ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 1094 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10931 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-18-2020, 04:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bonomork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
I'm still on 1103 bios (2700X) and all is fine. Do you think worth to upgrade it and if so to which version ?

Bono2018
(12 items)
CPU
R7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII
GPU
ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
RAM
G. Skill Tridentz RGB Series - AMD Edition F4-3200c14d-16gtzrx
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-V7P512BW SSD 970 PRO 512 GB, M.2, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Prime Platinum
Cooling
CORSAIR H150i Pro RGB
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Monitor
LG 34UC88
Audio
Mackie CR3
▲ hide details ▲
bonomork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10932 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-18-2020, 07:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Praetorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NWA
Posts: 151
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by bonomork View Post
I'm still on 1103 bios (2700X) and all is fine. Do you think worth to upgrade it and if so to which version ?
I'm not personally aware of any compelling reason to upgrade unless you're planning to install a Ryzen 3000 series CPU in the near future.

My Desktop
(9 items)
CPU
AMD 3900X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI 1080 Ti FE
RAM
16GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3600mhz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Black 4TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3 1000W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Fractal Define S (4X Noctua 140mm fans)
▲ hide details ▲
Praetorr is offline  
post #10933 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-19-2020, 01:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bonomork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Praetorr View Post
I'm not personally aware of any compelling reason to upgrade unless you're planning to install a Ryzen 3000 series CPU in the near future.
I think i'll skip 3000 series, next upgrade will be Zen 3 if suitable.
I know that the many of recent BIOS are for 3000 series, but I would like to know if there is a better bios for my 2700X (PE 2, I dont plan to use PE 3 or PE4).

Bono2018
(12 items)
CPU
R7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII
GPU
ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
RAM
G. Skill Tridentz RGB Series - AMD Edition F4-3200c14d-16gtzrx
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-V7P512BW SSD 970 PRO 512 GB, M.2, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Prime Platinum
Cooling
CORSAIR H150i Pro RGB
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Monitor
LG 34UC88
Audio
Mackie CR3
▲ hide details ▲
bonomork is offline  
post #10934 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-19-2020, 07:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,613
Rep: 21 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by bonomork View Post
I think i'll skip 3000 series, next upgrade will be Zen 3 if suitable.
I know that the many of recent BIOS are for 3000 series, but I would like to know if there is a better bios for my 2700X (PE 2, I dont plan to use PE 3 or PE4).
You've probably told me before, but why don't you use PE 3?

AMD Ryzen 3900X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/3 Corsair SP120L and 3 Noctua NF-F12 3000 fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  |  G.SKILL TridentZ 3600CL15 2x8GB @ 3800MHz 14-15-14-14-30  |  EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black w/NZXT Kraken G12 Cooler  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3 PSU | Thermaltake Core P3 Case 
nick name is offline  
post #10935 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 12:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bonomork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
You've probably told me before, but why don't you use PE 3?
As far as I know PE3 doesn't increase the boost speed over 4,35MHz. My 2700X with negative offset .1 is doing 4,1/4,2 all cores and 4,35MHz max boost. Likely I'm missing something, what's the advantage of PE 3 vs. PE 2 ?

Bono2018
(12 items)
CPU
R7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII
GPU
ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
RAM
G. Skill Tridentz RGB Series - AMD Edition F4-3200c14d-16gtzrx
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-V7P512BW SSD 970 PRO 512 GB, M.2, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Prime Platinum
Cooling
CORSAIR H150i Pro RGB
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Monitor
LG 34UC88
Audio
Mackie CR3
▲ hide details ▲
bonomork is offline  
post #10936 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 05:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Guys,
I'm having trouble trouble shoothing my CPU. It runs on very high voltages the moment i put it in the socket. The MB is running on the latest bios for the C7H. I have a custom loop that keeps it on around 55C on idle and 75ish during cinebench.

The current settings when the screenshot was taken are all voltages on auto except SOC which is on 1.1v. PBO set to Auto limits +200Mhz. Ram clocked to 3600 and FCLK 1800.
I have tried all windows power settings and each except the power saving plan keep the CPU at the same values. Power saver puts it ~1.2V.
It is a 24/7 build that when "idling" has some light load like Chrome on constantly

Do you have any idea what i might be missing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	86719355_190551225341374_1151817238450274304_n.png
Views:	13
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	327814  

Georgi Velev is offline  
post #10937 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 06:48 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,749
Rep: 32 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by Georgi Velev View Post
Guys,
I'm having trouble trouble shoothing my CPU. It runs on very high voltages the moment i put it in the socket. The MB is running on the latest bios for the C7H. I have a custom loop that keeps it on around 55C on idle and 75ish during cinebench.

The current settings when the screenshot was taken are all voltages on auto except SOC which is on 1.1v. PBO set to Auto limits +200Mhz. Ram clocked to 3600 and FCLK 1800.
I have tried all windows power settings and each except the power saving plan keep the CPU at the same values. Power saver puts it ~1.2V.
It is a 24/7 build that when "idling" has some light load like Chrome on constantly

Do you have any idea what i might be missing?
Enable C-States and DF C-States in the bios.

