Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD - General (https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-amd-general/)
-   -   New AMD build advice. (https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-amd-general/1728804-new-amd-build-advice.html)

tango bango 07-07-2019 08:52 AM

New AMD build advice.
 
Ok I waited for zen 2. I need a 3700x build advise (cpu, motherboard, ram). Will most likely use my EVGA 1070ti. Thanks.

ozlay 07-07-2019 09:02 AM

Budget?

x570 Aorus Elite $200
Gskill F4-3200C14D-16GVK $115
3700x $330

$645

NightAntilli 07-07-2019 09:09 AM

CPU you already chose to 3700X, so... Depending on your budget, either;
MSI B450 Tomahawk or Asrock X470 Taichi
RAM: any 3200CL14 kit, or 3200 CL16 kit if on a budget.

tango bango 07-07-2019 09:18 AM

Sorry, budget for mb $200ish. If I get a x470 nb, don't I need a older cpu to flash it with? Also was looking at newegg at x570 mb to see ram qvl. Nothing over 21xx mhz ram is shown.

ozlay 07-07-2019 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tango bango (Post 28029526)
Sorry, budget for mb $200ish. If I get a x470 nb, don't I need a older cpu to flash it with? Also was looking at newegg at x570 mb to see ram qvl. Nothing over 21xx mhz ram is shown.

Some boards have a bios flashback feature that allows you to flash the board with out a cpu. Ram normally defaults to 2133mhz until you set it manually to its advertised speed. If the QVL only shows 2133 they haven't updated it yet.

lukart 07-07-2019 09:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tango bango (Post 28029526)
Sorry, budget for mb $200ish. If I get a x470 nb, don't I need a older cpu to flash it with? Also was looking at newegg at x570 mb to see ram qvl. Nothing over 21xx mhz ram is shown.

You also could ge a X570 Steel legend, it's under 200$ from what Ive seen.

tango bango 07-07-2019 10:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukart (Post 28029580)
You also could ge a X570 Steel legend, it's under 200$ from what Ive seen.

Was looking at this mb and a aurus mb. Should I go with 3200 mhz mem or maybe faster?

shilka 07-07-2019 11:14 AM

Just as a note if you are not aware MSI and Gigabyte boards only have x6 SATA ports where some Asus and Asrock boards have x8 so be aware of that if you care or think you need that many
I am building a home media server based on an X570 board and a Zen 2 CPU later this year or next year so all MSI and Gigabyte boards are useless for my use case

tango bango 07-07-2019 11:22 AM

I don't think I will need to many sata ports as its only for games. My plan is 1 HD.

rdr09 07-07-2019 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tango bango (Post 28029636)
Was looking at this mb and a aurus mb. Should I go with 3200 mhz mem or maybe faster?

Here is an analysis into the different RAM speeds.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/a...nchmark/4.html

Not sure what your budget is but you might consider this or something cheaper based on that review . . .


https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...-217-_-Product


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.