Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   PC Gaming (https://www.overclock.net/forum/78-pc-gaming/)
-   -   Games freezing/locking up (https://www.overclock.net/forum/78-pc-gaming/1724360-games-freezing-locking-up.html)

speed_demon 04-15-2019 06:51 AM

Games freezing/locking up
 
Hello all, I have a recurring problem where COD Black Ops 4 will lock up for 5-8 seconds at a time, and then will return to normal. Sound still plays and I can hear people walking and shooting near me.

I originally had a ryzen 7/ R9 270X combo and am now running a ryzen 3/ GTX 1660 - But the problem happens identical with both systems.

Any thoughts?

shilka 04-15-2019 06:56 AM

Full system specs?

speed_demon 04-15-2019 07:01 AM

Ryzen 3 2200G @ Stock
ASRock B350 ITX/AC - Latest 5.5 Bios
24GB DDR4-2667 Crucial Ballistix @ Stock
EVGA GTX 1660 @ Stock
Corsair CX750M PSU
HP S700 120GB SSD (OS)/ Seagate 750GB 7200RPM HDD (Game)
Windows 10 Home - Freshly installed & updated

speed_demon 04-18-2019 10:03 AM

Played a little bit this morning and had quite a few intermittent freezes happen. Have been following my GPU frametime & CPU frametime and they are both usually right around 8 or 9. FPS is typically 150 but drops to 120 during firefights.

The freezes still happen when even when I am smoothly running at 150 FPS. It's definitely a full lock up rather than a dip in the number of frames.

speed_demon 04-22-2019 07:44 AM

The freezing issue was terrible the last two days, couldn't go more than a minute between these 8 second lock ups.

I updated the Intel network driver and the lock up problem lessened but didn't go away. Seems like there is a connection there. I'd buy a different network card and disable the onboard but I don't have any Pci slots and only have the one Pci-e slot.

After isolating everything else, I'm beginning to suspect the motherboard as the culprit.

martinhal 04-22-2019 08:42 AM

Are you overclocking your ram ? I had a similar issue when my ram goes over 3000mhz in some games .

speed_demon 04-22-2019 08:53 AM

Nope, I returned my whole system back to stock speeds.

shilka 04-22-2019 08:55 AM

The PSU you have is not all that good so do you have another one you can try?

speed_demon 04-22-2019 09:02 AM

I do. I tried an Antec NeoHE 500 and a Corsair RM 750x with no change.

shilka 04-22-2019 09:13 AM

Have you tried running tests on your drives as sometimes a dying drive can cause the sort of problems you have
Seagate Seatools is free to download or there is hard drive sentinel if you rather use that


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.