Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Other Peripherals (https://www.overclock.net/forum/376-other-peripherals/)
-   -   IDE DVD drive (https://www.overclock.net/forum/376-other-peripherals/1725272-ide-dvd-drive.html)

fra z 05-03-2019 06:53 AM

IDE DVD drive
 
Hi,

I'm helping out a pal who's got an older Intel socket 478 machine which has the older IDE connectors on the motherboard. Does the DVD drive need drivers or will it be plug and play? - On Windows XP, I figure it should be plug n play.

Thanks

bajer29 05-03-2019 07:32 AM

Should be plug & play if I remember correctly... What's wrong with doing the "ole college try" and see if the IDE drive is recognized when he plugs it in and boots up WIN XP? If it isn't recognized, you should be able to find old IDE drivers that will work with his drive by Googling the drive's model #.

fra z 05-03-2019 08:55 AM

Yeah not a problem - My machines are not IDE but I did have one years ago - but this ole pal isn't computer savvy enough to get up n running with old machines so I've stepped into help out.

I think there was en error on boot and I think the DVD drive (not CD ROM) was connected to IDE 2 (max 2 on the board which is Abit SG-72 - I got all the drivers just in case they are needed).

I cloned the system with Macrium Reflect (great clone software) but now it's just trying to get the max out of the machine which is an office machine for daily use.

All I needed to know if drivers are needed which I could find - but if it's plug n play I'll try that.

After looking on Youtube, device #1 in IDE channel 1 is primary master then Primary slave. For IDE 2 it is secondary master then secondary slave.

I've pointed out there may be jumpers on the back of the devices eg - HDD or DVD drive that need setting according to the channel they are connected to - eg IDE 1 or IDE 2 and master or slave primary or secondary.

Is this correct of all devices? - and are there necessary alterations in the BIOS for primary and secondary master and slave devices.

In other words I ask if all devices need to be assigned specifically?

TwoCables 05-03-2019 12:59 PM

Drivers aren't needed. No.

The Master Chief 05-03-2019 01:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fra z (Post 27953810)
Yeah not a problem - My machines are not IDE but I did have one years ago - but this ole pal isn't computer savvy enough to get up n running with old machines so I've stepped into help out.

I think there was en error on boot and I think the DVD drive (not CD ROM) was connected to IDE 2 (max 2 on the board which is Abit SG-72 - I got all the drivers just in case they are needed).

I cloned the system with Macrium Reflect (great clone software) but now it's just trying to get the max out of the machine which is an office machine for daily use.

All I needed to know if drivers are needed which I could find - but if it's plug n play I'll try that.

After looking on Youtube, device #1 in IDE channel 1 is primary master then Primary slave. For IDE 2 it is secondary master then secondary slave.

I've pointed out there may be jumpers on the back of the devices eg - HDD or DVD drive that need setting according to the channel they are connected to - eg IDE 1 or IDE 2 and master or slave primary or secondary.

Is this correct of all devices? - and are there necessary alterations in the BIOS for primary and secondary master and slave devices.

In other words I ask if all devices need to be assigned specifically?


Are they sharing the same IDE cable?

Only time you'd use the jumpers is if 2 hdd's are on one cable and one is a primary boot drive.

fra z 05-03-2019 04:04 PM

Right OK...jumpers used only if 2 drives are sharing one IDE channel

And....I've heard back off ole pal who's tried again to connect the DVD drive to IDE channel #2, the jumper removed and the machine boots so this is progress.

After this machine is sorted out there are 3 more to look at.

I've noticed the ATX power connector on the motherboard has fewer pins in than the ATX 24 pin of newer motherboards.....and on another machine I know one of the PSU's isn't working so is it possible to use a newer PSU with 24 pin connectors and leave 4 pins hanging over the edge of the ATX power on the motherboard on the next machine I look at? - or is a specific PSU / cable needed? - thanks

fra z 05-03-2019 04:23 PM

Actually I've found an adapter that is used - 20 - 24 pin ATX - thanks

fra z 05-26-2019 11:13 AM

Hi,

I've tried to get some of the IDE-SATA or SATA to IDE converters work.

2 motherboards - one is Abit SG-72 & the other is TriGem Imperial - old mobo's - well before SATA arrived.

I've come to conclusion maybe best for old pal to get IDE HDD's and use a USB-SATA external bridge for adding data / saving data if ever needed so there is a useable solution.

But......this issue has been nagging away at me ----Is it a difficult thing to do to use a SATA HDD on IDE motherboard that dates back to circa 2000-2005 ???

>>>>If there is a 100% adapter that works I may try again - Advise please..........

I've cloned the OS from IDE HDD to external USB SATA HDD so I know if there is an adapter that works it will recognize the HDD and boot XP - this was for XP 32 bit..................Thanks

fra z 05-26-2019 02:17 PM

OK found something that mentioned a SATA control card would be needed - which I've found a PCI version - I've seen how these would connect.

The SATA drivers would be needed but the motherboard does not have SATA drivers - Maybe XP would have a generic one?

This is for SATA HDD as boot drive on motherboard with IDE ports Tri Gem Imperial motherboard

Bit too much trouble to be honest but worth asking about - ANy comments ?

Nukemaster 05-26-2019 03:03 PM

PCI to SATA adapters do generally require drivers.

For XP you generally(some drivers are included with the operating system) install the driver from a floppy disk when installing windows. I kept a floppy drive in my system back then just for this reason.

I used one many years ago that was sold under the Maxtor name. It worked perfect for years and even had an IDE port as well.

Also with the IDE jumpers, some drives need the jumper set to Single(instead of the standard master position.) if you have only a single drive on the cable. Others did not care. I did not use CS(cable select) because it seemed to cause issues too often.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.