Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   GPU Folding Teams (https://www.overclock.net/forum/289-gpu-folding-teams/)
-   -   GPU Team - Monster (https://www.overclock.net/forum/289-gpu-folding-teams/469099-gpu-team-monster.html)

Berger 03-01-2009 12:20 AM

Team consists of Berger and CrazyNikel.

dcshoejake 03-01-2009 11:49 AM

I don't believe you..

CrazyNikel 03-01-2009 03:53 PM

lol we just started folding.

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hp?s=&u=436005

^me

Berger 03-04-2009 02:13 PM

so I think my shaders wont go past where I am at now.


core: 710
shaders-unlinked: 1566
memory: 1224

after watching it fold every type of WU, the 511's get me down to about 6700, and the rest never get below 7k, and I max out around 9k

oh and even though I know the 511's run it hotter then usual, my temps go up from around 65 to around 75

Berger 03-09-2009 03:21 PM

never updated my clocks.

Core: 735
Shader: 1535
Memory: 1330
Voltage: 1225mv
.........still checking to see how the next voltage bump effects my clocks.


STOCK:
Core: 648
Shader: 1404
Memory: 1161
Voltage: 1188mv

Ictinike 03-09-2009 06:30 PM

Just remember.. For folding you only need the Shader Strap's overclocked. The Core and Memory overclocks only lead to more heat and possible instability.

There are times where the shader's won't go any higher without core but you take a chance of an unstable machine error on the GPU2 clients.

Shader straps go up in 54Mhz increments I believe so use that as a guide and get shaders as high as you can without core/mem increases.

That's just for folding now, regular gaming and OC then all 3 are pertinent

Berger 03-09-2009 07:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ictinike View Post
Just remember.. For folding you only need the Shader Strap's overclocked. The Core and Memory overclocks only lead to more heat and possible instability.

There are times where the shader's won't go any higher without core but you take a chance of an unstable machine error on the GPU2 clients.

Shader straps go up in 54Mhz increments I believe so use that as a guide and get shaders as high as you can without core/mem increases.

That's just for folding now, regular gaming and OC then all 3 are pertinent
if these straps exist why am I able to put in any value I want?

and I thought the more memory and core you get, the more it will allow you to push the shaders

Ictinike 03-09-2009 07:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berger View Post
if these straps exist why am I able to put in any value I want?

and I thought the more memory and core you get, the more it will allow you to push the shaders
You can choose any value you want however the nVidia shaders will only go in those increments. An example of this is RivaTuner. I use the G15 tool in Riva to display my system conditions; clocks, temps, speeds, etc and even though I can choose any value, Riva always displays the straps at the 54Mhz increment up or down.

Even tho your setting it to whatever you want, it goes up to the next strap if > 50% to the next or down to the lower strap if < 50%.

There are some threads here about this and it's been confirmed.

As for the core, sure, you can use core/memory to help increase the shaders to the next strap but again doing so adds heat. It's entirely up to you if you want but again, the shaders are only factor in GPU2 folding that give more or less PPD.

Berger 03-09-2009 08:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ictinike View Post
You can choose any value you want however the nVidia shaders will only go in those increments. An example of this is RivaTuner. I use the G15 tool in Riva to display my system conditions; clocks, temps, speeds, etc and even though I can choose any value, Riva always displays the straps at the 54Mhz increment up or down.

Even tho your setting it to whatever you want, it goes up to the next strap if > 50% to the next or down to the lower strap if < 50%.

There are some threads here about this and it's been confirmed.

As for the core, sure, you can use core/memory to help increase the shaders to the next strap but again doing so adds heat. It's entirely up to you if you want but again, the shaders are only factor in GPU2 folding that give more or less PPD.
I'm sort of confused.......when I run gpu z it shows the value I enter in Precision for shaders...but on precision-in the actual gauge showing the real time speed, it does in fact jump by 54......

So if I have 1535 in gpu z....... precision is showing a reading of 1512.......once I get high enough it hits 1566......so I guess this is exactly what you are talking about?

why does gpuz copy what I enter in? and not the actual value?
^kinda makes me want to uninstall the useless progie now


So I have to follow the 54mhz increments?

Why do they exist? doesn't that negate performance?

and how come I can run stable with my shaders at 1535-1539 but once I hit 1540 it artifacts?
^makes me a non believer of shader straps.....but like always their is something I'm missing

also how does linked and nonlinked effect the straps?

Ictinike 03-10-2009 08:05 AM

It's OK, being confused, we all are at some point; don't feel anything negative. Let me break this down via your comments and if you need anything else let me know, I'll keep trying to check back but if not PM me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berger View Post
I'm sort of confused.......when I run gpu z it shows the value I enter in Precision for shaders...but on precision-in the actual gauge showing the real time speed, it does in fact jump by 54......

So if I have 1535 in gpu z....... precision is showing a reading of 1512.......once I get high enough it hits 1566......so I guess this is exactly what you are talking about?
Yes exactly what I'm describing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berger View Post
why does gpuz copy what I enter in? and not the actual value?
^kinda makes me want to uninstall the useless progie now
Well technically the card IS set to what you have it to regardless of the 54Mhz increment. The shaders however, regardless of what you place them at, will only run on the 54Mhz increment they are designed to run. So again lets say you have 1000 for the shader. If you make it 1026, it still will run on the 1000 shader strap. Now once you go beyond 50% to the next strap increment, ie: 1027-1054, it will default to the 1054 strap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berger View Post
So I have to follow the 54mhz increments?

Why do they exist? doesn't that negate performance?
You don't have to set them to the 54Mhz strap but regardless, as stated above, they WILL run at these pre-defined straps. The shaders are designed this way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berger View Post
and how come I can run stable with my shaders at 1535-1539 but once I hit 1540 it artifacts?
^makes me a non believer of shader straps.....but like always their is something I'm missing
This is just like any other overclocking. Your card must not be able to keep up and artifacts. Remember though in Folding you can't *really* use a tool to test the OC, per se, because if you unlink the shaders and bump them but don't bump core, it's unbalanced and you WILL see artifacts. Just because it artifacts in a benchmark or scanning artifact tool does NOT mean it's unstable in [email protected] Hope that made sense. Your NOT displaying graphics or using the core/memory in [email protected], only shaders so the rules don't really apply here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berger View Post
also how does linked and nonlinked effect the straps?
For the card to function as a video card, that is work in games, etc; the core to strap ratio is typically 1:2. When you LINK the shaders and bump the core your shaders will also follow to the next available stable strap keeping the 1:2 ratio intact.

This is why if you UNLINK the shaders, and bump just them for folding, your card will most likely artifact or crash when you use it for anything OTHER than [email protected] Most of us have profiles in RivaTuner that will allow us to run a shader setting only for [email protected] but if I leave this strap setup and try to game I nearly instantly BSOD. I have to revert my straps BACK to the stock settings and/or another stable overclock using all THREE components to game with an overclocked card.

Again, just unlinking and bumping shaders to higher straps only affects [email protected] and if NOT kept within range of the core/memory while using the card for gaming or benchmarking it most likely will crash.

Sorry if this is confusing, it's hard to explain via 'type written words'


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.