beyond 3600Mhz is where you're just lighting money on fire. Custom loops look like a good value compared to 32gb of 4000mhz+ ram.

You need a cooler.

appylol 03-18-2019 10:49 AM

Well, the 9900k is the fastest gaming CPU at the moment, but you are gonna pay a hefty premium for it. I would say that at 3440x1440 100hz you are gonna be GPU bottlenecked in 99% of games. I doubt you would feel a difference gaming compared to a x470 system with a 2700x, and that you can get significantly cheaper than the Intel bundle. Note that AMD showed a Zen2 chip at CES that beat a stock 9900k in CineBench with lower power consumption. Zen2 is gonna slot into x470 boards with a bios update.

If you are shopping in the 9900k bracket, consider that you can get Threadripper CPUs at similar and even lower price. If multi tasking, multi GPU and PCI lanes are important to you it's just something to keep in mind.

Once you have decided on a GPU its easier to recommend a CPU. the 9900k might make sense if your going for a 2080 ti as an example.

jmoney05txst 03-19-2019 03:07 AM

Thanks for the responses.

It is a typo on the card, I plan on going with the 2080. I figured SLI would not be worth the effort since I will only be using the center widescreen for gaming. However, I was under the belief I would still need two gpus for the 6 monitors since I will need 6 total displayport connections. If not using SLI, would there any problem using a cheaper graphics card for the second card? In the past I used a different card in the second slot, but it was for physx only so it wasn't an issue.

Thank you for the input on ram speed, I will adjust accordingly. I still need 32 gb of ram as the trading software is very ram intensive.

Hydroplane 03-19-2019 03:24 AM

Personally I have had very good experiences with 1080 Ti SLI. It works well in every game I play. Most of the time I feel like I'm not getting good scaling, I'll look in the task manager and find one core pegged at 100% i.e. CPU limited.

A second less powerful card can also be used for accessory monitors. (not in SLI)

Asus11 03-19-2019 03:54 AM

hmm I would of always loved to actually '' NEED'' hardware for actual work haha kudos
I always buy gear pretending I will do this or that but end up doing nothing lol

how about AMD VII card?

white owl 03-19-2019 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmoney05txst (Post 27897988)
Thanks for the responses.

It is a typo on the card, I plan on going with the 2080. I figured SLI would not be worth the effort since I will only be using the center widescreen for gaming. However, I was under the belief I would still need two gpus for the 6 monitors since I will need 6 total displayport connections. If not using SLI, would there any problem using a cheaper graphics card for the second card? In the past I used a different card in the second slot, but it was for physx only so it wasn't an issue.

Thank you for the input on ram speed, I will adjust accordingly. I still need 32 gb of ram as the trading software is very ram intensive.

If you need 32gb that's fine, you'd be surprised how many people think you need that for gaming.
You might check out your board's QVL and pick kit from that to make 100% sure that XMP will work but that's usually not a problem with 3200mhz-3400mhz ram.
Yeah you can use a much smaller GPU for output.

jmoney05txst 03-20-2019 04:10 AM

I agree. The build I have now I started at 8gb, and I jumped it to 16gb for gaming. Up until the last 2 years, I really never used it. The software I run now uses every single bit of it.

Tjj226 Angel 03-20-2019 03:42 PM

Are you really trading intra day or are your time horizons more like weekly or monthly.

What are you trading? Are you trading stocks, options, futures, ETFs, commodities, etc?

If you are trading very small time frames, then I would not use any sort of gaming machine for trading. I would be looking at building a server style machine and paying the extra amount for xeon cpus, ECC ram, and redundant power supplies.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.