[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1469 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 73 11.77%
More than 2 years 32 5.16%
More than 3 years 45 7.26%
More than 4 years 61 9.84%
More than 5 years 118 19.03%
More than 6 years 291 46.94%
Voters: 620. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14681 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 01:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
theister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 160
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by kbc8090 View Post
This is very impressive. What RAM is this?

Also where did you come by a X58A-OC board? Those are a rare breed.

You asked me that about half a year ago before ;D it is : The corsair rams are CMD32GX3M4A2400C11 11-13-13-31 1.65v ver.5.21 152802277189533

I have 3 of them, hunting them like a madman @ebay

@DooM3 , thanks for your post, i totally forgot to put back the new ram settings after findling around with the uncore, so the result is slightly better. I was not able to lower to 12-12 before, but some b2b cas delay adjustment sealed the deal.

I agree with you that going wild to get some 2xxx Rams is maybe not worth it, but the prices for used parts are dropping, if you are ok with 3x4gb sticks you can get them for a reasonable price. One problem is that you mostly do not know if 4gb sticks are dual ranked or single ranked (with 8gb sticks you can me most sure it is dual ranked) and single ranked is some kind of perfomance killer, i had some Avexirs OC Force 2666 Rams for my Gigabyte X58A-OC that lacks performance due single rank (but they are a nice to have with his board for the looks ;D).

What i find more problematic is that with most of the 4gb or 8gb highspeed rams (2400 or higher) the xmp profiles are not working, cause the rams are not to be build for x58, so you have to set all the sub timings manually. Even the Gskill Pis i have are not working with in triple channel with xmp and that are 2gb sticks of the x58 time.

But i think thats one point i like the plattform that much : you have so many possibilities to waste time for tweaking ;D
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	41gbcopyuncore44cachemem.png
Views:	144
Size:	92.2 KB
ID:	275316  

theister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14682 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 07:10 PM
Fix it till its broke
 
Owterspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 523
Rep: 7 (Unique: 4)
I miss that Gulftown goodness. I think I will get one of those off of AliExpress. I have fast ram, but am limited to 1000mhz by bclk. I match that latency with lower clocks, but read, write, and copies are down compared to that shot at 1200mhz.

I have an E.S. Westmere that clocks up to 4800, you just don't get access to anything over x10 mem multi. Before I was willing to trade memory performance for cpu MHz because I have Hyper MGH-E, but now I don't need max cpu performance, and I want to play with some ram that I have laying around, most of it doesn't work well with my z77

x58 is an effing trooper.

Like my old iPhone 5s lol.

X5690 E.S. @ 4209MHz 1.35v/Thermalright True Spirit 140 Power/TF8/TY-143
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200.5/3608/3608 Bios 0702|Intel 545S 256GB x2
6GB Super Talent Chrome + 10GB G.Skill RJ+PS Mix @ 802MHz 9-9-9-24 2T 1.575v
EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1497/2001|Asus Xonar Essence ST|KEF M500
CM Silent Pro M2 850|Fractal Design Meshify C/Panaflo NMBx4|TY-147x2|ZM-MFC2
Owterspace is offline  
post #14683 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 06:16 AM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,387
Rep: 73 (Unique: 59)
Do the W series have better memory controllers? None of my X5600s can go above 3600mhz uncore without pushing vtt above 1.35v.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14684 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 10:24 AM
Fix it till its broke
 
Owterspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 523
Rep: 7 (Unique: 4)
Well, to be fair 1.35v is eff all. Give it more go to 1.4 it’ll be fine.

X5690 E.S. @ 4209MHz 1.35v/Thermalright True Spirit 140 Power/TF8/TY-143
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200.5/3608/3608 Bios 0702|Intel 545S 256GB x2
6GB Super Talent Chrome + 10GB G.Skill RJ+PS Mix @ 802MHz 9-9-9-24 2T 1.575v
EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1497/2001|Asus Xonar Essence ST|KEF M500
CM Silent Pro M2 850|Fractal Design Meshify C/Panaflo NMBx4|TY-147x2|ZM-MFC2
Owterspace is offline  
post #14685 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 09:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
theister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 160
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by xxpenguinxx View Post
Do the W series have better memory controllers? None of my X5600s can go above 3600mhz uncore without pushing vtt above 1.35v.
I have some X56xx Xeons that do round about 4ghz within the specs. It is also board depended and divider dependend. Most of the X5675 i testet lately does not like the 20x uncore multi with the board i tested, but higher ones worked even without adding more volts.

Last edited by theister; 06-23-2019 at 11:14 AM.
theister is offline  
post #14686 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 07:06 PM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,387
Rep: 73 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by theister View Post
I have some X56xx Xeons that do round about 4ghz within the specs. It is also board depended and divider dependend. Most of the X5675 i testet lately does not like the 20x uncore multi with the board i tested, but higher ones worked even without adding more volts.
I just tested it with the 24x multiplier. It gave me about 200mhz extra. I'll need to mess with it some. My current OC is locked in and this is my main rig atm so I don't want to mess with it too much.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14687 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 08:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
crazycrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 396
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I have gone back to boosting my clocks ..

https://valid.x86.fr/bench/w2fzt8/1

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/19664397

Ryzen 5 3600
Gigabyte AB350M-DS3H CF
G-SKill 16Gb
Red Dragon RX 570 8Gb
Corsair TX 650 watt

https://valid.x86.fr/yhrtin
crazycrave is offline  
post #14688 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 05:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
arc1880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Hey all. Does anyone here have an Asus Sabertooth X58 motherboard? If so, have you tried adding a small fan onto the Northbridge heatsink? Could you post some pictures? And the type of fan you have? Thanks.
arc1880 is offline  
post #14689 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kana-Maru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,098
Rep: 198 (Unique: 128)
Quote: Originally Posted by arc1880 View Post
Hey all. Does anyone here have an Asus Sabertooth X58 motherboard? If so, have you tried adding a small fan onto the Northbridge heatsink? Could you post some pictures? And the type of fan you have? Thanks.
I've been wondering the same thing for sometime now. It's a pain in the butt at stock clocks and once you start overcloking it really becomes a thorn in your butt. I know it can be done, but I've never personally tried it. I thought about removing it and applying some thermal paste and be done with it.
Kana-Maru is offline  
post #14690 of 15234 (permalink) Old 06-28-2019, 04:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 40
Rep: 0
So I have been an i7 950 user for about 9 years or so. I accidentally messed up the pins on my Asus P6x58D-E last weekend while trying to reseat and reapply thermal compound DOH! Well anyways, I won an auction on ebay for an Asus P6X58D Premium and it came with a Xeon x5670.

I just started overclocks, and I havent bumped the RAM yet but initial results look pretty good. 4.2 @ 21x200. Max temps 75 during Aida64 test, will run Prime95 as well. Cinebench R20 gave a score of 1979 pts. I'm using a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo Air Cooler. Voltage at 1.34375

Since this is 10+ year old equipment I'm tempted to push it as far as it can go, but this is also my daily 24/7 machine so even if I can get it maxed out I'll probably back it off from there.

Just sharing my experience. I'm glad I was able to replace my MOBO and technically get an upgrade for only $100.
MayoTheGreat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off