Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys
i have a cooler master GX750W and i already own a 5870. Today I'm going to buy a used xfx 5970 black edition for $320. I was just wondering will my PSU give enough juice to my system or do i need to buy a 1000W PSU?

PS. i have 3 HDD and my ram and CPU is OCed.
I don't have the new Bronze 80Plus PSU. i have the older one its just white 80Plus.
http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6643

·
Registered
2,958 Posts
No. You should get a 800w if you want to keep everything at stock and a good 950-1000w if you want to overclock EVERYTHING to the max.

·
Not new to Overclock.net
78,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fantasy;15328267
Hello guys
i have a cooler master GX750W and i already own a 5870. Today I'm going to buy a used xfx 5970 black edition for $320. I was just wondering will my PSU give enough juice to my system or do i need to buy a 1000W PSU?

I don't have the new Bronze 80Plus PSU. i have the older one its just white 80Plus.
I don't know how to answer this, but I will say this:

I think it will either not be enough power, or it will be extremely close. Personally, I wouldn't attempt it. However, here are AMD's power supply recommendations for the 5970 and 5870 individually:

To power a system that has one 5870 in it, they recommend a PSU that has a peak rating of 500W. For two 5870s, they recommend a 600W peak-rated PSU.

For a single 5970, they recommend a PSU with a peak rating of 650W, and they recommend an 850W peak-rated PSU for two 5970s.

So from this, I think they would probably recommend a PSU with a peak rating of 750W to power a system that has one 5970 and one 5870. However, I don't know if whether or not the GX750 has enough because I've heard nothing but bad things about it here on OCN.

• Rep+
Reactions: Fantasy

·
Registered
2,958 Posts