[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 1500 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 72 11.65%
More than 2 years 32 5.18%
More than 3 years 45 7.28%
More than 4 years 61 9.87%
More than 5 years 118 19.09%
More than 6 years 290 46.93%
Voters: 618. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

[Official] - X58 Xeon Club -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14991 of 15203 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 02:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nofearek9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 110
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
x5660, x5675 have chances to hit 4.5ghz not much diference from what you have but both will cost you less than 20$ shipped,about x5690 i think is not so good overclocker but not sure.
what GPU you have ?
in my setup with 2070 could hit 1080(2560x1080) ultra high no problem, BFV almost hit bottleneck with 97-98% cpu .

Asus Rampage IV Black Edition,Intel Xeon [email protected],7ghz,Corsair XMS3 64GB DDR3(8x8),Samsung 950 PRO 256GB,EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC GAMING 8GB,Lian Li PC-60FNWB ,Corsair Gold AX750PSU,Noctua NH-D15 .
Asus Rampage III Gene,Intel Xeon [email protected] 4,5ghz,Corsair XMS3 24GB DDR3(3x8),Samsung 950 PRO 256GB.
Register your evga products.
Buy evga products with discount 5%-10%

Last edited by nofearek9; 03-04-2020 at 10:13 PM.
nofearek9 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14992 of 15203 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 12:41 PM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,382
Rep: 73 (Unique: 59)
The X5690 is only good if your motherboard has a really low blck wall, or you're not overclocking.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14993 of 15203 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 01:27 PM
Mentally Insane User
 
99belle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 405
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
W3690 is the best CPU for these not the X5690. Best all rounder is X5675.

Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

Radeon RX 5700 XT Owner!
99belle99 is offline  
post #14994 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Tweaking since 386 era
 
MaddogMcCree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by 99belle99 View Post
W3690 is the best CPU for these not the X5690. Best all rounder is X5675.
thanks for the replies guys!

Why is the w3690 the best for this board? Does it have more headroom for OC?

I don't care about value for money for this upgrade, just pure performance, so let's say I oc them all, which achieves the highest score? I am using a very good custom waterloop with loads of overcapacity.
MaddogMcCree is offline  
post #14995 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-02-2020, 06:12 AM
 
xxpenguinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,382
Rep: 73 (Unique: 59)
The W3690 has the CPU and RAM multiplier unlocked, so it's easier to overclock.

Going Blue
(20 items)
My Minecraft Box
(14 items)
CPU
Xeon X5690
Motherboard
EVGA 132-BL-E758
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical 3x8GB
Hard Drive
Kingston V300 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Sata II 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Sata II 500GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2
Cooling
EK-KIT L360
Case
NZXT H440 White
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Monitor
AOC Agon AG271QX
Keyboard
IBM Model M
Mouse
Logitech g400
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
HD598
Other
CyberPower PFC
Other
MNPA19-XTR 10gb
CPU
Intel Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II gene
GPU
Radeon HD 2400
RAM
Crucial Balistix DDR3 1600 16GB
Hard Drive
500GB WD
Hard Drive
3TB Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200 250GB
Hard Drive
4TB Seagate
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 550W
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC12LS
Case
Fractal Design ARC MINI
Operating System
Windows 2008 R2 SP1
Other
Intel E1G44ET2 Gigabit Ethernet Card 4 x RJ45
Other
Mellanox ConnectX-2 MNPA19-XTR
▲ hide details ▲
xxpenguinxx is offline  
post #14996 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-02-2020, 06:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
theister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 160
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
W3680 and W3690 are the "best" cpus, cause they have "open" multipliers for both cpu clock (up to 63 if i remember correctly) and ram speed (up to 1:18 divider), so they are like theír i7 (980x/990x) counterparts with some minor differences.

The X56xx are limited in multipliers, especially the ram divider is limited to 1:10 with all models (execpt X5679, it is limited to 1:8). So for really high ramspeeds you will need 200+ baseclock and you are not that flexible as you are with the W Xeons mentioned above. To possible max out X58 performance the W3680/90 Xeons are the way to go, but it is always a sillicon lottery.





But for maxout you are looking for high baseclock anyways, so the question is if you are looking for ramspeeds above 2200 (220 baseclock will be mostly the limit with 24/7 qpi voltage and not using slowmode). If so, the W3670 is also an option (locked cpu multi, but unlocked ram dividers). Else you can try some of the higher X-Series, but the X5690 is still kind of overpriced compared to the X5680.

