Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community (https://www.overclock.net/forum/)
-   [email protected] Guides and Tutorials (https://www.overclock.net/forum/366-folding-home-guides-tutorials/)
-   -   [Windows 7] 2500k & X6 Bigadv Folding w/ Native Linux Client (https://www.overclock.net/forum/366-folding-home-guides-tutorials/970644-windows-7-2500k-x6-bigadv-folding-w-native-linux-client.html)

JedixJarf 03-21-2011 04:33 AM

Ok guys, since the new A5 cores have been released you can now fold bigadv on linux in a VM natively without the use of WINE. Since moving to the native core a5 bigadv my PPD is now 40k+, where as with wine it was 25-30k.

Also, as long as you can follow directions and know how to copy and paste this guide should be pretty easy to follow.

Also make sure you have a solid overclock on your chip. My 2500k is currently running @ 4.8 Ghz due to summer temps and is yielding 42k PPD on a 2684 WU, which is no small feat.

So heres a little guide on how to get up and running, all commands listed below are to be used in the terminal, or the console if you are running with no GUI.

1. Install VMware Player 3.0 LINK

2. Install your favorite x64 linux distro. Now I have installed Fedora x64 without a GUI so that way there are no extra resources being used to draw a UI. Also make sure you assign the VM 4 cores (or 6 if using an x6) and at least 2 GB of ram. Also make sure you setup the NIC to be bridged and not Nat (so your machine will have a real IP from your dhcp server)

This is an excerpt from CHUNKYBOWSER's thread for you X6'rs
Quote:
UNcheck "Power on after creation" and then finish setup of the VM. Now go to Start>All Programs>Accessories>Notepad. Go to File>Open and navigate to C:UsersyouruserDocumentsVirtual Machines"Name of your virtual machine" and open the "VMWare Virtual Machine Configuration" file that's there, it should have the name of the VM you created.(make sure, while browsing, you change from .txt files only to "All files" to see it) Add 6 next to "maxvcpus". Also add a line with "numvcpus=6". Save the file and go back to VMware.


3. Now that you have your distro installed create a new folder @ the root.
Quote:
mkdir /fah

4. Now that you created a new directory you will want to navigate there in the command line.
Quote:
cd /fah

5. Now you are going to want to download the latest linux smp client from stanford.

If curl is not installed on your distro by default you can also try wget.

6. For ease of use I normally rename the executable to something a little easier to remember.
Quote:
mv FAH6.34-Linux64-SMP.exe fah6

7. Now you should have one file in your directory of /fah and it is named fah6. we now need to make sure the file has the permission to execute, this is accomplished with a simple chmod command.
Quote:
chmod +x fah6

8. Now your almost ready to start folding, but first we need to trick linux into thinking you are running w/ 8 cores.
Quote:
cat /proc/stat | awk 'BEGIN { TARGET_NCPUS=8 } ; { if ($1 == "intr") { for (i=NR-2;i<=NF;i++) S=S " " $i ; print }' > /tmp/stat.save
Quote:
mount --bind /tmp/stat.save /proc/stat

Alternatively you can create your own bash script to run these commands as well.

9. Now your ready to start folding. First thing we want to do is edit the config so we get all of our hard earned points. Personally I run fah with a nohup call, this means if I close the terminal or my ssh session dies, fah will still be running in the background.

To Edit the config do this.
Quote:
./fah6 -configonly

Cool, now your folding under your own name and team 37726. Now you need to actually start folding so do this...
Quote:
nohup ./fah6 -smp 4 -bigadv &

Or if you are running an x6
Quote:
nohup ./fah6 -smp 6 -bigadv &

Now Im guessing your going to want to monitor your progress, well there are a few ways you can do this.

1) You can just watch the raw log file. This will just basically show progress in plain text.
Quote:
tail -f FAHlog.txt

2) Zodac has made a great guide on using hfm.net in linux here

3) My preferred method is to just install a web server on your vm and make the root of the site the /fah directory, then you can install HFM.net on your windows machine and access your linux stats by IP address. I do this because I fold on multiple machines so I guess it was just the most logical choice for me. My personal web server of choice is httpd, but you may prefer something else which is just fine. Here is a great link on installing httpd and changing the dir of your default site to the folder of your choice, which in this case is going to be /fah.

httpd Install Guide

http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-install-and-start-apache-httpd/

httpd Config Guide

http://www.techotopia.com/index.php/Configuring_a_Fedora_Linux_Based_Web_Server



Thanks for taking the time to read this if you guys have any questions or comments feel free to discuss below smile.gif

test3366 03-21-2011 04:50 AM

Thank you

ps. เจิม

Boyboyd 03-21-2011 04:51 AM

Subscribed for tonight, many thanks.

Nude_Lewd_Man 03-21-2011 03:18 PM

What about if you're running an i7 920.....does your guide work (just omit the cores hack) or do I need to look elsewhere..? I'm thinking of running something like this on my sig rig again...rather than natively in W7, like I am at present..

koven 03-21-2011 03:30 PM

nice, this should be helpful to a lot of people, linux client really is that much more optimized/efficient in terms of PPD

which linux distro are you using?

Digigami 03-21-2011 05:30 PM

Good looking guide! I may just have to give this thing they call linux another go! Thanks

JedixJarf 03-21-2011 07:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven;12816965 
nice, this should be helpful to a lot of people, linux client really is that much more optimized/efficient in terms of PPD

which linux distro are you using?

Fedora 64 and yeah it will work with your i7, not sure why you wouldn't just use win client...

Boyboyd 03-22-2011 04:51 AM

What kind of TPF do you see at 5GHz?

CHUNKYBOWSER 03-22-2011 05:01 AM

I kind of already have a guide for this. :s

I just need to update it with the native Linux SMP client.

unexpectedly 03-22-2011 06:45 AM

Lighttpd takes less resources than apache/httpd, but that might be splitting hairs. Lighttpd might be easier to setup too...

Another option is to use ftp server & have it serve that directory. I did that on my Sig rig and it almost installed itself... Very easy.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.