Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
OG
4,062 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hate school with a fiery passion. I'd rather have my genitalia imploded by a giant cactus than go back another day, though I am forced.

Convince me to stay in school for my final year.

·
Banned
2,821 Posts
Try visualizing what you will lose if you drop out. Ask people that know you and care about you IRL as well and remember that people that care, tell the truth.

·
semi-legit
7,980 Posts
I'm assuming we're talking about high school here. That said, a GED looks much worse on a resume than an actual diploma.

·
Premium Member
3,853 Posts
Be it high school or college, I've never met anyone IRL who said they didn't regret dropping out. I've heard a few stories of people who it worked out for, but those are few and far between.

·
Unwilling Beta tester
7,188 Posts
I got a degree in Engineering. Now I work all over the world in very interesting places. I am currently in Mexico, when I finish here I will be in the UK for a month or so before moving on. Where to? Who knows? As a bonus I get paid a shed load for it, free meals (expenses) and no rent. Think of all the computer parts you can buy with that.

Beats working in a shop or flipping burgers. Or getting shot at for a living.

A little work now will help in the long term, hard as it seems.

Edit: Incidentally my current avatar is a pic of me working in a power station in Australia. I was there for 3 months, loved every minute of it.

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
If this is high school, then imagine yourself as a deadbeat, cast out by your parents for such a dumb move, nobody's gonna help you, you're on your own. Your only options are working in food service, crappy shops and stores, and have no way of getting anywhere unless you join the military.

OR

You can finish up, go to college, party hard, have the time of your life, forget about the real world for 4 or more years, and deal with it all then with better prospects.