Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to overclocking and really want to get my cpu working harder
. As it'll be my first overclocking ever I'm pretty nub at all of this. I've been searching this forum and google to find that I could clock the core speed to 2.6Ghz without changing my voltages. Is this true? my setup is as follows:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 2.13Ghz (standard Heatsink, soon to be upgraded)
Asus P5L 1394
4GB Kingston DDR2 667 (4 modules at 1GB each)
800W PSU

Is this setup overclockable?
Anyone overclocked this setup?
What would you recommend for a stable overclock setup?
I did read that big post by "NoAffinity" but its all a bit confusing im sure ill get it one day! I just need some help with my first overclock please.

Thankyou heaps in advance,
D3sign

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
The voltage and frequencies really depend on your chip. All chips are different, just because someone else's E6420 hits 2.6Ghz at stock volts, yours might not.

Yes, the setup is overclockable.
To overclock, you should go into your BIOS, set the CPU voltage to stock and increase the FSB in small increments and test for stability. When the system starts crashing or hanging you either need to increase the volts or back off a bit. Also, set your CPU multiplier to 8x. The FSB multiplied by the multiplier is your frequency. So say your FSB is 350 and your multiplier is 8x, 350 x 8 = 2.8Ghz. Start with small overclocks and build up. Remember to manually set your RAM timings to the stock settings. You can find this info on the manufacturers site if you aren't sure.
But post back here what happens and we will help you