Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Intel Motherboards (https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-intel-motherboards/)
-   -   Asus Maximus XI Apex Expansion Slots ?? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-intel-motherboards/1729178-asus-maximus-xi-apex-expansion-slots.html)

qwrty 07-11-2019 07:17 AM

Asus Maximus XI Apex Expansion Slots ??
 
Hello

I do not have the mobo yet, but if I get it, I would put my graphic card in the PCIe 3.0 x16_2 slot, nothing will be in the PCIe 3.0 x16_1 slot.
Is my graphic card will run at 16x or 8x with this motherboard ?

https://image.noelshack.com/minis/20...04-capture.png

Nothing in the manual could help...: https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...543.1560233664

Thank you !

Shawnb99 07-11-2019 08:02 AM

It should run at x16. Why are you using the second slot and not the first?

qwrty 07-11-2019 08:13 AM

Thank you,

it's purely aesthetic and for integration, watercooling inside.

I'm asking this because I know very few motherboard which can do that, at least with 16x pcie lane CPU (I came from X99)

qwrty 07-11-2019 12:07 PM

Anyone else ? :(

I would like to be sure before buying...

The Pook 07-11-2019 12:23 PM

either the first or second x16 slot should be able to handle a GPU at x16. the only issue if is if you stuff a GPU in the last slot since they're generally a 16x slot but only 4x electrically and tied to the chipset.

qwrty 07-11-2019 12:30 PM

Yes, I'm aware about the third slot, but i would like to be sure for the first one and the second...

Guess I should write to asus support.

ACleverName 07-11-2019 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pook (Post 28037786)
either the first or second x16 slot should be able to handle a GPU at x16. the only issue if is if you stuff a GPU in the last slot since they're generally a 16x slot but only 4x electrically and tied to the chipset.

Eh, is it really?

The Pook 07-11-2019 12:44 PM

on a consumer board without a PLX chip, generally.

Only Z390 with a PLX chip (AFAIK) is the ASUS WS Z390 Pro and the SuperMicro C9 Z390.

ACleverName 07-11-2019 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pook (Post 28037816)
on a consumer board without a PLX chip, generally.

Only Z390 with a PLX chip (AFAIK) is the ASUS WS Z390 Pro and the SuperMicro C9 Z390.

Would a older board like this be setup like that?

https://us.msi.com/Motherboard/X99A-RAIDER.html

I'm still learning details on motherboards and i have my HDD raid card in the last slot and it seems a bit slower then normal since i have.

The Pook 07-11-2019 12:57 PM

X299 isn't a consumer platform. LGA 2011 v3 HEDT CPUs have more PCI-E lanes than 1151 consumer CPUs.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.