ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 854 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8531 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 06:22 AM
Going Red!
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Raipur, India
Posts: 127
Rep: 0
Are you sure 1.35v as daily driver/gaming is fine as long as temps stay below 85-90?

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero x470
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio
RAM
T-Force Nighthawk Legend RBG
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
Antec High Current Game Extreme
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum RGB
Case
Cooler Master H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU IPS G-Sync
Keyboard
Logitech G512 Carbon Romer-G Tactile
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Audio
Logitech Z623 2.1
▲ hide details ▲
thegr8anand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8532 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 06:26 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,074
Rep: 34 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by oreonutz View Post
LOL! This is the Daily struggle my friend! I am my own boss, so this kind of thing comes into play constantly when scheduling jobs, and more so when its personal outings. Is it bad I just prefer to stay in my room, in the air conditioning and tweak my PC, instead of go outside into the cruel world, and be bored for 3 hours????
Welcome to my daily struggle as well keep in mind I live just a few steps of the Panama City Beach, Florida white sand beaches. Been once this year for about 30 mins. Though I do get daily outings with one of my dogs. Other one prefers to stay near the house. I would rather stay inside in AC mainly at my PC. Incidentally, we just turned our 2nd bedroom into my Geeky PC man cave. So now I can shut the door if I am in the middle of something and do now want the dogs to bother me but mostly they sleep now that I have this set up in my pc cave near me.

/edit I am still at a lose on the bios menu difference between Ryzen 1000/2000 series vs the 3000 series. I can't find one logical reason it is not showing. I spent the morning yesterday extracting every module in 2601 and looking at each one of them...several hundred and no unique set up menu I could find other then I did find an additional set up module but they are both identical other then offsets. But I had to get to testing the 2 5700 XT I had just got to decide which I was keeping as I cracked the die on my original one with a cooling mod I was trying.

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.

Last edited by mtrai; 08-18-2019 at 06:33 AM.
mtrai is offline  
post #8533 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 06:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LethalSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Boosting behavior with the new BIOS is a mess. With all stock my 3700X boost over 4300MHz in CB15/20 and light threaded games, no problems at all. If I put the memory to 3600MHz (DOCP or manual) boost goes to 4275Mhz max no matter what. The funny thing is that if I set the RAM at AMD menu in the BIOS suddenly I see again bursts of 4300MHz in Shadow of the Tomb Raider or The Division 2. Asus plz!

Sliger Cerberus X - Ryzen 7 3700X - Corsair H100i PRO - Asus ROG Crosshair VII - EVGA RTX 2080 XC - 2x8GB GSKill TRZ DDR4 3600Mhz - Samsung 970 EVO + 850 EVO - Corsair SF600 - Asus ROG PG348Q 100 Hz - Sennheiser PC360

Last edited by LethalSpoon; 08-18-2019 at 08:23 AM.
LethalSpoon is offline  
post #8534 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 06:50 AM
Going Red!
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Raipur, India
Posts: 127
Rep: 0
Can anybody tell me what Sense Mi Skew does? In LTT ryzen oc guide they were using an asus mobo and said to enable it.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero x470
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio
RAM
T-Force Nighthawk Legend RBG
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
Antec High Current Game Extreme
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum RGB
Case
Cooler Master H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU IPS G-Sync
Keyboard
Logitech G512 Carbon Romer-G Tactile
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Audio
Logitech Z623 2.1
▲ hide details ▲
thegr8anand is offline  
post #8535 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 07:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 653
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Then my 3700x runs very hot at idle... everytime above 50c

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
post #8536 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 08:18 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,634
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by oreonutz View Post
Appreciate you brother! Sometimes I get to sensitive, lol!

LOL! This is the Daily struggle my friend! I am my own boss, so this kind of thing comes into play constantly when scheduling jobs, and more so when its personal outings. Is it bad I just prefer to stay in my room, in the air conditioning and tweak my PC, instead of go outside into the cruel world, and be bored for 3 hours????
Ha! I'm like that too as only work i've done recently is for me! Very hard to not just do my OCing! It wasn't bad any way - nice lunch and home early enough to so more testing!

On the subject of VCore, there must still be a min and max? How does it know when setting an offset what voltage to set? What is the starting point? You spoke about FIT, but I thought that worked from your current VCore when OCing? How can I see what my default voltage is?

Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 0002+(The Stilt modded ver) | Crosshair VII Hero | 16GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is offline  
post #8537 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 08:55 AM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 739
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by thegr8anand View Post
Can anybody tell me what Sense Mi Skew does? In LTT ryzen oc guide they were using an asus mobo and said to enable it.
Nothing. It is placebo. Like most of the settings they recommend. Pumping more voltages into your cpu/ram only increases instability risks. The times where more voltages is an option is long gone. These days you at most want to undervolt, and find the best spot between voltages and clock speed. Like, whats the point to go for 4.4ghz on the cpu @ 1.4v if you can get 4.3ghz @ 1.3v. Same with ram. Especially micron e-die. You should just leave all the voltages and settings in the bios at stock, and tweak speed and timings from there.

I did some serious testing my self with all the extra settings in the bios (trying some at the time, or all, or only like 1 or 2 settings). And never did any of these help for errors not to pop up. At most they took a couple of minutes longer to appear.

Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair 6 Hero (Bios 7401)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die (19nm)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro Build 18912
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
post #8538 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 09:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,388
Rep: 14 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
Nothing. It is placebo. Like most of the settings they recommend. Pumping more voltages into your cpu/ram only increases instability risks. The times where more voltages is an option is long gone. These days you at most want to undervolt, and find the best spot between voltages and clock speed. Like, whats the point to go for 4.4ghz on the cpu @ 1.4v if you can get 4.3ghz @ 1.3v. Same with ram. Especially micron e-die. You should just leave all the voltages and settings in the bios at stock, and tweak speed and timings from there.

I did some serious testing my self with all the extra settings in the bios (trying some at the time, or all, or only like 1 or 2 settings). And never did any of these help for errors not to pop up. At most they took a couple of minutes longer to appear.
Samsung b-die (IMC permitting) seems to scale well with voltage.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #8539 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 09:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,388
Rep: 14 (Unique: 7)
@mtrai I meant to post this a while ago. Here are my daily timings for 3600Mhz. I have to use 1.48V on DRAM Voltage. Hopefully, you can use less.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Daily.png
Views:	18
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	289944  


AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #8540 of 9582 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,366
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by thegr8anand View Post
Can anybody tell me what Sense Mi Skew does? In LTT ryzen oc guide they were using an asus mobo and said to enable it.
Back in the days with Ryzen first release it was used to skew the temperatures because of the ~10c difference. Later AMD corrected much things how they approached the temps we see. Tdie/Tctl etc.
And they are still playing around with temp readings. If you ask me. They made it toooo difficult with their dozens of sensors. Hope they are happy with the approach.

Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
Nothing. It is placebo. Like most of the settings they recommend.
Spoiler!
uhmm it was NOT placebo before. I have done many testings with first gen Ryzen and Sense Mi Skew. i even reported i could fake the temps with that to boost higher in PBO!
Few weeks ago, i tried again but the skew didn't work for me. Probably its now a placebo for the 3x series. Or AMD killed the whole option. Cant say for sure! Will test with first gen again later!

majestynl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 16 (6 members and 10 guests)
bizio55 , bluestang , bozydar , Praetorr , Xenozx , Y2BNE1
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off