Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   AMD - General (https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-amd-general/)
-   -   Quad Core for About $400!!! (https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-amd-general/666720-quad-core-about-400-a.html)

Erick Silver 02-10-2010 11:40 AM

So this little ad was right on the Home Page of TD. I thought I would check it out.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/email/wem...mail-_-wem2184

Not a bad setup in my opinion. What do you think?

mr. biggums 02-10-2010 11:43 AM

everything's good except the quad core the original phenoms where nothing too right about.

Kiggold 02-10-2010 11:44 AM

Looks pretty good at first glance, however it requires a CPU cooler, as the CPU is OEM (which is not mentioned in the ad, very dishonest TD!)

.:hybrid:. 02-10-2010 11:48 AM

I thought it was a good deal until I realised it had no gpu

exileschild 02-10-2010 11:50 AM

"Improved taskbar and full-screen previews"

seriously?


OT: aren't the original phenoms bad overclockers which can double as home heaters...idk never owned one.

PCCstudent 02-10-2010 11:50 AM

A micro ATX mobo, Phenom 1, no name 450W P/S, DDR2, and no mention of a gpu? Thats what some people shell out $400.00 for.

nathris 02-10-2010 11:51 AM

It isn't worth $400 though. The price is artificially inflated by the crap memory they are using. I'd say maybe $300 worth of parts are there.

Phaedrus2129 02-10-2010 11:51 AM

I love how they advertise "jaw-dropping gaming" on a Radeon 4200 IGP... and their "video upgrade" is a Radeon 4670 for $70.

Brian_ 02-10-2010 11:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. biggums View Post
everything's good except the quad core the original phenoms where nothing too right about.
+1 and the memory is ddr2 677 lol

_02 02-10-2010 11:53 AM

It makes me want to punch a marketer with a hammer everytime I see completely bogus advertising like the "jaw dropping gaming" part.

exileschild 02-10-2010 11:53 AM

most barebone systems are a complete rip.

ovyeminem 02-10-2010 11:53 AM

1. The CPU is no good, stay away from the first Phenoms.
2. DDR2 is slowly becoming outdated.

Raiden911 02-10-2010 11:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by _02 View Post
It makes me want to punch a marketer with a hammer everytime I see completely bogus advertising like the "jaw dropping gaming" part.
LAWL!

They are off better selling their souls instead.

"jaw dropping gaming" HELL YA...on some flash games.

Phaedrus2129 02-10-2010 11:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovyeminem View Post
1. The CPU is no good, stay away from the first Phenoms.
2. DDR2 is slowly becoming outdated.
1.) The Phenom I x4s that end in "50" are the later revision that fixed the TLB bug that gave the Phenoms their bad name. It's an ok processor, but it is near the bottom of the quad core heap.

2.) The RAM doesn't suck because it's DDR2. It sucks because it's generic 667MHz RAM. DDR2 800 and 1066 are just fine.



Do your research before spouting things like that.

.:hybrid:. 02-10-2010 11:57 AM

Don't worry guys, you can upgrade it with

Kingston 1GB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory

Yes thats right, DDR

exileschild 02-10-2010 11:58 AM

i'm still laughing at the win7 description regardless of available space.

ez12a 02-10-2010 11:59 AM

No thanks.

MrDeodorant 02-10-2010 12:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by _02 View Post
It makes me want to punch a marketer with a hammer
You're doing it wrong.

Lxcivic2k1 02-10-2010 12:01 PM

They can't even label the Motherboard correctly, says it's an AM3, but supports DDR2. I'd be scared to order that and have DDR2 and an AM2+ CPU and end up getting a board that has an AM3 socket which won't fit either of those, lol.

Either way it's a horrible deal, Phenom I are things not to touch especially the 9650.

EDIT: Newegg labels it correctly as an AM2+ motherboard, lol. TigerDirect FAIL!

exileschild 02-10-2010 12:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeodorant View Post
You're doing it wrong.
just noticed that.


_02 02-10-2010 12:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeodorant View Post
You're doing it wrong.
You have obviously not punched someone with a hammer.


Riskitall84 02-10-2010 12:18 PM

Wow you guys in the states get all the best deals

youra6 02-10-2010 01:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lxcivic2k1 View Post
They can't even label the Motherboard correctly, says it's an AM3, but supports DDR2. I'd be scared to order that and have DDR2 and an AM2+ CPU and end up getting a board that has an AM3 socket which won't fit either of those, lol.

Either way it's a horrible deal, Phenom I are things not to touch especially the 9650.

EDIT: Newegg labels it correctly as an AM2+ motherboard, lol. TigerDirect FAIL!
Its probably works with a AM3 processor without an BIOS update but it just doesn't have a DDR3 IMC. Nonetheless, its a terrible marketing ad because it isn't a AM3 mobo.

webguru1985 02-10-2010 01:22 PM

Would be good for playing Unreal Tournament G.O.T.Y Probably not on max tho..... LOL

eljitto 02-10-2010 01:31 PM

its quite a good mobo, and yes, it does work with AM3

and my video card is crying because of you guys, thanks

BlackHoleSun 02-10-2010 01:36 PM

You guys do realize that there are people out there who think they are getting a deal. Not everyone overclocks and I have used that Phenom I x4 9650 before and it's a fine chip. Sure it doesn't overclock well, but for 97% of the general populous who doesn't overclock its perfectly fine.

