Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Mice (https://www.overclock.net/forum/375-mice/)
-   -   Progress on a fully custom mouse. (https://www.overclock.net/forum/375-mice/1724838-progress-fully-custom-mouse.html)

gipetto 04-24-2019 03:14 PM

That would be too invasive of a mod imo. it's fine if you are doing a whole pcb. I don't think zowies double click anyway due to the 5.6k mcu pullup in the Cypress line.

ltpdttcdft 04-24-2019 03:37 PM

Good start. Very nice if you could get vacuforming / deep drawing to work reliably and cheaper than 3D printing.

qsxcv 04-24-2019 09:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gipetto (Post 27943754)
I don't see any spi level converters. Are you going the voltage divider route, then running the mcu at 3.3v and hope the mcu sees the low voltage from the 3360? I once made a shell myself by using a blowlamp to melt perspex over another mouse, then a towel to press it down around it.

3360 datasheet recommends vddio between 1.8 and 3.6 so 3.3v is totally fine...

gipetto 04-25-2019 12:38 AM

It's a good tradeoff tbh, One voltage regulator taking the place of 4-5 level converters. I hope it works without issue. two external pullups for the wheel encoder would reduce bounce also.

gipetto 04-25-2019 07:11 AM

@TranquilTempest do you happen to have the ec10 footprint to share? I have a similar project on the go. I doubt i'll ever finish it though, as kicad is new to me. edit: also the 3 pin switch footprint. I'm using a 5 pin header for that lol.

TranquilTempest 04-25-2019 10:00 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by gipetto (Post 27945204)
@TranquilTempest do you happen to have the ec10 footprint to share? I have a similar project on the go. I doubt i'll ever finish it though, as kicad is new to me. edit: also the 3 pin switch footprint. I'm using a 5 pin header for that lol.

Not "official" ones, but I did make some.

The encoder footprint is a little sketchy. Couldn't figure out how to get routed slots in the footprint editor, so I used round holes. Maybe you can define plated slots somewhere else, but I haven't got that far yet. I believe pins 1 2 3 correspond to A B C, but you shouldn't trust me on that.

Switch footprint was much easier.

gipetto 04-25-2019 11:33 AM

Thanks for the help, I guess I can upload my schematic if I replace the proprietary sensor with an adns9800 or something, but it's nothing you haven't seen before. When I made my first pcb with fritzing I used 2mm holes for the sides of the ec10 encoder. I may have had to cut them down the side with a sidecutters, can't remember.

kicad only has ec11 mechanical encoders and from memory, those use the center pin as common, whereas the ec10 has an outer pin as common. I screwed up the first pcb I made, so after that I put an extra 2 mounting holes so that I could rotate the encoder 180 degrees to correct the wiring.

kicad still needs a little work, because the NO and NC pins are reversed between the spst and spdt.

TranquilTempest 04-25-2019 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gipetto (Post 27945500)
Thanks for the help, I guess I can upload my schematic if I replace the proprietary sensor with an adns9800 or something, but it's nothing you haven't seen before. When I made my first pcb with fritzing I used 2mm holes for the sides of the ec10 encoder. I may have had to cut them down the side with a sidecutters, can't remember.

kicad only has ec11 mechanical encoders and from memory, those use the center pin as common, whereas the ec10 has an outer pin as common. I screwed up the first pcb I made, so after that I put an extra 2 mounting holes so that I could rotate the encoder 180 degrees to correct the wiring.

kicad still needs a little work, because the NO and NC pins are reversed between the spst and spdt.

I used 2.1mm holes because those pins have a kink in them, but I haven't tested if that's enough clearance or not. If it's not, I can just bend the pins straight to make it work.

And yeah, it would make more sense if pin 1 was common, pin 2 was NO, and pin 3 was NC. Though instead of messing with the existing symbol I just made the footprint match the symbol.

gipetto 04-25-2019 04:28 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Good idea going for the 1.2mm hole for the microswitch pins. I used 1.25 which I found worked well. This pcb should be better than the old fritzing one because the bendpoints forced the middle click switch against the wheel. The pic is just a rough arrangement, nothing measured for the io1.1 yet. I don't think I can solder this smt mcu though. I'd love to use the alps em11b hall effect encoder, but if it is anything like the ec11 then it would hit the upper shell. maybe if it was countersunk into the wheel..

TranquilTempest 04-25-2019 05:15 PM

That encoder would make the middle click a lot more complicated though. Maybe put it on a second PCB, so that it can move up and down with the mouse wheel.

As for soldering annoying surface mount parts, QFP isn't too bad, just drag a blob across the pins then wick up the excess. With the QFN I think I'm going to solder it before anything else, by tinning the pads first, using lots of flux, and reflowing the center pad by heating the bottom of the board with a heat gun.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.