Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   General Processor Discussions (https://www.overclock.net/forum/297-general-processor-discussions/)
-   -   PC does not boot. (https://www.overclock.net/forum/297-general-processor-discussions/1731954-pc-does-not-boot.html)

Joe Schmoe 08-22-2019 09:19 AM

PC does not boot.
 
Hi guys,

Currently I have an AMD based PC that I built. It has been working fine for about a year but suddenly does not power on. It seems to be drawing power from the power supply as evident by the lights on the board being on but when the power switch is pressed, it does not boot (No BIOS screen or anything). The fans spin for a second then stop when the power cord is removed then plugged back after a few minutes. All connections have been checked and all wires are connected tightly.

I'm at a loss here. Any ideas would be appreciated.

shilka 08-22-2019 09:25 AM

First off please list everything in the PC as its very hard to help without any details

Second just because there is lights in the motherboard does not mean its working and its common for a motherboard to still light up despite the fact that its dead
It sounds like your motherboard died or it could be a problem with the PSU but without any details its hard to say

Joe Schmoe 08-22-2019 09:43 AM

PC Specs

Ryzen 5 2600
Board - Asus Prime A320M-A
Power Supply - Powerspec PS 550BF
Gskill Aegis Ram 16gb (2x8)

Hope that helps.

keikei 08-22-2019 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shilka (Post 28098678)
First off please list everything in the PC as its very hard to help without any details

Second just because there is lights in the motherboard does not mean its working and its common for a motherboard to still light up despite the fact that its dead
It sounds like your motherboard died or it could be a problem with the PSU but without any details its hard to say

I'm leaning towards the same idea. Can OP swap out another psu?

NightAntilli 08-22-2019 10:35 AM

Start with this;

- Unplug the power cord
- Remove the battery on the motherboard
- Hold the power button for 10s - 20s
- Reinsert battery
- Plug power cord back in
- Power back on and see what happens.

If no avail, we'll help you further.

Joe Schmoe 08-22-2019 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by keikei (Post 28098704)
I'm leaning towards the same idea. Can OP swap out another psu?

Sorry for the radio silence. I took your advice and sourced another PSU and as it turns out that was the issue. The PC powered up with no issues and operated normally. I guess the next question is what could possibly have caused this so as not to have a repeat occurrence?

keikei 08-22-2019 11:42 AM

IF that psu is still under warranty...rma.

looniam 08-22-2019 11:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joe Schmoe (Post 28098824)
Sorry for the radio silence. I took your advice and sourced another PSU and as it turns out that was the issue. The PC powered up with no issues and operated normally. I guess the next question is what could possibly have caused this so as not to have a repeat occurrence?

Quote:

Powerspec PS 550BF
don't get an "unknown" PSU that's probably junk. isn't that a microcenter store brand?

shilka 08-22-2019 12:04 PM

Pretty sure the PSU the OP has uses the High Power Element Smart platform which is horribly outdated and is not very good to say the least
The NZXT Hale 82 V2 uses the same platform https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...ale-82-v2.html

Even if the PSU is not the problem its still a rubbish PSU that should be replaced

Edit: this is what you have right? this is the one based on the High Power Element Smart from what i understand
https://www.microcenter.com/product/...d-power-supply

Joe Schmoe 08-22-2019 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by looniam (Post 28098852)
don't get an "unknown" PSU that's probably junk. isn't that a microcenter store brand?

Yes it is from MicroCenter. I was in a pinch in terms of budget and decided to cut some corners and go with this PSU

Quote:

Originally Posted by shilka (Post 28098858)
Pretty sure the PSU the OP has uses the High Power Element Smart platform which is horribly outdated and is not very good to say the least
The NZXT Hale 82 V2 uses the same platform https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...ale-82-v2.html

Even if the PSU is not the problem its still a rubbish PSU that should be replaced

Edit: this is what you have right? this is the one based on the High Power Element Smart from what i understand
https://www.microcenter.com/product/...d-power-supply

That is the one I purchased. As my answer above states, money was a concern and some compromises had to be made. The replacement will most likely be this model.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/corsair...?skuId=5845214

What is you opinion on this one?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.