I don't like the "gaming" nomenclature because it isn't a gaming machine by any real standards, but I also don't like many of the responses here because they are so narrow minded to "we are all overclockers so if chip X can't overclock it has no use in the world". It goes along with many of the posts that say "Quad cores are useless because gaming isn't improved on them" which brings about the people who state that computers aren't just used for gaming, and this website doesn't just have gamers on it. Realize that Tiger Direct didn't post their ad HERE, where all of us would say it was a joke, and that their word choice really does sell off a mainstream style computer for a non gamer as a "gaming machine". This isn't me trying to be a mod, this is me trying to stop stupid responses so I don't have to read through pages and pages of misinformed posts.

Back on topic, it really doesn't seem too bad of a computer, but I would trust parts and service from the egg over Tiger Direct any day of the week.

Erick Silver 02-10-2010 01:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_ View Post
+1 and the memory is ddr2 677 lol
HEY! I use DDR2 667 Memory. Its all I can afford. At least its not PC3200

ovyeminem 02-10-2010 04:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaedrus2129 View Post
1.) The Phenom I x4s that end in "50" are the later revision that fixed the TLB bug that gave the Phenoms their bad name. It's an ok processor, but it is near the bottom of the quad core heap.

2.) The RAM doesn't suck because it's DDR2. It sucks because it's generic 667MHz RAM. DDR2 800 and 1066 are just fine.



Do your research before spouting things like that.
Stop trying to be a smartass because all you are doing is putting your foot into your mouth.

1. I didnt mention any bugs, why i said to stay clear of them is because they dont OC as much as PII and the architecture was pretty slow compared to PII, just as an example even my x3 beats that 9650.

2. Where did i exactly say "it sucks" ? Only thing i said it was that it was slowly becoming outdated, i never said it is obsolete nor that it IS outdated and the fact is that is started to become outdated the moment DDR3 came out.

Evermind 02-10-2010 04:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovyeminem View Post
Stop trying to be a smartass because all you are doing is putting your foot into your mouth.

1. I didnt mention any bugs, why i said to stay clear of them is because they dont OC as much as PII and the architecture was pretty slow compared to PII, just as an example even my x3 beats that 9650.

2. Where did i exactly say "it sucks" ? Only thing i said it was that it was slowly becoming outdated, i never said it is obsolete nor that it IS outdated and the fact is that is started to become outdated the moment DDR3 came out.
Lol, I was thinking the same thing when I read his response to your post.

Hy3RiD 02-12-2010 01:59 AM

lol

Satans_Hell 02-12-2010 06:29 AM

Wow thats a Fail build right there!

F1ForFrags 02-12-2010 06:33 AM

Slow memory, crappy quad, no gpu, no cooler. I'd say this is a pretty fail combo. Pretty fail indeed.

Fons 02-12-2010 06:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by F1ForFrags View Post
Slow memory, crappy quad, no gpu, no cooler. I'd say this is a pretty fail combo. Pretty fail indeed.
Don't forget ****ty case!

el-John-o 02-12-2010 06:54 AM

Hey,

for $400, we're not looking for an i7ZOMGITCANGOTOOVAR9000ONLESSTHANHALFAVOLTANDUNDER 30C CPU here. It's a budget quad build, so yes, the original Phenom can't beat whats out now but, obviously it's cheap! Hence the term "budget build"

Edit: Also, did anyone um... slow down? TD doesn't claim this is a full, good to go system, if you... scroll down, you will see a "complete your kit" screen that includes options for a CPU Cooler, GPU, Optical Drive and Operating System.

So yes, slow memory, CPU, crappy case.... $400.... remember that when you spend less money you get less stuff!!

Thedark1337 02-13-2010 10:29 PM

i'd rather not use DDR2 667. i'd rather use DDR2 666

Rains 02-13-2010 11:08 PM

It's tigerdirect. Enough said

Iconoclast 02-13-2010 11:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rains View Post
it's tigerdirect. Enough said
qft

The Master Chief 02-13-2010 11:13 PM

Solid build..


Didnt know am2+ would work in a AM3 only socket...

ez12a 02-14-2010 12:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Master Chief View Post
Solid build..


Didnt know am2+ would work in a AM3 only socket...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131595

lazi punk 02-14-2010 12:17 AM

not bad but u can get it for cheaper for sure

el-John-o 02-15-2010 07:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Master Chief View Post
Solid build..


Didnt know am2+ would work in a AM3 only socket...
Yes, and AM3 socket will work with an AM3/AM2+/AM2 processor, however an AM2+ board will not support an AM3 processor, so it's "upwards compatible"

ez12a 02-15-2010 12:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by el-John-o View Post
Yes, and AM3 socket will work with an AM3/AM2+/AM2 processor, however an AM2+ board will not support an AM3 processor, so it's "upwards compatible"

AM2+/AM3 processors work on AM3/AM2+/AM2 boards that utilize DDR2.

An "AM3 socket" will not handle a AM2+ CPU and older if the mobo is designed to use DDR3.

AM2+ board can support an AM3 given it uses DDR2 and it's VRM can handle it, with the apprpriate BIOS flash if needed.

edit: edited out of confusing myself. Basically it depends on the IMC (AM2+ = DDR2, AM3 = DDR2/3)
and the design of the mobo. If it's an AM2+ (DDR2) board with an AM3 CPU, there must be a BIOS flash and/or the board must be designed to handle the power requirements. If it's a DDR3 board, it only supports AM3.

Drummer1976 02-15-2010 02:27 PM

No go. Not worth it.

~D~

ColdRush 02-15-2010 02:31 PM

It's a bad boy

superfreshmonkey113 02-15-2010 10:03 PM

Jaw dropping gaming?! I'm in!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.