Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD CPUs (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/)
-   -   how good is this board with a 3900x? (https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-amd-cpus/1731394-how-good-board-3900x.html)

ubbernewb 08-13-2019 11:08 AM

how good is this board with a 3900x?
 
i have this board https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...HAIR-VII-HERO/ i know im asking in CPU,s but its asking if the CPU will work good with that board

shilka 08-13-2019 11:19 AM

If you update the BIOS then yes it will work as for how well nobody knows as no two CPU´s are exactly the same

VPII 08-13-2019 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ubbernewb (Post 28086684)
i have this board https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...HAIR-VII-HERO/ i know im asking in CPU,s but its asking if the CPU will work good with that board

The board works great with a 3900X no issue. Just have it flashed with 2501 bios.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

ubbernewb 08-13-2019 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shilka (Post 28086690)
If you update the BIOS then yes it will work as for how well nobody knows as no two CPU´s are exactly the same

i was refering to board is solid enough to not blow up with it or something

VPII 08-13-2019 11:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ubbernewb (Post 28086716)
i was refering to board is solid enough to not blow up with it or something

Ill repeat myself.... the vrm on the board can provide up to 600 amps of power. My 3900x at 4.3ghz all core draw 85 amps with 1.28vcore.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

ubbernewb 08-13-2019 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VPII (Post 28086734)
Ill repeat myself.... the vrm on the board can provide up to 600 amps of power. My 3900x at 4.3ghz all core draw 85 amps with 1.28vcore.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

thanks, sorry about that i didnt see a reply when i asked thanks again, know anywhere has 3900x for reasonable price? newegg doesnt nor micro center

The Pook 08-13-2019 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VPII (Post 28086734)
Ill repeat myself.... the vrm on the board can provide up to 600 amps of power. My 3900x at 4.3ghz all core draw 85 amps with 1.28vcore.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk


how many amps a VRM can handle has little to do with how good/bad it is.

ubbernewb 08-13-2019 12:17 PM

anyone know of reasonable place in usa to buy 3900x?

AlphaC 08-13-2019 12:26 PM

The Crosshair VII Hero is fine if you don't want/need PCIE 4.0.


Everything under that from Asus X470 lineup I would avoid.


Quote:

Originally Posted by ubbernewb (Post 28086788)
anyone know of reasonable place in usa to buy 3900x?



Best Buy , B&H , Microcenter (if you have one near you)

VPII 08-13-2019 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pook (Post 28086778)
how many amps a VRM can handle has little to do with how good/bad it is.

Well I put it to you like this. Search Buildzoid's analysis of the C7H and hear what he says.... Secondly, my old 2700X ran 5.6ghz on my C7H so if my advice was unfounded


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.