[Official] Vega Frontier / RX Vega Owners Thread - Page 761 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] Vega Frontier / RX Vega Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7601 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 07:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 642
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Have you upgraded to 1903? I have a feeling it that. Get the same issue on my 65 OLED.
ht_addict is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7602 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 08:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,538
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Anyone know why my card occassionally gets stuck clocks?

I'll be playing and then memory always gets stuck at 167mhz until I reboot. It's like everything freezes, but it's always 167mhz that it sticks at.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #7603 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 04:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Xinoxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 32725
Posts: 6,212
Rep: 278 (Unique: 247)
Quote: Originally Posted by 98uk View Post
Anyone know why my card occassionally gets stuck clocks?

I'll be playing and then memory always gets stuck at 167mhz until I reboot. It's like everything freezes, but it's always 167mhz that it sticks at.
What have you tried? what card do you have? What bios is on it?

We need information to formulate suggestions.

Firestrike vs. Similar Systems
FIRESTRIKE EXTREME ULTRA
LittleBitties
(13 items)
PC of the Son.
(9 items)
CPU
ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Gaming-ITX
GPU
ASRock Phantom Gaming X Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
Ripjaws V 2x8GB 3333MHz
Hard Drive
Intel 660p M.2 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA SUPERNOVA G2 1000
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Metallic Gear MGNE210 BLACK
Monitor
Viotek GN34C
Keyboard
Corsair K75 LUX
Mouse
Corsair M65 RGB
Mousepad
Corsair "speedmat?"
Audio
AKG K240 ( 1987 )
CPU
AMD Athlon 950
Motherboard
ASRock AB350M
GPU
Zotac GTX 1050Ti OC
RAM
GeIL EVO SPEAR 2x4GB DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
HP EX900 500GB M.2
Power Supply
Corsair CX450M
Cooling
AMD Wraith SPIRE RGB
Case
CM Q300L
Monitor
QNIX 2710
▲ hide details ▲
Xinoxide is offline  
post #7604 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 02:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,538
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote: Originally Posted by Xinoxide View Post
What have you tried? what card do you have? What bios is on it?

We need information to formulate suggestions.
I think it's driver related to he honest. Anything after 19.4.1 does it for me. I've tried the latest, 19.5.2 and the same behaviour occurs, it's strange.

I have rolled back again and will have to wait and see.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #7605 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 07:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cplifj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 204
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
do you use HBCC when clocks get stuck ? I get clocks stuck when quiting some games when hbcc is on, it doesn't happen when hbcc is off.

System : i7-3770 (4.1 GHz Allcore OC) / 16 GB Corsair Dominator platinum cl9 1600MHz ram / Asus P8Z77-M / RX Vega 64 LC / R9290X secondary / SSD Intel 520 series + Samsung 850 evo + kingston UV400 / 2x 2TB Seagate HD / DVD-WR / Corsair H110 AIO LC (cpu) / 2x Front Intake fan / Corsair HX1000i psu / Iiyama GB2888ushu 4k freesync monitor / Corsair K70 rapidfire rgb / Logitech G502 / Corsair void usb. + a ghost that sometimes acts up.
cplifj is offline  
post #7606 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 12:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,538
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote: Originally Posted by cplifj View Post
do you use HBCC when clocks get stuck ? I get clocks stuck when quiting some games when hbcc is on, it doesn't happen when hbcc is off.
Nah, not used HBCC. Haven't edited anything bar an overclock on my memory and custom fan profile, all via Wattman.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #7607 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 08:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Xinoxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 32725
Posts: 6,212
Rep: 278 (Unique: 247)
Quote: Originally Posted by 98uk View Post
I think it's driver related to he honest. Anything after 19.4.1 does it for me. I've tried the latest, 19.5.2 and the same behaviour occurs, it's strange.

I have rolled back again and will have to wait and see.
I had this issue when I first got my vega 64. I had issues with like every driver until I found an updated Bios.

I might recommend seeing if you can get a newer bios flashed to the card.

These days, the newer drivers and that same bios I had found all play quite nicely with each other.

I now push my card to 400W on the reg.

