Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I am in the process of planning a Desk case PC build, i am lucky to have a Brother in Law who is a Cabinet / furniture builder by trade who will be doing the really hard work.

My questions pretty simple. So there is two PCs, do i have any options available to me to cause all the case fans turn to on when just one of the PCs is turned on? (I.E if i turn PC A on, fans start, if i turn PC B on, fans Start?)

The two PCs are quite different, one a gaming PC, which is water cooled, the other is a low end AM1 PC (media Center duties) , so my thoughts are that i just ensure the fans near and around each are wired to each, but with the current layout planned, it would be better if the air in and exhaust fans all came on which ever was started up.

The only obvious option i can see is to have none of the fans wired to the boards and have them separate powered and switched, but that brings risks of forgetting to turn on (more if my partner or kids use the desk)

Any ideas or pointers would be awesome.

Some pictures showing the basic ideas. There is to be 3 lots of 2x 120 fans along the top back of the desk, the idea was the left and right are sucking in, the middle is exhausting up.

The large Phobya Radiator would be lowered into the middle leg, drawing air through,and out of the leg. so most all the Gaming PCs heat is external. the three fan panels are just for the airflow over the boards.

·
Overclock Failed...
13,565 Posts
1.) How about attaching the CAD drawing files?
2.) Use a relay. When it is tripped by current from either motherboard's 12 volt header it closes and sends power to both sets of fans.

• Rep+
Reactions: Billwin

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
trying to attach in Sketch up format and Auto (via sketchup export, so no idea if any good)

but getting an error

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5