Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/)
-   -   Performance Enhancer Lv3/Lv4 doubt (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/1724842-performance-enhancer-lv3-lv4-doubt.html)

jcpq 04-24-2019 01:06 AM

Performance Enhancer Lv3/Lv4 doubt
 
Hello
I have a doubt
I have an Asus Strix B450-I and Ryzen 5 2600X
I selected performance enhancer level 3 (OC)
But now both vcore and cpu frequencies do not go down in idle, how to solve this?
I have Global C-state Control enabled
In performance enhancer level 2, c-state, it works.
With performance enhancer level 3 enabled, what power plan should I select in windows?
With performance enhancer level 3 enabled, should I have PBO enabled or auto?

BroadPwns 04-24-2019 01:41 AM

Do not use automated overclocking, do it manually.

nick name 04-24-2019 09:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroadPwns (Post 27943788)
Do not use automated overclocking, do it manually.

Dynamite drop-in.

To answer the question: You can use any power plan you'd like as long as Minimum Processor State is set to a value below 50%. The Ryzen Balanced plan sets it to 90% and is meant for first gen Ryzen and not Zen+. I use Ultimate Performance and Minimum Processor State is set to 20%.

Also make certain Core Performance Boost is set to Enabled. And you can leave PBO to Auto.

ShrimpBrime 04-24-2019 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcpq (Post 27943778)
Hello
I have a doubt
I have an Asus Strix B450-I and Ryzen 5 2600X
I selected performance enhancer level 3 (OC)
But now both vcore and cpu frequencies do not go down in idle, how to solve this?
I have Global C-state Control enabled
In performance enhancer level 2, c-state, it works.
With performance enhancer level 3 enabled, what power plan should I select in windows?
With performance enhancer level 3 enabled, should I have PBO enabled or auto?

Well that fine line between overclocking and saving power. It doesn't really go hand in hand.

So to understand power savings.....
Cpu clocks and voltage pinned at overclock while not in use, doesn't use much power, and when going idle and dropping clocks and voltage really doesn't save you that much more power to worry about it or have a need to down-clock.

BroadPwns - has it right actually. Whatever clocks and v-core Level 3 shows you in cpu-z, replicate manually. Leave C-states enabled and disabled FXR/PBO, have C-states enabled and windows power plan to balanced and the cpu will throttle down from manually set desired overclock.

nick name also is correct with minimum processor states setting of 50%, but may not work wile using performance enhancer level 3 enabled. You'll have to try it, I never use it.

Some screen shots might be helpful to get you a nice stable manual (static) overclock that may even be higher than performance enhancer level 3.

nick name 04-24-2019 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime (Post 27944554)
Well that fine line between overclocking and saving power. It doesn't really go hand in hand.

So to understand power savings.....
Cpu clocks and voltage pinned at overclock while not in use, doesn't use much power, and when going idle and dropping clocks and voltage really doesn't save you that much more power to worry about it or have a need to down-clock.

BroadPwns - has it right actually. Whatever clocks and v-core Level 3 shows you in cpu-z, replicate manually. Leave C-states enabled and disabled FXR/PBO, have C-states enabled and windows power plan to balanced and the cpu will throttle down from manually set desired overclock.

nick name also is correct with minimum processor states setting of 50%, but may not work wile using performance enhancer level 3 enabled. You'll have to try it, I never use it.

Some screen shots might be helpful to get you a nice stable manual (static) overclock that may even be higher than performance enhancer level 3.

BroadPwns doesn't have it right at all. Level 3 and Level 4 overclock PBO in a manner that is different than setting the multiplier manually. It isn't an auto overlcoking feature. The CPU will still posses its full range between full core speeds and single core speeds being higher. It isn't simply the CPU going from idle speeds to whatever CPU multiplier you wish to deploy.

ShrimpBrime 04-24-2019 08:18 PM

1 Attachment(s)
You can overclock statically and run C-states with Balanced power plan. Instead of single core jumps (which are usless while in game) the entire thread count hits desired multiplier and at idle throttles the cpu.

So yea, he doesn't have it wrong....
If you run PBO on auto.... that's "Auto overclocking" ALL cores.
Core performance boost increase clocks of individual core/thread and generally only activates a single core/thread during the overclock.

AND my point being even with a manual overclock with a locked clock and voltage would still use very little energy at idle. The Green power savings is really a funny feature. I have no idea why overclockers ever shut it off......??
Remember he's running a B450 not a CHVII like yourself....

If you use PBO and CPB, you are not overclocking anything, the board and cpu are doing it for you.......

This is static overclocking.
I'm trying to figure out why people really think they are overclocking while utilizing the features of SenseMi. lol.

nick name 04-24-2019 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime (Post 27944918)
You can overclock statically and run C-states with Balanced power plan. Instead of single core jumps (which are usless while in game) the entire thread count hits desired multiplier and at idle throttles the cpu.

So yea, he doesn't have it wrong....
If you run PBO on auto.... that's "Auto overclocking" ALL cores.
Core performance boost increase clocks of individual core/thread and generally only activates a single core/thread during the overclock.

AND my point being even with a manual overclock with a locked clock and voltage would still use very little energy at idle. The Green power savings is really a funny feature. I have no idea why overclockers ever shut it off......??
Remember he's running a B450 not a CHVII like yourself....

If you use PBO and CPB, you are not overclocking anything, the board and cpu are doing it for you.......

This is static overclocking.
I'm trying to figure out why people really think they are overclocking while utilizing the features of SenseMi. lol.

Nobody mentioned SenseMi. And do you know what ASUS' Performance Enhancer Level 3 and 4 actually do? And while his B450 probably doesn't have the VRMs to run as well as my board that truth would also apply to any manual overclock he wished to set.

Performance Enhancer Level 3 and 4 allows for the CPU to behave as if he had set a static overclock for all cores while maintaining the capability of his CPU clocking fewer and single core loads even faster. It's really the best of both worlds. It will give him the performance of a standard overclock on all core loads without losing the higher speeds he could achieve with fewer and single core workloads.

Also, leaving PBO on Auto means auto overclocking? A CPU behaving within spec by definition isn't overclocking.

Learn what you're talking about before laughing at others that have countless hours invested into both the CPU and features they are speaking about.

nick name 04-24-2019 09:56 PM

1 Attachment(s)
With Performance Enhancer Level 3 -- which is running all core speeds at 4.307GHz. It also allows for single core speeds to reach 4.35GHz.

jcpq 04-25-2019 06:42 AM

First of all thank you all.

For now I'm with PE Lv3, PBO Auto, CPB Enabled, Vcore Auto.

In power plan I'm using windows balanced, but I have a problem, whenever I set the minimum processor state to below 50%, the system becomes unstable, artifacts appear on the image, chrome closes unexpectedly.

If I put 65% type in minimum processor state, everything is fine.

What is the reason for this?

nick name 04-25-2019 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcpq (Post 27945184)
First of all thank you all.

For now I'm with PE Lv3, PBO Auto, CPB Enabled, Vcore Auto.

In power plan I'm using windows balanced, but I have a problem, whenever I set the minimum processor state to below 50%, the system becomes unstable, artifacts appear on the image, chrome closes unexpectedly.

If I put 65% type in minimum processor state, everything is fine.

What is the reason for this?

I imagine there are some higher frequencies when you set minimum processor state below 50%. What frequencies are you seeing?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.