Last edited by theister; 03-02-2020 at 06:30 AM.
theister is offline  
post #14997 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-02-2020, 09:31 PM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 945
Rep: 61 (Unique: 43)
Anyone know whats the acceptable temperature range for the northbridge and southbridge? Tried doing some searching, but came up empty.

Reason is I swapped 140x38mm fans I had wired to my 120mm heatsink (the side overhang was pointed at the northbridge/southbridge/vrm) and the exhaust with 120x25mm fans to troubleshoot some noise issues (turns out it's HDD vibration echoing, gotta get some rubber spacers).

Afterwards a temp value went up ~10C from 48C to 58C peak during light gaming, ~24C ambient. Well, could be the northbridge, southbridge, or VRM, the values have no labels in Linux with lm-sensors. 58C VRM is a non-issue, but not sure how hot the northbridge and southbridge can get. I may have to use different software or Hwinfo in Windows to get better data or break out an IR thermometer.


Edit: Did more searching. Intel says 5-100C Tcase for the NB. Looks like 60C is typical. Still, I think I'll go back to the old ghetto rigged config. Today the CPU is running 5-10C hotter too. Didn't expect such a big difference.

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Almost Heathen; 03-03-2020 at 12:43 AM.
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #14998 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 04:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by theister View Post

How much qpi voltage do you need for north bridge 4400 Mhz and ram 2400 Mhz???? Also, how much ram do you have?

Regards

Box CM HAF 922 - Asus P6T DELUXE V2 - Intel Xeon W3690 @ 4.5 Ghz - LR Enermax Liqmax II 240 - Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super 8GB Gaming OC- 24Gb DDR3 Mushkin 2133 CL9 @ 2000Mhz - 1TB NVME Sabrent Rocket (DUET UEFI + Adaptor PCIE) - TACENS RADIX VII 800w - Monitor MSI MAG27CQ 2k 144hz

Last edited by bonet69; 03-03-2020 at 04:24 PM.
bonet69 is offline  
post #14999 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 05:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ricardinho55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Hello, i want join the group x58, xeon 5650. Mobo Msi x58 Platinum. User Ricardinho55.
Tks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cpuz_Xeon.png
Views:	21
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	330738  

Click image for larger version

Name:	x58.png
Views:	12
Size:	21.9 KB
ID:	330740  

Ricardinho55 is offline  
post #15000 of 15203 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 10:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
X5675 user

my PC here
https://valid.x86.fr/42mac3

I have had this GA-EX58-UD3R rev 1.o since 2009 bios F12Q
about 5 yr or so ago I found the over clock your 920 thread & ran my 920 @ 3.5 stable for about 3 yrs then found a X5675 for $100 Can.so i jumped in with both feet.
running my FSB @ 165 multi's are 36,18,8 i think with out rebooting & checking
I run the cpu in auto mode so @ idle multi is 12x (1.98gh)& under load is 25x (4.1gh) all my ram settings are on auto.
Max temps I see are about 56c
all in 1 Cooler master ml240l
kingston value ram 3x2 gigs
ONLY 4 SLOTS here.
My Problem lies in trying to locate any 4 gig ram modules.
not very popular in Canada
emailed kingston & G Skill the replies were poor @ best
corsair pointed me to a 2x3 gig kit
Kingston replied with obsolete part #'s & G Skill replied with links to Newegg.com
back & forth with G Skill resulted in "if the part # ends with NT you should be OK"

I would appreciate if the gigabyte users could spit up some VALID part #'s

I'll say it up frt I do not consider Ebay a valid store.I wouldn't buy dog flea's from there after they decided in 2004-5 to update their site & keep my Cash yet tell me my acc doesnt exist.
in 2018 I got an email stating "Do you know you have funds in your Ebay account?"
so plz dont go there.(after 12 Years?)
Im in Canada so would like to source in country.
so I'm not looking to put 24 gigs in 12 would be lots.
I realise a 3x4 kit is unlikely to be sourced up here from the month i've been looking.
so i'm gonna have to buy 3 individuals i suppose.
But I realy need is real part numbers,In kingston's reply "That ram IS LOW density"
from what I can nderstand I need 2R 8banks configuration with chips on both sides?

Thnx Gold
Goldguru is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off