Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   General Processor Discussions (https://www.overclock.net/forum/297-general-processor-discussions/)
-   -   CPU Blown? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/297-general-processor-discussions/1725582-cpu-blown.html)

herkalurk 05-08-2019 06:04 PM

CPU Blown?
 
I have an AMD APU in my HTPC. We were using it the other day and it just died. Flash on the tv and now it won't do anything. I've eliminated any cable issue by re seating each cable (power cables all over and sata to SSD). I've re seated the ram. I removed the hard drive and verified it's working correctly, did chkdsk on another windows PC. Nothing. Every time I press the start button the fans for the PSU and CPU run, but I can't even get to post. I hook up a usb keyboard and press delete and F9 which in the past would put me in bios, but I can't even get that far. I thought about re seating the CPU, but I don't have any paste and am trying not to buy a whole tube when you need barely 1/8th a tube for a single CPU. My next thought is to try each ram stick individually just to verify.

Does anyone have any better ideas?

herkalurk 05-08-2019 06:26 PM

So apparently my ram was just being a problem.

I took each stick and moved it to first slot and it booted each time, so I put both back into their respective slots according to the manual and it still worked. Why it just stopped working midway through a tv show 2 nights ago is kinda weird though....

DoctorNick 05-09-2019 03:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by herkalurk (Post 27960690)
So apparently my ram was just being a problem.

I took each stick and moved it to first slot and it booted each time, so I put both back into their respective slots according to the manual and it still worked. Why it just stopped working midway through a tv show 2 nights ago is kinda weird though....

Yea sounds kinda weird. Have you checked for newer bios or tested the RAM?

ozlay 05-09-2019 05:42 AM

Could be a power issue? What's the PSU?

herkalurk 05-09-2019 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DoctorNick (Post 27960926)
Yea sounds kinda weird. Have you checked for newer bios or tested the RAM?

Haven't done either. I'll take a gander.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozlay (Post 27960996)
Could be a power issue? What's the PSU?

Doubt it. I have Corsair CX430m powering the APU, board, cpu fan, and a single ssd. It's a very low power use system.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.