ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 855 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8541 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 176
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
Back in the days with Ryzen first release it was used to skew the temperatures because of the ~10c difference. Later AMD corrected much things how they approached the temps we see. Tdie/Tctl etc.
And they are still playing around with temp readings. If you ask me. They made it toooo difficult with their dozens of sensors. Hope they are happy with the approach.
Is there any reason to disable it anymore for 3000 series? I've always disabled it. Maybe I should leave it on Auto/Enabled now.

AMD Ryzen 3800X (4.4Ghz, LLC5, 1.325v)
ASUS RTX 2080 Dual OC (2100Mhz Core at 1.062v, +140 Core, +1000 Mem)
G.Skills 4266CL19 at 3800CL16 (1.415v, FLCK & ULCK 1900)
ASUS Crosshair VII (Corsair H115i w/ ML140 RGB Fans)
Samsung 970 EVO SSD 500GB, Samsung 860 EVO SSD 2 x 500GB & 250GB, Seagate 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Corsair RMX 650W 80+ Gold, Samsung LC27 27" 1440p 144Hz
MrPhilo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8542 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 03:42 PM
Enthusiast
 
Takla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 741
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
Probably its now a placebo for the 3x series. Or AMD killed the whole option. Cant say for sure! Will test with first gen again later!
Yeah. I can only comment for ryzen 3000. And for that it did nothing.

Computer #2
(9 items)
Computer #1
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 4GB
RAM
DDR4 2x8GB @3800MHz Micron E-die
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Case
Streacom BC1 Benchtable
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG 29WK600-W @30-76Hz FreeSync
CPU
Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard
Asus Z77-A
GPU
Asus Radeon R9 280X DirectCU II
RAM
DDR3 4x4GB @1600MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 120GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Takla is offline  
post #8543 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 04:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 38
Rep: 0
Greetings,

My friend just bought a 3700X. I have a 2700X and remember that changing PBO values depending on settings would net you certain frequencies (depending on your silicon). For Example my 2700X runs at 4250MHz at 1.32V for multi threaded applications like CB R15 and R20. Then for single threaded app it would boost to 4350MHz and voltage would increase to 1.4V depending on how the application works and handles the single cores. Does this still applies to 3700X or is PBO not working at all? What do you guys recommend? He also has this motherboard as I recommend it to him. Thanks!

Last edited by edu616; 08-18-2019 at 05:28 PM.
edu616 is offline  
post #8544 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 09:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Xenozx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
hey i was reading in someone signature, that there is some kind of ram quality tester? that will rate it at say 93% or also give it a maximum potential overclock rating? are any of you familiar with this? I Know testing and changing timings and mhz a little at a time is best, but maybe this helps with a good starting point?

also, i have 2 kits of memory i am testing bout cl14 3200 kits. 1 is team dark b die single rank, and another is a flare x kit, dated july 2019, not sure if its b die is there any way to tell for sure without taking the heatspreader off and looking at the chips?

lastly i am running 3466 on the flare x kit now, and i have it set in bios to 15, 15, 15, 31, any idea why when i boot into windows it would show 16, 15, 15, 15 31?
Xenozx is offline  
post #8545 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:15 PM
Going Red!
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Raipur, India
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
DRAM Calculator shows the quality and oc rating. I wouldn't be too reliant on the rating though. Thaiphoon burner shows the ram details, the die, rank etc. Look at youtube on how to use it.


As for the 15-16 thing, gear down mode might be enabled in bios. see if it boots with it disabled. Other wise like me it changes 13 to 14 regardless of it in bios.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero x470
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio
RAM
T-Force Nighthawk Legend RBG
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
Antec High Current Game Extreme
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum RGB
Case
Cooler Master H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU IPS G-Sync
Keyboard
Logitech G512 Carbon Romer-G Tactile
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Audio
Logitech Z623 2.1
▲ hide details ▲
thegr8anand is offline  
post #8546 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:25 PM
Going Red!
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Raipur, India
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by thegr8anand View Post
I take it back. After extensive ccx testing, i finally have been able to oc 3900x to my satisfaction. 4425, 4425, 4275, 4225 on ccx 0,1,2,3 respectively. And the best part is almost everything in bios is on auto except vcore and ram settings! And the benchmarks are with all my apps running like steam, battle.net, icue, ghub, xbox, epic. Funny thing is even though RM shows ccx3 has the best core(c10) of the second ccd its the least oc'able ccx with just 4225mhz.