Check that watts that the cores are using - You will find voltages that 'high' to be normal on Ryzen 3xxx, but usually on light loads using very little power (watts). My CPU you would see 1.5v max on all 12 cores.

Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 3004 | Crosshair VII Hero | 32GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO
Ryzen 5 3500U with Vega 8 GPU | Lenovo IdeaPad C340-14API | 8GB DDR4 2666 @ 2400 (for some reason) | Samsung 981 256GB NVME
About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!
There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't. F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is offline  
post #10938 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 06:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Georgi Velev View Post
Guys,
I'm having trouble trouble shoothing my CPU. It runs on very high voltages the moment i put it in the socket. The MB is running on the latest bios for the C7H. I have a custom loop that keeps it on around 55C on idle and 75ish during cinebench.

The current settings when the screenshot was taken are all voltages on auto except SOC which is on 1.1v. PBO set to Auto limits +200Mhz. Ram clocked to 3600 and FCLK 1800.
I have tried all windows power settings and each except the power saving plan keep the CPU at the same values. Power saver puts it ~1.2V.
It is a 24/7 build that when "idling" has some light load like Chrome on constantly

Do you have any idea what i might be missing?
i would suggest you try the bios settings of "1usmus power plan" whatever is present in C7H if i remember well:
Global C-state Control = Enabled
CPPC = Enabled
CPPC Preferred Cores = Enabled
and also perhaps the power plan itself too

perhaps also limit the minimum processor state in whatever power plan you are using, i have it at 30%s
speedgoat is offline  
post #10939 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 07:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,613
Rep: 21 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by bonomork View Post
As far as I know PE3 doesn't increase the boost speed over 4,35MHz. My 2700X with negative offset .1 is doing 4,1/4,2 all cores and 4,35MHz max boost. Likely I'm missing something, what's the advantage of PE 3 vs. PE 2 ?

PE 3 makes the CPU ignore some FIT parameters and allows for the CPU to hold its all-core speed indefinitely. At the same time you don't lose any performance during single and fewer core loads. And with BIOS versions now you can actually set EDC in BIOS to change the multiplier though I still prefer using Ryzen Master to adjust the multiplier at my leisure.

Previously PPT TDC and EDC had different limits, but now they can all be set to 1000. The only thing that actually impacts is EDC which was previously capped at 168. Now it can affect the multiplier up to around 188.

So what I do is use PE 3 and set EDC to 188 in BIOS (what is set in BIOS is the ceiling in Ryzen Master). With cooler ambient temps that EDC value translates to an all-core multiplier of 4.3GHz at boot. That 4.3GHz isn't stable for all workloads without more cooling though so I reduce EDC to 144 with Ryzen Master (saved profile) for daily use. If I want more speed then I simply increase EDC in Ryzen Master to say 168 and that produces a multiplier of 42.5. And there is granularity there. You can adjust EDC in a manner that allows for .25 multiplier increments.

If ASUS baked this feature into Ryzen 3000 then I probably would have upgraded already. In my opinion it's the most useful feature of the board with Ryzen 2000 CPUs.

AMD Ryzen 3900X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/3 Corsair SP120L and 3 Noctua NF-F12 3000 fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  |  G.SKILL TridentZ 3600CL15 2x8GB @ 3800MHz 14-15-14-14-30  |  EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black w/NZXT Kraken G12 Cooler  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3 PSU | Thermaltake Core P3 Case 
nick name is offline  
post #10940 of 11124 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 08:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bonomork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
PE 3 makes the CPU ignore some FIT parameters and allows for the CPU to hold its all-core speed indefinitely. At the same time you don't lose any performance during single and fewer core loads. And with BIOS versions now you can actually set EDC in BIOS to change the multiplier though I still prefer using Ryzen Master to adjust the multiplier at my leisure.

Previously PPT TDC and EDC had different limits, but now they can all be set to 1000. The only thing that actually impacts is EDC which was previously capped at 168. Now it can affect the multiplier up to around 188.

So what I do is use PE 3 and set EDC to 188 in BIOS (what is set in BIOS is the ceiling in Ryzen Master). With cooler ambient temps that EDC value translates to an all-core multiplier of 4.3GHz at boot. That 4.3GHz isn't stable for all workloads without more cooling though so I reduce EDC to 144 with Ryzen Master (saved profile) for daily use. If I want more speed then I simply increase EDC in Ryzen Master to say 168 and that produces a multiplier of 42.5. And there is granularity there. You can adjust EDC in a manner that allows for .25 multiplier increments.

If ASUS baked this feature into Ryzen 3000 then I probably would have upgraded already. In my opinion it's the most useful feature of the board with Ryzen 2000 CPUs.
O.K. I will give it a try, cooling is enough (any suggested parameter to be changed in BIOS ?)

Bono2018
(12 items)
CPU
R7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII
GPU
ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
RAM
G. Skill Tridentz RGB Series - AMD Edition F4-3200c14d-16gtzrx
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-V7P512BW SSD 970 PRO 512 GB, M.2, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Prime Platinum
Cooling
CORSAIR H150i Pro RGB
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Monitor
LG 34UC88
Audio
Mackie CR3
▲ hide details ▲
bonomork is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
liakou , neikosr0x
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off