Firestrike vs. Similar Systems
FIRESTRIKE EXTREME ULTRA
LittleBitties
(13 items)
PC of the Son.
(9 items)
CPU
ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Gaming-ITX
GPU
ASRock Phantom Gaming X Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
Ripjaws V 2x8GB 3333MHz
Hard Drive
Intel 660p M.2 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA SUPERNOVA G2 1000
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Metallic Gear MGNE210 BLACK
Monitor
Viotek GN34C
Keyboard
Corsair K75 LUX
Mouse
Corsair M65 RGB
Mousepad
Corsair "speedmat?"
Audio
AKG K240 ( 1987 )
CPU
AMD Athlon 950
Motherboard
ASRock AB350M
GPU
Zotac GTX 1050Ti OC
RAM
GeIL EVO SPEAR 2x4GB DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
HP EX900 500GB M.2
Power Supply
Corsair CX450M
Cooling
AMD Wraith SPIRE RGB
Case
CM Q300L
Monitor
QNIX 2710
▲ hide details ▲
Xinoxide is offline  
post #7608 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 11:51 AM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,917
Rep: 164 (Unique: 117)
Quote: Originally Posted by 98uk View Post
Anyone know why my card occassionally gets stuck clocks?

I'll be playing and then memory always gets stuck at 167mhz until I reboot. It's like everything freezes, but it's always 167mhz that it sticks at.
It's due to browsers and any other program GUI that uses the GPU, not GPU drivers. Close out all background task when gaming and you'll see what I mean.

It might be related to how Windows 1903 utilizes the GPU. I tried older drivers and they exhibited the same issue.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 06-20-2019 at 11:58 AM.
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #7609 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 10:12 PM
French loving Japan!
 
nolive721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: yokohama
Posts: 488
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
hello

so received my VEGA 64 LC last month after some post on this thread here.really nice looking card even compared to my 1080Ti EVGA HYbrid

but performance wise, focusing on Undervolting, it seems performing slightly better than the 1080Hybrid I had but falls behind by a good 15% on FPS vs the 1080Ti

In synthetic benchmark like Firestrike, the VEGA manages to score around 25,200points but my Ti reaches easily 30,000points

Will do some more overclocking over the weekend but I was hoping for something closer to 27,000points, it might be now a bit unrealistic here.

I have managed to get my 3 1080p monitors to output at their max refersh rate of 75hZ(3 of them are freesync) and will test the Freesync feature in Games, which was one the main drivers to go back to try AMD

One thing I have noticed and its annoying, after setting EYEFINITY res at 5760x1080 over the 3 screens, I cant find a way to toggle to single screen unless I discard the Eyefinity set-up but then have to set it again

I thought I could make use of Windows key+P to toggle projection display 3 vs 1 screen quickly, like it does with NV Surround, but it doesn't work.
Anybody here knows a fix for that?

PC GAMING AEROCOOL P7 C1 WHITE VERSION CPU RYZEN 5 [email protected] 4Ghz/1.45V CPU cooler ID COOLING FROSTFLOW+ SNOW EDITION MB ASROCK B350 PRO4 GPU EVGA 1080TI FTW3 HYBRID 2088Mhz core RAM CORSAIR LPX 16Gb @ 3066Mhz WINDOWS 10 PRO NVME PATRIOT BOOT DRIVE

Last edited by nolive721; 06-21-2019 at 01:11 AM.
nolive721 is offline  
post #7610 of 7688 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 07:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,538
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote: Originally Posted by Xinoxide View Post
I had this issue when I first got my vega 64. I had issues with like every driver until I found an updated Bios.

I might recommend seeing if you can get a newer bios flashed to the card.

These days, the newer drivers and that same bios I had found all play quite nicely with each other.

I now push my card to 400W on the reg.
Hmm, okay. I'll reach out to Sapphire see what they can suggest. They don't seem to make their BIOS public, only when you contact them.


Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
It's due to browsers and any other program GUI that uses the GPU, not GPU drivers. Close out all background task when gaming and you'll see what I mean.

It might be related to how Windows 1903 utilizes the GPU. I tried older drivers and they exhibited the same issue.
I hadn't thought of that, though that said, I don't really do too much on my PC, so there isn't anything specific that I can think would be open and would cause this.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off