Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi People

If this has been answered before, then I am sorry, but I have looked for a thread and haven't ben able to find one.

I am a noob, and I need to know some good 38mm fans to put on a venomous X I want to get. I am overclocking to 4 ghz, so I would like to set up a push/pull config. Any idea which fans would sit nicely on aforementioned heatsink? San Ace H101 seem to be very popular, but I can't seem to get hold of them. They seem to manufacture about three fans a year.

Are there any other 38mm fans which I could order within the UK and which have a good reputation? Does it really matter? Do all 38mm fans offer the same kind of thing? Do thermalright do 38mm fans which are very good for the VX?

Appreciate your help and patience

·
Registered
406 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,089 Posts
San Ace 9G1212H101/H1011 (available at chilledpc.co.uk) or Panaflo U1BX are the best 38mm thick fans available. Also you probably won't need push/pull with a 38mm thick fan since one produces as much or more static pressure than a pair of 25mm thick fans.

Edit: I had 2 San Ace H101's in push pull on my VX and at full speed the temp difference was 1C which is well within the margin of error. However at lower speeds (<1600rpm) push/pull did give me better temps, around 2-3C. Since then I have opted for a pair of Scythe Gentletyphoon AP-15's in push pull since at full speed they produce MUCH less noise than the San Aces do and the temps are within 2C of the San Aces. If you are looking for the optimal noise/performance ratio I would look into getting a pair of these.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hadenman
View Post

I haven't tried 38mm fans, but I know many other people like the Scythe Ultra Kaze models.