Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   Networking & Security (https://www.overclock.net/forum/45-networking-security/)
-   -   The pfsense Club (https://www.overclock.net/forum/45-networking-security/445543-pfsense-club.html)

cathode 01-18-2009 09:00 PM

Clubs seem to be popular on OCN so I'll start one for everyone using pfsense!

For those not familiar with what pfsense is all about, you can visit the pfsense website.

Essentially, pfsense is a tiny distribution of FreeBSD that works as a router + firewall, and provides other goodies.

Social Group on OCN: The pfsense Club

For club members, your first post should include:
  • Specs of the PC running pfsense
  • What you use it for mainly (gaming, home office, etc)
  • Number of PC's in your LAN
  • Any observations or other stuff you think is interesting

Anyway, here goes:

PC: Dell Dimension 2400, 2.4ghz celeron, 256MB DDR266, 12GB Quantam Bigfoot HDD (5.25", laugh it up, I know I know), integrated 10/100 NIC WAN adapter, Rosewill RC-400-LX gigabit NIC LAN adapter. The pfsense box and the cable modem are hooked up to an APC BackUPS Pro 650, which will last somewhere close to several hours on battery.

Its used mostly for gaming but I run several services on it such as FTP and Subversion for my own open-source projects. Right now there are only 3 PCs hooked up to it, but if I hosted any LAN parties in my apartment I have a feeling it would work wonders.

I went with pfsense because the software DuckieHo was using (Untangle) has ridiculously high hardware requirements which this Dell Dimension 2400 didn't meet. pfsense uses about 25% of my 256MB and I haven't seen it go above 10% CPU utilization even under load. Plus, its a 50MB ISO download (vs 600MB for Untangle).

DigitalSonata 01-18-2009 10:43 PM

I run it on an old rig, 700mhz, 1GB RAM, 10GB HD, 100mb/s NIC. I have my torrentbox/webserver running 24/7, lots of other computers, and two wireless routers. The traffic shaping is really nice, along with time-based firewall rules. Its also setup to use dyndns.org so I don't have to remember what my home IP address is to administer my server and ssh into my boxes. I plan on building a cluster sometime in the future so it will support that too. Untangle refused to install on it, but I get the feeling its pretty bloated anyway.

Bviper 01-19-2009 08:29 AM

pfSense is truly the best if all you want is a firewall with more features.

I'm actually running in off a compact flash card inside a VM on an ESXi host (yes you read that right). I delegated 512 of ram, edited it to the "embedded" platform, and didn't install a swap partition. Runs like a champ on the flash card with nearly 0 writes.

I'm running appropriately 10 PCs on it, can jump up to 12-13 depending if I turn some more VMs on.

Just a note when originally searching for a firewall distro I found pfsense to be the only one capable of bridging a tapX interface with the physical lan connection. This can be used to created a bridged VPN.

purdueman 01-19-2009 12:33 PM

I am planning on running pfsense on a 700mhz P3, 256mb PC133 RAM, 30gb HD, with a Rosewill 10/100 WAN, and an Intel Pro/1000 GT LAN. I will have my Wireless router, and other router along with my gaming comp, htpc, and my mom's computer on it. I hope to have it up and running once my Intel NIC arrives.

If anyone has any good pfsense tutorials or any tips that would be great!
Thanks!

RAND0M1ZER 08-24-2009 08:12 PM

I should be getting my pfsense/server part tommorow athlon II x2 and a gigabyte 785g

serge2k 08-24-2009 10:13 PM

I'm only using it temporarily at this point (until I get a machine to dedicate to it, it is in a VM on my laptop (laptop is unusable due to broken hinges).

Very pleased with it though. Seems to be doing a very good job.

If I can work out the finances (and a few other issues) in time I would like to try to use it for load balancing two internet connections.

I'm only able to use it because I got a Cisco 2950 for 40 dollars and my friend discovered that if I use the actual drivers from intels site my laptop supports vlans.

hollywood406 08-24-2009 10:19 PM

My son got me to use it. I have it installed on a POS Dell desktop system that I can't recall the model number. I'll edit the particulars later. Using it as a Router and it's working so well, I hardly log in to check status.

10/100 NIC cards for the WAN and the LAN

killabytes 08-25-2009 07:23 PM

I have pfsense but I don't use it as my active system.

Specs are...

P3 1Ghz 512MB RAM CF as HDD.

I was testing waters with, monowall, untangle and pfsense. I choose untangle because of the fancy gui, and it's filtering of spam, viruses and such. Easier to control the kids, so to speak.

PDXMark 10-16-2009 05:57 PM

New to pfsense-

After having one crappy manufactures router after another I decided to build one. It didn't seem like it would be a hard thing to understand after a couple months reading on the subject. Since I've started using a router/PC I've noticed the difference, as my Dlink and Linksys would constantly freeze from heavy loads. I've not had that issue since installing a pfsense router/firewall. I'm pleased I made the decision to build my router out of old PC parts. It so far is the best router I've ever owned.

I primarily game, stream and surf. The second PC in the house likes to stream, play flash games, surf and use the network printer -to which I dedicated a subnet with no WAN interface-. I also have a network drive for the home to store music, movies and shared files so that the individual PC's don't have to have 'file share' enabled. The third PC in the house is a dedicated HTPC with Internet, to which it has its own subnet and is not accessible by any PC on the network, but the HTPC can access the network drive in the primary subnet. I have no Wifi, don't want it!

AMD Winchester 2.2GHz 939sckt
MSI/Via K8M890m2-v, 1GB SuperTalent PC3200
Maxtor 40GB IDE, x2 ENLGA-1320 NIC[Realtek chip RTL8186], Netgear FS605 Switch
Pfsense 1.2.2 - Packages: Bandwidthd, iperf, rate

Here is a post of mine about 'Watchdog Timeouts'[WDTO] in pfsense forum.

the fudge 12-22-2009 06:02 PM

Hey there!

As of yesterday, I have installed pfsense on my routing-pc as well.
It's running on:
ASRock G31MG-S Socket 775 mATX (GBit-lan onboard)
1.8 GHz Intel Celeron D 430 (passively cooled with a Sharkoon cooler, don't remember the name, though)
2gb DDR2 Corsair Dominator (they were unused otherwise)
LevelOne GNC-0105T Gigabit PCI Ethernet Card
EW-7128G Card (54) WLAN PCI Card
all in a asus vento s6 µATX-case that came with a (suprisingly silent) 250W-PSU. So currently, the only fan is the 80mm PSU-fan.

It's used mainly for gaming, but also for remote-controlling work-pcs.

The reason I got it was partly, because I had some trouble with my USRobotics router, but also because i just liked the idea of trying it out.

There is one gaming PC (running boinc) connected via LAN, and (mainly in the evenings) two additional laptops and the occasional smartphone connecting using WLAN.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.