Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Water Cooling (https://www.overclock.net/forum/61-water-cooling/)
-   -   Noob here, Pump Speed and temps (https://www.overclock.net/forum/61-water-cooling/1722772-noob-here-pump-speed-temps.html)

mrsarden 03-18-2019 07:52 AM

Noob here, Pump Speed and temps

2 Attachment(s)
Hi, Im new to watercooling and have just finished my first water cooling build.

Its in a Phanteks Evolv Shift and I have a few questions

What pump speed should i be running? Im running a D5 pump and right now I set the pump to run at 2600RPM. Searched online and alot says the pump speed does not matter but just wanna make sure.

And also here is what my temps look like

Idle: CPU 39c GPU 36c

Heaven benchmark: GPU 63c

Cinebench: CPU 71c

I am quite satisfied with the GPU temp but it seems my CPU is still running hot. But i have to say there is an improvement than before it was watercooled. it usually reached around 80+. I thought by reading usually the temps would be down to around 50ish if u go watercooling? Just want to ask if my temps looks ok or am i doing something wrong.

Btw here are my specs:

i7 9700k
gigabyte rtx 2080ti
asus z390i gaming
phanteks evolv shift case
watercooling parts are mostly byksi stuff
Radiators are 2 120 rads
fans are set to 1000rpm
temps inside the case is around 36ish

Thanks for any feedback.

ezveedub 03-18-2019 07:59 AM

Noob here, Pump Speed and temps

Run the pump at higher speed and see if the temps come down more. If so, then you need to increase it.

Also, two 120 rads is a bit under for a 9700K and 2080ti. Single 360 or add a 240 for a 120 IMO

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

skupples 03-18-2019 08:01 AM

do you have a flow sensor?

if not, start on the lowest setting, benchmark, note temps
repeat on consecutive settings until you see no gain from increased flow.