Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to overclock my 4670k but I'm having a bit of trouble. I have no experience overclocking but I've been reading guides for haswell. I have a gigabyte Z87-HD3 and a corsair H80i. I'm currently stable with 4.0ghz at 1.21v but whenever I increase 4.1 or 4.2 I get freezes during prime95. I've tried increasing the voltage all the way up to 1.29v but I still cannot get it stable. My temps are around 65-70C at full load but I'm not sure if I should increase the voltage past 1.30v. Would really appreciate some help.

·
Premium Member
10,772 Posts
Which voltage/s are you increasing? 65-70c is waaay too cool for 1.3v. Most people don't like the temperatures for 1.3v on high end air at all (which is significantly better than a 120mm closed loop liquid cooler), i'd expect 1.2v to run you to like 75-90c in prime small fft with avx enabled

You might want to download Cinebench 11.5 for quick consistent temperature checks (though they'll be cooler) and to have a benchmark score from running it, so you know you're getting the right performance

Also, needing 1.2vcore for 4.0, if you do actually need it (which i doubt) is extremely terrible

·
Registered
964 Posts
Some chips hit a voltage wall sooner than others. For example, my old 3770k would do 4.6 at 1.19V but needed over 1.3v for 4.7. Your temps are fine so I would push voltage just a tad higher and see what you get. You may just have a bad chip and it may not be worth going up another 100mhz.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm getting 65-70C at 1.21v. I cant measure the temperature at 1.3 because it either freezes or blue screens straight after starting prime95. I'm not really sure about all the settings in the bios, all I'm changing is the clock ratio, vcore and uncore.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·