Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Intel CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/)
-   -   New Overclocker Here - Voltage Question! Help! (https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/1723088-new-overclocker-here-voltage-question-help.html)

spitfire6147 03-22-2019 03:52 PM

New Overclocker Here - Voltage Question! Help!
 
2 Attachment(s)
Thanks for reading this!

Setup is:
8700K OC to 4.8GHz @ 1.285v & LLC set to Turbo.
Gigabyte Aouros Z390 Gaming mobo
H100i-v2 AIO (stock Corsair paste)
32GB Gskill TridentZ
RTX2060


My question is regarding the difference between the "Core Voltage" in CPU-Z (showing 1.272v) & the PER-CORE "Core #X VID" displaying in HWiNFO (~1.336v). I don't understand why neither of them are at (under load) the 1.285v I set in BIOS & particularly why the values per core in HWiNFO are ABOVE what I set. I hope that makes sense?

I think the temps look pretty solid considering CPU-Z is hitting me with an AVX workload and I do not have it offset in BIOS.

I'm net at this, so any feedback is appreciated!

Thanks,

-B

jfriend00 03-22-2019 04:22 PM

VID is not a voltage. It's a value the CPU sends to the motherboard to "request" a voltage and that is used by the motherboard in auto, adaptive or offset voltage modes to determine what voltage the CPU wants right now. The CPU varies the VID value according to load. It's not used at all if you have a fixed, manual voltage set.

First choice for newer motherboards is to look at VR Vout (if your motherboard has that in HWiNFO64).

Second choice, look at VCore.

These last two are the actual CPU voltage being supplied. VR Vout is measured closer to the CPU package and will be more accurate if your board shows it (it's a relatively new measurement sensor).

You should think of a voltage you set in the BIOS as a "rough" knob, not an accurate knob. Turn it up a bit, then look at VR Vout/Vcore to see what voltage is actually being supplied to the CPU. Note that it will vary with load because of vdroop (the tendency for the voltage to droop a bit under higher current loads). vdroop is not entirely bad and some vdroop is required and good (it helps with voltage stability and trying to prevent any vdroop can cause voltage spikes when load suddenly changes), it's just something to understand. It can be partially controlled with the LLC setting in the BIOS. Do not pick the highest LLC setting (can cause voltage spikes).

spitfire6147 03-24-2019 12:58 AM

@jfriend00

Thank you so much!

I've been looking at VID in HWiNFO and assuming that was the actual voltage going through a particular core at a given time. Fortunately my board does have the VR Vout sensor so I'll be paying attention to that going forward.

Looks like I have more headroom than I thought!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.