The bios setup:






Haven't been able to stabilize this oc. Even though CBR20 runs fine but any long run test fails. I find Realbench stress test really good at stability testing. Temps keep rising and eventually reach 90 and instability is detected. I guess im just going to be satisfied with this processor.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero x470
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio
RAM
T-Force Nighthawk Legend RBG
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
Antec High Current Game Extreme
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum RGB
Case
Cooler Master H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU IPS G-Sync
Keyboard
Logitech G512 Carbon Romer-G Tactile
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Audio
Logitech Z623 2.1
▲ hide details ▲
thegr8anand is offline  
post #8547 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Syldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 148
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Xenozx View Post
hey i was reading in someone signature, that there is some kind of ram quality tester? that will rate it at say 93% or also give it a maximum potential overclock rating? are any of you familiar with this? I Know testing and changing timings and mhz a little at a time is best, but maybe this helps with a good starting point?

also, i have 2 kits of memory i am testing bout cl14 3200 kits. 1 is team dark b die single rank, and another is a flare x kit, dated july 2019, not sure if its b die is there any way to tell for sure without taking the heatspreader off and looking at the chips?

lastly i am running 3466 on the flare x kit now, and i have it set in bios to 15, 15, 15, 31, any idea why when i boot into windows it would show 16, 15, 15, 15 31?
You cannot use software to test the binning of memory modules. You would need an oscilloscope for that, as well as the knowledge to understand the outputs. The only thing that you can do via software is verify that the settings you have applied are working correctly.

14-15-14-14-28-42-4-5-20-0-0-4-12-10-0-3-3-282-14-8-6-3-1-7-7-1-5-5-1
ProcODt 48Ω - Rttnom 34Ω - Rttwr disabled - Rttpark 60Ω drvstr 30Ω - 20Ω - 24Ω - 20Ω
vcore -0.075v | Dram 1.38v Rev: 2203
CPU
AMD 2700X
Motherboard
Cross Hair VII
GPU
MSI 1080
RAM
G-Skill F4-4000C18-8GTZKW
Hard Drive
Disk Drive SAMSUNG MZVKW512HMJP-00000 (512 GB, PCI-E 3.0 x4)
Hard Drive
Disk Drive Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB (1000 GB, SATA-III)
Hard Drive
Disk Drive Samsung SSD 850 EVO 2TB (2000 GB, SATA-III)
Power Supply
1600w
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Cooling
Corsair Dominator Ramcooler
Case
TT CORE P5 Thermaltake Core P5 ATX
Operating System
Windows 10 pro (64bit)
Monitor
Asus PB28Q 28" (2160p)
Monitor
Asus PB28Q 28" (2160p)
Keyboard
Corsair strafe silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone Aimo
▲ hide details ▲
Syldon is offline  
post #8548 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 05:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 751
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
This drives me crazy... everytime i knock the desk my PC shutdown and gives C5 error. Which means A2 dimm slot has moved, i have to reseat very tightly to make it boot again. Is it common that A2 slot on this motherboard, or even ryzen motherboards, is this fragile? I had the same issue on a X370 gigabyte. Could it be the DIMM itself?

Also, i am getting very high idle temps on a D15 with my 3700x... like 50-55c idle (hwinfo)... is it normal for these CPU? (because of the autoOC feature?)

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
post #8549 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 06:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,367
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by MrPhilo View Post
Is there any reason to disable it anymore for 3000 series? I've always disabled it. Maybe I should leave it on Auto/Enabled now.
I would leave it on auto to be sure!

Quote: Originally Posted by Takla View Post
Yeah. I can only comment for ryzen 3000. And for that it did nothing.


Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
This drives me crazy... everytime i knock the desk my PC shutdown and gives C5 error. Which means A2 dimm slot has moved, i have to reseat very tightly to make it boot again. Is it common that A2 slot on this motherboard, or even ryzen motherboards, is this fragile? I had the same issue on a X370 gigabyte. Could it be the DIMM itself?

Also, i am getting very high idle temps on a D15 with my 3700x... like 50-55c idle (hwinfo)... is it normal for these CPU? (because of the autoOC feature?)

- Dunno i ony get C5 with Instability/Sometimes cold boot after unplugging ac cable from PSU. Can you double check if this happens on stock config. So no Mem OC?
- Idle temps are normal if you check the sensors with 3rd party monitoring tools. Did you check the idle temps with Ryzen master without anything open in background like other monitoring tools?


Last edited by majestynl; 08-19-2019 at 06:13 AM.
majestynl is offline  
post #8550 of 9851 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 07:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
So what is the verdict on 2606 vs 2501? Worth it or not?
Nucky is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (2 members and 2 guests)
Praetorr , Zefram0911
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off