Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD (https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-amd/)
-   -   A way to disable edid! :) (https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-amd/47962-way-disable-edid.html)

SPHERE 09-28-2005 05:10 PM

Hey dudes i got a little idea here. (Plan on making a faq.)

Well, the idea is if I isolate the wires used for edid. (That anoying firmware in your monitor that tells you wether or not you can set a res. (To bypass it you usaly need to be set manualy in cat control center.))

What the mod does:
When you go to set a res your monitor will no longer have a say in wether or not it wants to be set to that res.

Example: My monitor can easily do 2048x1536 but acording to edid it is only suposed to go as high as 1856x1392.

It's kinda like overclocking your monitor.

I haven't tried it with a dvi connector yet but I did inside a monitor when I was replaceing the video cable of one of my 19" monitors. (I disconnected the wires for edid.)

Ok without further adieu here is how you could try it.



I am not responsible for any damages, you do this at your own risk.

POGE 09-28-2005 05:12 PM

Is this for flat screen, crt, or both?

SPHERE 09-28-2005 05:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pogeman1000
Is this for flat screen, crt, or both?
It's for a monitor that uses a vga interface. (15 pin usaly colored blue.)

alan_14 09-28-2005 05:15 PM

hmm, I got an old crt that can do 1856x1392, it says in the box it can do up to 1600x1200, but out of 15 pins, they'res only like 9,ROFL, maybe it is the missing pins.....can I do it to my LCD?

SPHERE 09-28-2005 05:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by iS. kLuMzY
hmm, I got an old crt that can do 1856x1392, it says in the box it can do up to 1600x1200, but out of 15 pins, they'res only like 9,ROFL, maybe it is the missing pins.....can I do it to my LCD?
I believe so as long as it uses a native vga interface.


I believe one of the pins are never installed so it can be used as a key. But ive seen ones without 14 pins and they worked fine.

http://www.mycableshop.com/techarticles/VGA.htm

Hollowman8904 09-28-2005 05:19 PM

What is the point of "keys" that manufactures put in their products (motherboards, ect)?

SPHERE 09-28-2005 05:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollowman8904
What is the point of "keys" that manufactures put in their products (motherboards, ect)?
To keep you from puting it in the wrong way.

Hollowman8904 09-28-2005 05:23 PM

But thats why the metal is shaped a certian way....

POGE 09-28-2005 05:24 PM

Keys dont work for me, I usually think "why isnt it going in?!?!" and push harder. Until it snaps.

SPHERE 09-28-2005 05:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollowman8904
But thats why the metal is shaped a certian way....
I know but sometimes that metal can get bent. But that is what it is there for none the less.

So, anyone wanna try it with your old dvi adapter?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.