Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, noob here. I live on a boat and use a couple of Samsung NC10s for my navigation and entertainment. All 12v via cigarette adaptors or inverters/transformers. However with larger file sizes and a growing library, they struggle with full HD and mkv files, so I need something better and more efficient. It's a shame as they are near perfect because they only consume 1a when fully charged, but they don't have hdmi and struggle a bit.

With power consumption being the main issue these are my requirements:
- 12v (effectively 5 to 19 volts)
- must handle 1080 hd
- 4x usb ports, 3 with power to run 3x 2tb usb hard drive OR I could power a 5v 2amp usb port (currently I use mains powered external hard drives on inverters and turn them on only when needed)
- must be windows as I use foobar2000 for my music
- must be powerful enough to stream xbmc to two Android devices via wifi
- can't make too much heat as I live in the tropics-more fans equals more power consumption
- has to support wifi, wired lan not an option

Currently I'm using my gfriend's old Acer 14" laptop that has i3. I think this is powerful enough but I'm not sure about leaving this hulking great thing on standby when not in use. It runs on 19volts

Also, since this is not used all the time, it must be turn off and onable easily. Currently I have to flick two switches to turn on two inverters for two extremal hard drives before then opening the laptop lid to turn on the computer. If I could find a solution where the unit was either always on or on standby using a tiny draw, that would be ideal. Getting to the laptop to open and close the lid to turn it off and on should be avoided.

I have solar power during the day so power is only an issue at night, but that's when I'm more likely to use my htpc. I have 440aH battery bank. 1amp when not in use is acceptable, 2 when in use is ok too. Budget £250.